Best LPN Programs in Indiana 2027

Best LPN Programs in Indiana 2027
Updated September 15, 202618 min read

Best LPN Programs in Indiana 2027

Ranked by NCLEX-PN pass rates, cost, and program speed — with the cheapest and fastest options highlighted.

Indiana licenses new practical nurses through a small set of Board-approved programs, but first-time NCLEX-PN pass rates across those schools swing by more than 20 percentage points. That spread is the single biggest predictor of whether a graduate actually enters the workforce on schedule.

The tradeoff most applicants face is real: the cheapest seat isn't always the one with the strongest exam performance, and whether you're weighing best LPN programs in Indianapolis or best LPN programs in Fort Wayne, the program closest to home may carry a waitlist that adds a year before the first clinical rotation. Tuition in the state runs from $8,027 at Ivy Tech to several times that at private career colleges, and completion rates track program selectivity more than sticker price.

Indiana's Highest-Rated LPN Programs by NCLEX-PN Pass Rate

Indiana's strongest practical nursing programs are separated less by curriculum than by how consistently their graduates clear the NCLEX-PN on the first attempt. The two schools below combine that exam consistency with completion support and national nursing accreditation, and both keep a clear path open to RN study later. School-by-school Indiana pass rates for the most recent years are not fully published in state tables, so we say what is confirmed and leave the rest unsaid.

How we ranked these

Factors considered
  1. Graduation rates weighted most heavily
  2. Program completion and retention
  3. NCLEX-PN first-time pass rates
  4. Accreditation standing
  5. Lower weight on long-term earnings
Data sources
  • NCLEX first-time pass rates published by the state boards of nursing — ncsbn.org
  • IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Internal program database
  • Independent editorial research
VI

Vincennes University

Vincennes, IN · ~$11,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Small-cohort learners outside major metros

Vincennes University delivers an 11-month practical nursing certificate that begins each fall and runs at both the Vincennes and Jasper campuses. Coursework in nursing fundamentals, medical terminology and clinical decision-making is paired with supervised patient care, and the credential carries both Indiana Board of Nursing approval and ACEN nursing accreditation. Cohorts are intentionally small, which the university ties to close instructor access and layered academic support, and the admission cycle runs on a fixed window with no practical nursing applications reviewed after June 30. Program-level earnings for the LPN certificate have not yet been reported.

  • Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Vincennes University
    ACEN accredited
    • 11-month practical nursing certificate starting each fall
    • Offered at both the Vincennes and Jasper campuses
    • ACEN accredited and approved by the Indiana State Board of Nursing
    • Applicants must first be admitted to the university
    • Secondary health sciences application required for nursing
    • No practical nursing applications reviewed after June 30
    • Waiting-list process used to fill late openings
    • Small class sizes with academic and social support services
    Visit Website
IV

Ivy Tech Community College

Indianapolis, IN · $7,000/yr

Best for: Working adults balancing job and school

Ivy Tech Community College offers a one-year Technical Certificate in Practical Nursing through its Beacon Health System School of Nursing, built on lab simulation and supervised clinical patient care across hospitals, home health and similar settings. Eligible students can complete the certificate tuition-free through Next Level Jobs, and the college's nursing ladder gives graduates a defined route into ASN and BSN study, including an evening transition cohort launching in Indianapolis in 2026. Ivy Tech is a top national producer of associate-level nurses, and the practical nursing program holds ACEN accreditation. Program-level earnings for the certificate are not yet published.

  • Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Ivy Tech Community College
    ACEN accredited
    • One-year Technical Certificate in Practical Nursing
    • Campus-based program under the Beacon Health System School of Nursing
    • ACEN accredited practical nursing program
    • Free certificate tuition through Next Level Jobs for eligible students
    • Transfer partnerships toward BSN and MSN study
    • Clinical placements plus lab simulation practice
    • Pathway option from practical nursing into ASN
    • Top national producer of associate-level nurses
    Visit Website

What LPN School Actually Costs in Indiana

Tuition is one of the biggest deciding factors for aspiring LPNs, and the gap between public community colleges and private institutions in Indiana is significant. Ivy Tech remains the most affordable route by a wide margin, with tuition frozen through the 2026 to 2027 academic year. Hondros College of Nursing, the main private option in the state, costs roughly three times as much. Below is a breakdown of what you can expect to pay at Indiana LPN programs where program-specific figures are available. For schools where only institution-wide tuition has been published, we note that clearly so you can follow up directly.

