Online training has become a common path for Delaware residents pursuing an LPN license, since Delaware has only two in-state practical nursing programs and both are daytime on-campus options. That gap means aspiring LPNs here must look to out-of-state schools that accept Delaware applicants and arrange local clinical placements.
The programs ranked below are sorted by NCLEX-PN pass rates, the clearest indicator of how well a school prepares graduates for licensure. The sections that follow cover tuition costs for out-of-state students, Delaware Board of Nursing requirements, and certificate versus associate degree credentials. Delaware's LPN wages sit well above the national median, which makes the upfront investment in an online program worth examining carefully.
Top-Ranked Online LPN Programs Available to Delaware Residents
Delaware does not currently offer an in-state practical nursing program, so students here train through out-of-state schools that accept them. Each of the three programs below accepts Delaware applicants and can be completed from Delaware, with clinical hours arranged through partner sites. All three publish licensure results and graduate outcomes worth comparing before you apply.
How we ranked these
- Institution-wide graduation and completion rates
- NCLEX-PN first-time pass rates
- Accreditation standing and program completion
- Net price and tuition costs
- Reported earnings as a secondary check
- Internal program database
- NCLEX first-time pass rates published by the state boards of nursing — ncsbn.org
- IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, student-faculty ratios and net price — nces.ed.gov
- College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Independent editorial research
Maine College of Health Professions
Maine College of Health Professions is a small, health-focused private college in Lewiston, Maine, whose practical nursing certificate is ACEN accredited and can be finished in about a year. The curriculum pairs classroom theory with clinical components in medical-surgical, mental health, and pediatric nursing, and program reporting cites a 100% NCLEX-PN pass rate and 100% job placement for 2024. Its 2024 program completion rate of 52% trails its licensure results, so applicants should ask about academic support before committing. For Delaware students, the draw is a compact, clinically dense program with a documented licensure record.
- ACEN accredited practical nursing certificate
- One-year completion timeline
- Covers medical-surgical, mental health, and pediatric nursing
- Nursing courses pair classroom theory with a clinical component
- Reported 100% NCLEX-PN pass rate and 100% job placement for 2024
- Program completion rate of 52% for 2024
- Prerequisite coursework in anatomy, psychology, and writing
- Interprofessional education required each semester
Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Gadsden State Community College
Gadsden State Community College is a public community college in Gadsden, Alabama, that runs its practical nursing certificate across four nursing campuses with a dedicated simulation center. The concept-based curriculum builds on patient-centered care, nursing judgment, safety, and teamwork, with clinical placements at partner facilities spread across a wide service area. Graduates can stack the certificate toward an associate degree in nursing through the school's mobility pathway. The college's overall graduation rate sits near 38%, though that figure covers the whole institution rather than the practical nursing program alone.
- ACEN accredited practical nursing certificate
- Three-semester program of study
- Concept-based curriculum focused on patient-centered care
- Clinical placements at partner facilities within about 65 to 70 miles
- Credential stacks toward the associate degree in nursing
- Four nursing campuses plus a simulation center
- Competitive admission with a 75% minimum in nursing courses
- Prepares graduates for the NCLEX-PN exam
Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Manhattan Area Technical College
Manhattan Area Technical College is a public technical college in Manhattan, Kansas, offering a practical nursing certificate that reports a 96% first-time NCLEX-PN pass rate and 100% job placement. The program totals 46 credit hours and requires the TEAS entrance exam plus prerequisite coursework in anatomy, physiology, nutrition, and math. Program materials cite a total program tuition of $19,978 and median graduate earnings of $59,920, a strong return for a credential this length. Its institution-wide graduation rate is about 74%, among the higher rates reported by the schools in this group.
- Accredited by the Kansas State Board of Nursing
- 46 total credit hours with $19,978 total program tuition
- TEAS entrance exam required before admission
- Reported 96% first-time NCLEX-PN pass rate
- Reported 100% job placement for graduates
- Program-reported median graduate earnings of $59,920, timeframe not specified
- Prerequisite courses require a minimum grade of C
- Non-refundable seat deposit of $100 after acceptance
Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Why Delaware Lacks In-State LPN Programs, and What Online Options Mean for You
Verify Delaware's Two In-State Programs Directly
Delaware has few in-state practical nursing options. Delaware has only two in-state LPN options: Delaware Skills Center and POLYTECH Adult Education. Catalog materials list Delaware Skills Center as a roughly 10.5-month, 1,635-hour daytime program and POLYTECH Adult Education as a 12-month, 1,500-hour daytime diploma program with a listed 2025 cost of $16,999. Those are planning figures, not a live enrollment guarantee.
Because program availability can change between application cycles, do not rely on secondhand summaries. Open each school's official website, call the adult education office, and review current Delaware Department of Education career and technical education listings. Ask directly: Is the next cohort accepting applications? If not, what is the next application date? Are clinical sites confirmed?
