Best LPN to RN/BSN Programs in West Virginia 2027

Best LPN to RN/BSN Programs in West Virginia 2027
Updated September 15, 202620 min read

Best West Virginia LPN to RN/BSN Programs 2027

Ranked by NCLEX pass rates, cost, and flexibility — compare every WV bridge program side by side.

West Virginia's rural hospitals and nursing homes are running short-staffed, and the fastest legal route from LPN wages to RN pay runs through one of eight bridge programs scattered across the state, from Morgantown to Beaver to Keyser. Timelines range from a 12-month accelerated ASN at Fairmont State to a three-year part-time BSN track at Potomac State, and tuition swings just as widely, from roughly $5,000 to over $10,000 a year depending on residency and campus.

The tension every applicant faces is straightforward: a shorter, cheaper ADN gets you licensed and earning faster, while a longer BSN track costs more upfront but positions you better for hospital hiring preferences down the road.

Because seat counts are small and cohorts fill quickly, program quality, measured here by NCLEX-RN pass rate, matters more when choosing among Accredited LPN and RN Programs in West Virginia than in states with dozens of competing options.

Top NCLEX-RN Pass Rates: Best LPN to RN/BSN Programs in West Virginia

For a West Virginia LPN, the NCLEX-RN is the single gate between finishing a bridge program and holding an RN license. Every option profiled here prepares graduates to sit for that exam, but the programs differ sharply in format, cost, and how much credit they award for the practical nursing experience you already have. The cards below put first-time NCLEX-RN performance at the front of the order.

How we ranked these

Factors considered
  1. Institution-wide graduation rates
  2. Nursing program completion rates
  3. NCLEX-RN first-time pass rates
  4. Program accreditation status
  5. Net price and transfer credit
Data sources
  • IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • NCLEX first-time pass rates published by the state boards of nursing — ncsbn.org
  • College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Internal program database
  • Independent editorial research
WE

West Virginia University

Morgantown, WV · $16,000/yr

Best for: Working LPNs pursuing a BSN

West Virginia University runs the state's most widely distributed LPN bridge pathway, with the LPN to BSN track taught at both the Keyser and Beckley campuses inside the WVU School of Nursing network. Licensed practical nurses receive 22 escrow credits for their license and clinical experience, then take the NSG 213 transition course before joining the professional nursing sequence. Didactic work is delivered online with in-person labs and clinicals, and classes meet afternoons, evenings, and weekends so working LPNs can keep earning while they study. The university's overall graduation rate of about 65 percent leads the West Virginia options ranked here.

  • LPN to Bachelor of Science in Nursing (LPN to BSN), Associates — Hybrid
    West Virginia University
    • CCNE accredited
    • 22 escrow credits for LPN licensure and experience
    • NSG 213 transition course for LPNs
    • Online didactic courses with in-person clinicals
    • Afternoon, evening, and weekend class options
    • Two West Virginia campuses: Keyser and Beckley
    • Prepares graduates for the NCLEX-RN exam
    • Faculty-led and precepted clinical experiences
    Visit Website
SA

Salem University

Salem, WV · ~$12,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Transfer students with prior college credits

Salem University's LPN to ASN bridge is a hybrid pathway that moves licensed practical nurses to registered nursing in about 20 months, with roughly eight months of online coursework followed by a year of in-person clinical learning. The program accepts up to 12 core credits and 24 prerequisite credits in transfer while requiring at least 30 credits in residence, which suits LPNs arriving from other West Virginia colleges and technical centers. Salem also offers an RN to BSN completion route, so graduates can keep advancing without leaving the state. The institution-wide graduation rate is close to 20 percent, worth weighing alongside that transfer-friendly design.

  • LPN to Associate of Science in Nursing (LPN to ASN) — Hybrid
    Salem University
    • 20-month hybrid program
    • 66 semester credits required
    • 8 months online, 12 months in person
    • Up to 12 core and 24 prerequisite transfer credits
    • Minimum 30 credits completed at Salem
    • On-campus requirement of 2 to 4 days per week
    • NCLEX-RN review included
    • Pathway to Salem's RN to BSN completion program
    Visit Website
NE

New River Community and Technical College

Beaver, WV · $4,000/yr (net price)

Best for: Greenbrier Valley LPNs training close to home

New River Community and Technical College offers a three-semester associate degree nursing bridge built for LPNs and paramedics, with 60 credits split between classroom theory and clinical practice. The program is approved by the West Virginia Board of Registered Nurses and holds ACEN candidate status, and it qualifies for WV Invests last-dollar free tuition for eligible state residents. That funding link makes it one of the most affordable in-state routes from LPN to RN, especially for nurses in the Greenbrier Valley. The institution-wide graduation rate is near 36 percent.