SchoolSectorPublished Program Tuition (In-State)Estimated Total CostProgram LengthPell Grant EligibleFinancial Aid Notes
Ivy Tech Community CollegePublic (Community College)~$8,027 (tuition estimate)~$8,400 to $8,800 (tuition plus $125/semester nursing fee and $18/credit textbook fee)12 monthsYes (84% of students receive Pell)Tuition frozen through 2026 to 2027. May qualify for free tuition via Indiana's Next Level Jobs program. Payment plans available.
Vincennes UniversityPublicNot published at the program level; general in-state tuition is $7,126/yearProgram-specific total not available. Contact the nursing department for an itemized cost sheet.Approximately 12 monthsYesOffered at Vincennes and Jasper campuses. Financial aid and scholarships available through the university.
Hondros College of Nursing (Indianapolis)Private (For-Profit)$19,845 (program tuition)$25,329 (includes $495 admin fee, $200 technology fee, $697 technology package, $3,242 books/materials, $100 graduation fee)12 to 18 monthsYesFederal financial aid accepted. Private loans and institutional payment plans offered. Indiana-specific tuition is slightly higher than the Ohio/Michigan rate.

Fastest LPN Programs in Indiana: Can You Finish in 6 Months?

The short answer is no: as of the 2026 catalog cycle, no Board-approved practical nursing program in Indiana advertises a six-month completion path. The realistic floor for finishing an LPN program in the state is closer to 11 or 12 months, and even those timelines assume full-time, year-round enrollment with prerequisites already done.

Why "6 Months" Is a Misleading Search

A practical nursing curriculum in Indiana typically runs 45 core nursing credits plus clinical hours, and it results in a technical certificate or diploma. Compressing that into six calendar months would require doubling up clinical rotations in a way state approval bodies do not currently sign off on. When schools market "fast-track" programs, they generally mean back-to-back semesters with no summer break, not a genuine half-year credential , a pattern visible in the Fastest LPN/LVN Programs of 2026.

The Actual Fast Options

  • Hondros College of Nursing (Indianapolis): The daytime practical nursing diploma can be completed in as few as 12 months, running roughly three days per week from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Overall program length runs 12 to 18 months depending on track. The campus appears among the Best LPN Programs in Indianapolis 2026.
  • Ivy Tech Community College: The statewide practical nursing certificate is capped at six semesters, and the 2025-2026 nursing handbook explicitly states timeframes cannot be accelerated beyond the approved plan. An older fast-track plan tied to the Lawrenceburg campus finished the certificate in about a year for admitted students, but current campus-level availability is worth confirming directly.2
  • Essential Healthcare Academy: Markets a 12-month, full-time practical nursing diploma at roughly $17,750 in total program cost, though prospective students should verify Indiana campus status before applying.

Trade-Offs to Weigh

Accelerated tracks front-load clinicals and lectures into a punishing weekly schedule, which makes outside employment difficult. Per-semester tuition often looks higher because credits are packed tighter, and prerequisite courses (anatomy, physiology, sometimes microbiology) usually must be finished before day one, not alongside nursing coursework. If you need income during school or still owe prerequisites, an 18-month track is often the more survivable choice.

How Indiana LPN Program Earnings Stack up Against Debt

LPN certificate programs in Indiana typically run about one year and carry significantly lower tuition than associate or bachelor's-level RN tracks. That combination of short duration and modest cost generally produces a favorable debt-to-earnings picture. However, program-level earnings and debt figures are not yet available for the top-ranked Indiana LPN programs, including Ivy Tech Community College and Vincennes University, so a direct school-by-school comparison cannot be drawn at this time. At the institutional level, median graduate debt at these schools ranges from roughly $10,700 to $12,000, while median earnings ten years after enrollment fall between about $37,200 and $41,100, suggesting graduates earn back their investment relatively quickly.

Median graduate debt of $10,700 to $12,000 at top Indiana LPN schools based on 2024 federal data.

Getting In: Admission Requirements for Indiana LPN Programs

Admission standards vary significantly across Indiana's LPN programs, and understanding the differences can save you months of planning. Ivy Tech uses a competitive, points-based selection system across all of its campuses, while Hondros College of Nursing explicitly markets itself as having no waitlist and frequent start dates. Below is a side-by-side comparison of key prerequisites at major Indiana LPN programs based on the latest published admissions criteria.