Check NCLEX-PN Eligibility for Online or Out-of-State Graduates
Delaware Board of Nursing requirements do not publish one simplified online-program rule. Instead, confirm eligibility before enrolling anywhere. Contact the Delaware Board of Nursing directly and review its licensure requirements page. On NCSBN, review state licensure and NCLEX-PN resources. Ask any online or out-of-state program three questions:
- Is your program board-approved in the state where it is based?
- Does Delaware accept graduates from your approval pathway?
- Will my clinical placements be in Delaware, and does the Delaware Board of Nursing accept those sites?
Delaware exam applicants generally need to graduate within five years, and endorsement applicants need 1,000 hours in the past five years or 400 hours in the past two years. Program approval, however, is the missing piece you must verify yourself.
Identify Nearby In-Person Options
Delaware residents who want in-person training often look to Philadelphia, Maryland, or New Jersey. There is no single "most common" list, so build your own shortlist. Use the PA State Board of Nursing approved program list, Maryland Board of Nursing approved programs, and New Jersey Board of Nursing approved programs. Check each school's website directly, then cross-reference with the BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook and associations such as NALPN or state LPN associations.
A Short Verification Checklist
- Confirm program approval status with the school and its home-state board.
- Confirm clinical placement locations before enrolling.
- Request the program's most recent NCLEX-PN pass rates.
- Ask the Delaware Board of Nursing whether that program's graduates qualify for Delaware licensure.
- Record the admissions office phone number and the date you called.
Side-By-Side: Online LPN Program Costs for Delaware Students
Because Delaware does not currently have an in-state LPN program, residents will need to look at online or out-of-state options. Most public colleges charge higher tuition for non-residents, so the out-of-state rate is typically what Delaware students should budget for unless a school offers a flat-rate online tuition model. The table below compares the five most affordable online LPN programs that accept Delaware applicants, using institutional data reported to the U.S. Department of Education (2024). Net price reflects average cost after financial aid, and median debt is the amount borrowers typically owe at completion.
| School | State | In-State Tuition | Out-of-State Tuition | Net Price After Aid | Median Debt at Completion |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chipola College | FL | $3,120 | $8,950 | $1,133 | Not reported |
| Durham Technical Community College | NC | $1,986 | $6,594 | $1,664 | $14,750 |
| Illinois Valley Community College | IL | $4,200 | $16,385 | $2,232 | $8,233 |
| Hazard Community and Technical College | KY | $4,728 | $6,432 | $2,955 | $10,125 |
| Gadsden State Community College | AL | $4,272 | $7,368 | $3,515 | Not reported |
Explore other Delaware related topics
Related Articles
Steps to Earning Your LPN License in Delaware
Delaware follows a straightforward licensing pathway for aspiring LPNs. Because the state is a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC), residents who complete these steps can qualify for a multistate license, allowing them to practice in other compact states without applying for additional licenses.

Delaware LPN Licensure: Board Requirements, NCLEX-PN, and Compact Status
Sitting for the NCLEX-PN and transferring a license you already hold are two very different roads into Delaware practice, and knowing which one applies to you shapes your entire timeline. The Delaware Board of Nursing manages both paths through its online DELPROS system, but the paperwork, fees, and eligibility windows diverge sharply depending on where you're starting from.
Taking the NCLEX-PN by Examination
If you've never held an LPN or RN license anywhere and you graduated from a board-approved practical nursing program within the last 60 months, you're eligible for licensure by examination. Once the Board clears your file (transcripts from an approved program, a completed application, and a state and federal fingerprint-based background check through IdentoGO), you register for the NCLEX-PN through Pearson VUE. The exam uses computer adaptive testing, pulls from an established passing standard set by the exam's governing body, and allows retakes after a required waiting period if you don't pass on the first attempt. Graduates of Delaware LPN to RN programs cannot sit for the NCLEX-PN, and applicants educated outside the U.S. (including Canada and Puerto Rico) must submit a CGFNS CES Report before the Board will process their file.
Licensure by Endorsement
LPNs already licensed in another state apply by endorsement instead , a process often described as LPN/LVN reciprocity. This route requires verification of your original exam-based licensure, either pulled automatically if your state participates in the national verification system or requested manually through a Delaware verification form. You'll still complete a fingerprint-based background check, and Delaware offers a temporary permit while your full application processes, provided your paperwork is signed, notarized, and your background check has cleared the Board.
Fees and Compact Status
Budget for an application fee, a separate processing fee for endorsement applicants, and a smaller charge if you need the temporary permit. Delaware joined the Nurse Licensure Compact in 2020, which matters enormously if you plan to work across state lines. If Delaware is where you legally reside and you hold a multistate license, you can continue working as a licensed practical nurse in other compact states without applying for a separate license there. The reverse holds true for LPNs relocating to Delaware from another compact state. Note that this privilege doesn't extend to advanced practice roles, only standard LPN/RN licensure.
Tuition, Financial Aid, and Scholarship Options for Delaware LPN Students
Tuition numbers on a program website rarely reflect what you will actually pay. For Delaware students weighing LPN/LVN Program Admissions, the gap between sticker price and net cost can be substantial once federal, state, and institutional aid enter the picture.