  • LPN to Associate Degree Nursing (LPN to ADN) — Hybrid
    New River Community and Technical College
    • Three-semester bridge for LPNs and paramedics
    • 60 total credit hours
    • TEAS entrance exam required, 2.5 GPA minimum
    • Program reports a 91.7% licensure pass rate
    • Eligible for WV Invests free tuition
    • West Virginia Board of Registered Nurses approved
    • ACEN candidate accreditation
    • Greenbrier Valley Campus location
    Visit Website
WE

West Virginia University at Parkersburg

Parkersburg, WV · $2,000/yr (net price)

West Virginia University at Parkersburg runs an accelerated LPN to RN track that leads to an Associate of Applied Science in Nursing in about 16 months. Active LPNs are exempt from the HESI A2 entrance exam, and applicants who finish BIOL 107 before applying get admission preference, two advantages for nurses already working in the Mid-Ohio Valley. Clinical placements run through WVU Medicine and Memorial Health, and the program holds ACEN accreditation with selective, limited enrollment. The institution-wide graduation rate is near 9 percent, a figure that describes the whole college rather than this nursing program alone.

  • Accelerated LPN to Registered Nursing (LPN to RN), Associates — On-Campus
    West Virginia University at Parkersburg
    ACEN accredited
    • 16-month accelerated pathway
    • ACEN accredited
    • HESI A2 waived for active LPNs
    • Admission preference for BIOL 107 completers
    • Fall and spring start terms
    • 2.0 GPA minimum with prerequisites
    • Faculty-supervised clinicals at WVU Medicine and Memorial Health
    • Selective admission with limited enrollment
    Visit Website
FA

Fairmont State University

Fairmont, WV · ~$9,000/yr (est.)

Fairmont State University delivers its LPN to ASN bridge fully online and asynchronously, with clinical days clustered a few times each month at West Virginia healthcare facilities. Cohorts are capped at 32 students and the program can be completed in as little as 12 months, which suits LPNs who cannot relocate or cut back their hours. Admission requires the TEAS at 60 percent and a 2.0 GPA, and graduates can step directly into the university's RN to BSN program. The institution-wide graduation rate is about 44 percent.

  • LPN to Associate of Science in Nursing (LPN to ASN) — Online
    Fairmont State University
    ACEN accredited
    • Fully online asynchronous coursework
    • Complete in as little as 12 months
    • Clinicals two to three days per month in West Virginia
    • Cohorts limited to 32 students
    • ACEN accredited
    • TEAS score of 60% and 2.0 GPA required
    • Capstone clinical experience
    • Pathway into Fairmont State's RN to BSN program
    Visit Website
BL

Bluefield State University

Bluefield, WV · $11,000 – $18,000/yr

HBCU

Bluefield State University compresses the LPN to RN transition into one calendar year, opening with a 10-week summer bridge and then moving students into the third semester of the ASN program. Applicants need a 2.8 GPA, an active LPN license, and a recommendation, with preference given to nurses who have acute care experience. That structure targets LPNs already working in southern West Virginia hospitals who want to move into RN roles quickly. The institution-wide graduation rate is about 37 percent.

  • Accelerated LPN to RN (Associate of Science in Nursing) — On-Campus
    Bluefield State University
    ACEN accredited
    • One calendar year to complete RN coursework
    • 10-week summer transition course
    • 28 credits of nursing coursework
    • 2.8 GPA minimum with active LPN license
    • One letter of recommendation required
    • Preference for acute care experience
    • ACEN accredited
    • Program cites a regional mean RN wage of $72,230
    Visit Website
PO

Potomac State College of West Virginia University

Keyser, WV · $9,000/yr (net price)

Potomac State College, the WVU Keyser campus, offers an LPN to BSN pathway that admits a fall cohort and can be finished in under three years. Students receive 22 escrow credits for their LPN license, complete the NSG 213 transition course, and graduate with 122 credits. Online theory pairs with simulation labs and clinical rotations that include a rural practice placement and 50 hours of community service in West Virginia communities. The campus reports an institution-wide graduation rate near 31 percent, and free TEAS preparation and a required laptop program round out the academic support.

  • LPN to Bachelor of Science in Nursing (LPN to BSN), Associates — Hybrid
    Potomac State College of West Virginia University
    Rolling admissions
    • Cohort-based, fall start
    • Complete in under three years
    • 22 escrow credits for LPN licensure
    • 122 total credits for the BSN
    • NSG 213 transition course
    • Hybrid online theory with in-person labs and clinicals
    • Rural clinical experience and 50 service hours
    • Free TEAS prep and required laptop program
    Visit Website

How We Ranked West Virginia's LPN Bridge Programs

Alphabetical lists are easy to build and tell you almost nothing about which program actually prepares you to pass boards. A weighted ranking takes more work, but it gives you something you can act on.