SchoolGPA MinimumEntrance ExamBackground Check and ImmunizationsCNA Bridge CreditWaitlist Status
Ivy Tech Community College (statewide PN program)2.0 cumulative GPAATI TEAS at "Proficient" level or higherRequired (details vary by campus)No formal CNA-to-LPN bridge granting course credit for CNA certificationCompetitive, points-based selection tied to TEAS scores and prerequisite grades; no published waitlist lengths per campus
Hondros College of Nursing (Indianapolis campus)Not specified for PN admissionHESI Admission Assessment (not TEAS); alternatively, ACT of 18 or SAT of 980 within five yearsFederal and state criminal background check plus 10-panel drug screen requiredNo formal CNA-to-LPN bridge offering advanced standing or creditNo waitlist; program promotes frequent start dates and continuous enrollment
Vincennes University (LPN-to-ASN completion track)2.6 minimum GPA (for the ASN completion concentration for LPNs)Not specified in published admissions materialsRequired (per program policies)No CNA-to-LPN or CNA-to-ASN bridge granting credit for CNA certification alonePoints-based selection using GPA; no published statement of rolling admission

Common Questions About Indiana LPN Programs

Indiana's LPN landscape is shifting, with new programs opening and licensing rules that affect where you can practice. Below are answers to the questions prospective students ask most, grounded in current program data and state board requirements.

  1. How long is the LPN program at Ivy Tech?

    Ivy Tech's Practical Nursing certificate is designed as a three-semester sequence, which most students complete in about 11 to 12 months of full-time study. Some campuses stagger start dates, so total calendar time can vary slightly. Part-time options, where available, extend the timeline beyond one year.

  2. Can you complete an LPN program in 6 months in Indiana?

    A true six-month LPN program is extremely rare in Indiana. Most state board-approved programs run 11 to 14 months because clinical-hour requirements are difficult to compress further. You may see "accelerated" timelines closer to 10 months at select schools, but anything shorter than that typically does not meet Indiana's curriculum standards.

  3. Are there online LPN programs in Indiana?

    Fully online LPN programs are uncommon in Indiana because the state board requires supervised in-person clinical rotations. A handful of schools offer hybrid formats where didactic coursework is delivered online and clinical hours are completed at approved sites. Verify with each school that its online component carries Indiana State Board of Nursing approval before enrolling.

  4. Which Indiana LPN programs have the highest NCLEX-PN pass rates?

    Several Indiana programs consistently post first-time NCLEX-PN pass rates above 90%, with a few reaching 95% or higher in recent reporting years. Pass-rate data is published by the Indiana State Board of Nursing and updated annually. Because results can fluctuate year to year, check the most current board report rather than relying on a single snapshot.

  5. What GPA do you need to get into an LPN program in Indiana?

    Most Indiana LPN programs require a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.0 to 2.5 on a 4.0 scale. Competitive programs, especially those with limited seats, may effectively admit students with higher averages. Some schools also require a minimum grade of C or better in prerequisite science courses, so review each program's specific admission criteria.

  6. Are there any newly approved LPN programs in Indiana for 2025 to 2026?

    Yes. Essential Healthcare Academy , an LPN program in Fort Wayne , received Board for Proprietary Education approval in April 20251 for a 61-credit-hour Diploma in Practical Nursing, with enrollment opening in September 20262. The program holds initial accreditation status3 and plans to pursue specialized accreditation. Separately, the University of Saint Francis announced that its Practical Nursing program received Indiana State Board of Nursing approval4 for a 12-month program at its Fort Wayne campus, accepting applications for a fall 2026 inaugural cohort.

  7. Can I transfer CNA experience toward an LPN program in Indiana?

    CNA experience itself does not typically substitute for LPN coursework in Indiana. However, holding an active CNA certification may fulfill a clinical-background prerequisite at certain schools and can strengthen your application. A few programs award a small number of credits for prior healthcare training through a formal evaluation process, so ask each school's admissions office about its credit-for-experience policy.

  8. Is Indiana part of the Nurse Licensure Compact?

    Yes, Indiana is a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). If you establish Indiana as your primary state of residence and meet compact requirements, your LPN license allows you to practice in all other NLC member states without obtaining additional licenses. This is a significant advantage for nurses near state borders or those considering travel nursing roles.

Online and Hybrid LPN Programs Available in Indiana

No Indiana LPN program is fully online. State clinical requirements make that impossible: every approved program demands hands-on lab hours and supervised patient-care rotations completed in person. What you can find are hybrid formats that move lecture content online and keep labs and clinicals on campus or at partner facilities. That flexibility matters if you are working or managing family responsibilities alongside school. Here is how the main hybrid options compare.