What Online LPN Programs Actually Cost
Among the Most Affordable LPN/LVN Programs for 2026, in-state tuition for Delaware residents at public community colleges outside Delaware ranges from roughly $2,000 to $4,700 for the full program. Out-of-state rates climb higher, typically landing between $6,400 and $16,400. Net price figures, which account for grant aid, drop considerably at schools where a large share of students receive Pell Grants. At several ranked programs, more than 90 percent of enrolled students qualify for Pell awards, signaling that federal need-based aid covers much of the bill for low- and moderate-income families.
Delaware State Aid: SEED Scholarship and Workforce Funding
The SEED Scholarship covers tuition for Delaware residents pursuing certificates and workforce credentials at Delaware Technical Community College. The award applies to associate degrees, diplomas, credit certificates, and workforce training programs.1 If you meet residency requirements and maintain a 2.5 GPA (or follow the alternative pathway for students below that threshold), SEED can eliminate tuition entirely, though you remain responsible for course fees and books.2 Applications for the 2025-2026 cycle close June 30, 2026.1
Workforce development funding through the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) is another potential source. Delaware's Division of Employment and Training administers WIOA Adult Program dollars, with more than $2.7 million allocated for program years 2024 through 2027.3 Healthcare training is commonly supported under WIOA, though specific coverage for LPN programs should be confirmed with your local DET office before counting on this funding.
Scholarships Worth Researching
The Margaret A. Stafford Nursing Scholarship, administered by the Delaware Community Foundation, awards $2,000 to Delaware residents studying nursing or a health-related field. Applications typically close March 15.4 While not exclusively for LPN students, the eligibility criteria do not rule out practical nursing applicants.
Are Free LPN Programs Realistic?
Fully free programs are rare, but layering Pell Grants, SEED tuition coverage, and targeted scholarships can bring out-of-pocket costs close to zero for eligible students. Employer tuition reimbursement at Delaware hospitals and health systems may also offset expenses, though specific policies vary by employer and are not uniformly documented.
What LPNs Earn in Delaware: Salary Data by Region
Delaware offers strong earning potential for licensed practical nurses, with a statewide median salary that outpaces the national median by a notable margin. According to the Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics program from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2025), roughly 2,240 LPNs are employed across the state. Because metro-level breakdowns for Wilmington and Dover are not published separately for this occupation, the statewide figures below serve as the best available benchmark. For context, the national median annual wage for LPNs is approximately $59,730, meaning Delaware LPNs earn roughly $9,000 more per year at the midpoint.
| Area | Total Employment | 10th Percentile | 25th Percentile | Median (50th) | 75th Percentile | 90th Percentile | Annual Mean |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Delaware (Statewide) | 2,240 | Not reported | $64,420 | $68,710 | $75,020 | Not reported | $69,500 |
| United States (National) | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | $59,730 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
LPN Salary at a Glance: Delaware Vs. National Median
Licensed Practical Nurses in Delaware earn a median annual wage of $68,710, well above the national median of roughly $59,730, making the state one of the more competitive markets for LPN compensation.
LPN Certificate Vs. Associate Degree: Which Credential Do You Need?
If you have searched for an LPN associate degree, you are not alone: it is one of the most common questions Delaware students ask. The short answer is that nearly all entry-level LPN programs are certificate or diploma programs. Associate degrees in nursing (ADN or ASN) prepare graduates for RN licensure, not LPN licensure. No accredited online program currently offers a standalone associate degree specifically for LPN practice, so Delaware residents enrolling in an online LPN program will earn a certificate or diploma and sit for the NCLEX-PN. The good news: completing some general education courses alongside or after your certificate can make the LPN-to-RN bridge smoother if you decide to advance later.

Fastest Online LPN Programs Open to Delaware Applicants
For Delaware students who want to enter the workforce quickly, accelerated LPN programs can compress training into roughly 12 months of full-time study. Keep in mind that faster timelines typically mean heavier course loads each week, and some programs enforce stricter prerequisite or admission requirements to ensure students can handle the pace. The programs below accept students from outside their home states and can be completed remotely, making them accessible options for Delaware residents.
| School | Location | Program Length | In-State Tuition | Out-of-State Tuition | Key Admission Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maine College of Health Professions | Lewiston, ME | 12 months | $20,952 | $20,952 | Prerequisite courses in anatomy, psychology, and writing required |
| Galen College of Nursing (Pikeville) | Pikeville, KY | 12 months full-time (21-month part-time option) | $16,364 | $16,364 | No prerequisites required; entrance assessment and proof of graduation needed |
| South Florida State College | Avon Park, FL | 12 months | $3,165 | $11,859 | Career certificate program; prepares for NCLEX-PN |
| Mayland Community College | Spruce Pine, NC | 12 months (3 semesters) | $2,626 | $8,770 | 2.0 minimum GPA, prerequisite courses, Nurse Aide I certification, and competitive ranking system |
| Hazard Community and Technical College | Hazard, KY | 12 months | $4,728 | $6,432 | Entrance exam (Kaplan or ACT) and prerequisite courses required; ACEN accredited |