Most directories of LPN to RN bridge programs in West Virginia stop at school name, city, and maybe a tuition figure. We wanted a ranking that reflects outcomes, so the majority of each program's composite score, roughly three-quarters, comes from its NCLEX-RN first-time pass rate. That figure comes from the West Virginia Board of Examiners for Registered Professional Nurses' most recent three years of licensure data and is weighted by cohort test-taker counts, so a program graduating six nurses a year isn't artificially boosted or penalized compared to one graduating sixty.

The Remaining Weight

The rest of the score splits between two factors: current accreditation status with recognized nursing accreditors, and completion or retention metrics reported by each program. Together these round out the picture beyond a single test-day snapshot.

What This Ranking Doesn't Tell You

No dataset captures everything that matters to a working LPN weighing an LPN bridge program. Clinical placement quality, how supportive faculty are toward students juggling shift work, and day-to-day student satisfaction don't show up in state licensure data. We'd encourage you to treat this ranking as a strong starting filter, then verify fit through conversations with current students and admissions advisors before enrolling.

NCLEX-RN Pass Rates by West Virginia Bridge Program

West Virginia's LPN-to-RN and LPN-to-BSN bridge programs are small in number, and the most recent board data reflects that: only one bridge track posted a first-time NCLEX-RN result for the 2025 reporting year.

Bridge Program Pass Rate Snapshot

The table below reflects the most recent first-time NCLEX-RN pass rates published for West Virginia's LPN bridge tracks. Because these programs enroll small cohorts, a single test-taker can move a percentage dramatically, so read the counts alongside the rates.

ProgramFirst-Time Test-TakersFirst-Time Pass RateReporting YearApproval Status
BridgeValley CTC LPN-ADN1100%2025Full Approval
WVU Beckley LPN-BSNNot reportedNot published2025New / Provisional
WVU Potomac State (Keyser) LPN to BSNNot reportedNot published2025Approved

Reading the Numbers

BridgeValley's 100% mark comes from a single first-time candidate, so it is a clean pass rather than a statistically meaningful trend. The two WVU bridge tracks did not have a published 2025 first-time pass rate: the Beckley program is still in New/Provisional status, and the Keyser LPN to BSN track did not appear in the board's 2025 rate table. That typically means no first-time candidates sat for the exam in the reporting window, not that the program failed.

How WV Compares Nationally

For context, West Virginia's all-programs first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate has historically tracked near 85%, below the national benchmark that generally sits in the upper 80s. Cohorts in LPN to RN Bridge Programs, when they do test, tend to pass at rates at or above the state RN average, since LPN candidates enter with prior clinical experience and an existing licensure exam under their belt.

Data Source

Figures above come from the West Virginia Board of Examiners for Registered Professional Nurses annual pass-rate reports. The board publishes updates yearly, so check the current PDF before making an enrollment decision.

LPN to ADN vs LPN to BSN: Which Path Is Right for You?

Both the LPN to ADN and LPN to BSN pathways lead to RN licensure and a significant pay increase, but they differ in time commitment, cost, and long-term career reach. In West Virginia, registered nurses earn a median annual wage of roughly $86,070 according to Bureau of Labor Statistics data, a substantial step up from LPN earnings regardless of which bridge route you choose. The real question is whether you want the fastest route to an RN license or the broader career ceiling that comes with a bachelor's degree.

DimensionLPN to ADNLPN to BSN
Typical Duration12 to 16 months (e.g., Fairmont State's 12 month program or WVU Parkersburg's 16 month track)About 3 years including prerequisites (e.g., Potomac State College or WVU Morgantown)
Approximate In State TuitionRoughly $4,600 to $12,100 depending on the school (community colleges and public universities tend to be lowest)Roughly $5,300 to $10,100 at public institutions, though total cost is higher because the program spans more semesters
Credential EarnedAssociate of Science in Nursing (ASN or ADN)Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN)
NCLEX-RN EligibilityYes, graduates sit for the same NCLEX-RN examYes, identical NCLEX-RN exam
Median RN Salary in WVEntry level RN earnings typically fall in the $64,000 to $76,000 range (BLS 10th to 25th percentile for WV registered nurses)BSN prepared nurses are more competitive for higher paying hospital roles; experienced BSN holders can reach the $105,000 to $133,000 range (BLS 75th to 90th percentile in WV)
Career CeilingStaff nurse roles in clinics, long term care, home health, and many hospital unitsOpens doors to Magnet designated hospitals, charge nurse and nurse manager positions, and serves as the foundation for MSN or DNP graduate programs
Format Options in WVOnline didactic with monthly clinicals (Fairmont State), on campus (Bluefield State, WVU Parkersburg), or hybrid (New River CTC, Salem University)Hybrid with online coursework and in person clinicals (WVU Morgantown, Potomac State College)
Best FitLPNs who want an immediate RN license and plan to continue working while studying on a shorter timelineLPNs aiming for leadership, specialty certifications, or eventual graduate education, and who can commit to a longer program

LPN to RN Salary Uplift in West Virginia

Earning an RN license delivers a substantial pay increase over LPN wages in West Virginia. The chart below compares median annual salaries across three credential levels, giving you a concrete sense of the return on your bridge-program investment.