FeatureIvy Tech Community CollegeHondros College of Nursing (Indianapolis)Vincennes University
Online Didactic AvailabilityTheory courses offered in fully online, partially online, and blended formats across multiple campusesSelect theory courses delivered asynchronously through the MyClassroom LMS; some coursework originates from the Columbus, OH main campus via distance educationSome prerequisites and select non-clinical courses available online; most nursing classes remain on campus
In-Person RequirementsAll skills labs and clinical rotations completed face to face at community healthcare facilitiesSkills labs and clinical hours completed in person; online delivery applies only to certain lecture coursesAll labs are on campus and clinical hours are completed in person per state regulations
Non-Traditional SchedulingFort Wayne campus offers a hybrid, evenings-only LPN cohort designed for students who cannot attend daytime classesProgram organized in four quarters (roughly 44 weeks); synchronous virtual lectures for select courses add some schedule flexibilityHybrid path allows students to complete eligible coursework online at their own pace, though core nursing classes follow a set campus schedule
Best Fit ForStudents near any Ivy Tech campus who want maximum online lecture options or need evening schedulingIndianapolis-area students comfortable with a structured quarterly calendar and some asynchronous courseworkStudents in southern Indiana who prefer a traditional campus experience with limited online supplements
Fully Online Track Offered?NoNoNo

From Application to License: Indiana LPN Licensure Steps

After completing a Board-approved practical nursing program in Indiana, you are a few concrete steps away from your license. The entire process typically costs at least $250 (or $275 if you opt for multistate privileges). Indiana is an active member of the Nurse Licensure Compact, so qualifying graduates whose primary residence is Indiana can practice across compact states without obtaining additional licenses.

Six-step Indiana LPN licensure process from program graduation through optional multistate compact license, with fees totaling $250 to $275 in 2026

LPN Pay in Indiana: What to Expect by Metro Area

LPN pay in Indiana tracks closely with the national median, and in several metro areas it tops the national benchmark for licensed practical nurses.

Statewide Context

The Bureau of Labor Statistics reported a national median annual wage of $64,400 for LPNs in 2025.1 Indiana does not publish one clean statewide median, but wage reports for the state's largest employment regions show annual pay clustering around the same point. At the top of the range, Fort Wayne's 90th-percentile annual wage reaches about $75,400; entry-level workers in the 10th percentile earn closer to $46,800.4

Metro-by-Metro Wages

  • Indianapolis-Carmel-Anderson: Median annual pay near $66,700, roughly $32 per hour.3
  • Fort Wayne: Median annual pay around $65,100, about $31.30 per hour.4
  • South Bend-Mishawaka: Median annual pay near $64,200, about $30.90 per hour.5
  • Evansville: Median annual pay around $63,600, about $30.60 per hour.6

Among the four metros, Indianapolis sits at the top of the pay scale, while Evansville sits at the bottom, but the gap is only about $3,100 per year. These are regional wage estimates, not fixed offers; shift differentials, facility type, and experience can move pay higher or lower.

Job Outlook and Hiring Settings

BLS employment projections show LPN jobs growing about 3 percent nationally from 2025 to 2035, with roughly 51,800 openings per year.2 Indiana's largest employers of practical nurses include nursing facilities, home health agencies, and physician offices, so job seekers exploring licensed practical nurse careers in those settings often have the most options.

Salary vs. Program Cost

For most students, Indiana LPN wages make tuition a short-term investment. A full-time first-year salary in the low $60,000s can cover the cost of LPN programs & schools within a year or two, especially when grant aid, employer tuition assistance, or low-cost public options reduce upfront borrowing.

Choosing the Right Indiana LPN Program for Your Situation

No single program is best for every applicant, and the right choice usually comes down to which tradeoffs you can live with.

Weigh the Five Factors Together

Start by ranking NCLEX-PN pass rate, tuition or net price, program length, format, and commute distance in order of what matters most to your life right now. A parent working full time may prioritize a hybrid schedule over a slightly faster timeline, while someone eager to start earning may accept a longer drive for a program with rolling admission. Treat pass rate as your quality floor, but let personal logistics decide the winner among schools that clear it.

Confirm State Approval Before You Apply

Before comparing costs or schedules, verify that a program is approved by the Indiana State Board of Nursing and holds accreditation through ACEN or CCNE. This step is non-negotiable. A program without state approval cannot prepare you for licensure in Indiana, no matter how attractive its tuition or schedule looks on paper.

Call Before You Commit

Waitlists, start dates, and clinical site availability shift every semester, and published information often lags behind reality. Call admissions directly and ask what the next cohort actually looks like, not what the website says.

Think Past the LPN Credential

If becoming an RN is part of your longer term plan, start with Choosing the Right LPN/LVN Bridge Program and favor a school with a clear LPN-to-RN bridge, such as Ivy Tech's PN-to-ASN pathway. Choosing LPN to RN programs from the start can shave semesters and tuition dollars off your eventual RN degree.

Recent Articles

In this article

Follow us