West Virginia median annual wages: LPN at $40,350, RN with ADN at $60,780, and RN with BSN at $65,940 as of May 2025

Program Cost and Financial Aid for WV LPN Bridge Students

Tuition for West Virginia LPN-to-RN and LPN-to-BSN programs varies by school, but state aid can lower the net cost for both LPN to RN Bridge Programs and LPN to BSN Programs. The West Virginia Nursing Scholarship Program offers three award levels: $3,000 for LPN study, $7,500 for RN study, and $1,000 for the LPN Teaching Certificate.1 Each award carries a service commitment , one year for the LPN award and two years for the RN award , so students should plan their employment timeline before accepting funds.1 To qualify for the RN award, applicants must have completed at least 50% of core nursing coursework and maintain at least part-time enrollment in good academic standing.2 The same part-time enrollment and good-standing standards apply to the program overall, while the RN award adds the 50% coursework threshold.2

Employer tuition reimbursement can further reduce out-of-pocket costs. WVU Medicine offers reimbursement up to $3,000 per year for full-time employees and $1,500 per year for part-time employees in eligible programs, including BSN, ADN, ASN, and AAS.3 Full-time employees in graduate programs also fall under the $3,000 annual cap.3 The benefit becomes available after 90 days of employment.4 After five years of service, full-time employees may receive 100% reimbursement and part-time employees may receive 50%.3 Because eligibility is tied to the employer, LPNs should confirm current benefit terms with WVU Medicine or their own employer before enrolling.

Students comparing schools should review total tuition, fees, and scholarship deadlines alongside program length. The Most Affordable LPN/LVN Programs for 2026 guide can help identify lower-cost programs, though West Virginia-specific aid and employer benefits often change the net price in this state. Planning ahead for scholarship obligations and reimbursement timelines is especially important for working LPNs who intend to continue working while in school.

Online, Hybrid, and On-Campus LPN Bridge Options in West Virginia

Many LPNs searching for fully online LPN to RN programs in West Virginia will find that no state program is entirely virtual. The West Virginia Board of Nursing requires supervised clinical hours for all nursing programs, which means every bridge pathway includes some in-person component. Programs marketed as "online" deliver didactic coursework online but still require on-campus labs, simulation sessions, or clinical rotations at approved sites. The table below breaks down what each ranked program actually offers so you can plan around your schedule and location.

ProgramDegreeDelivery FormatOnline DidacticIn-Person RequirementsDurationNotes
WVU (Morgantown)BSNHybridYes, online didactic coursesFaculty-led and precepted clinicals; afternoons, evenings, and weekend classes at WV campus locationsVaries22 escrow credits awarded for LPN experience; two campus locations available
Salem UniversityASNHybridYes, 8 months online12 months in person; on-campus requirement 2 to 4 days per week for labs and clinicals20 monthsMinimum 30 credits must be completed at Salem; transfer credits accepted for prerequisites
New River CTC (Beaver)ADNHybridPartial online courseworkClinical sites in the southern WV region; lab and simulation on campus3 semestersACEN accredited; TEAS exam required; WV Invests free tuition eligible
WVU at ParkersburgASNOn-CampusLimitedAll nursing courses delivered on campus with faculty-supervised clinicals16 monthsHESI A2 entrance exam waived for active LPNs; starts fall and spring
Fairmont State UniversityASNOnline didactics with monthly clinicalsYes, asynchronous online classesMonthly clinical rotations at sites across West Virginia12 monthsClosest to a "fully online" format in WV; cohort-based, limited to 32 students; TEAS score of 60% required
Bluefield State UniversityASNOn-CampusLimited10-week summer transition course plus on-campus nursing courses and clinicals1 year (calendar year)Preference given to applicants with acute care experience; 2.8 GPA minimum
Potomac State College (WVU)BSNHybridYes, some online courseworkCourses offered afternoons, evenings, and weekends; rural clinical practice sites; 50 hours of community service requiredLess than 3 yearsCCNE accredited; 22 escrow credits for LPN license; simulation labs on campus

Admissions Requirements for WV LPN to RN Programs

West Virginia's LPN bridge programs share a core set of admissions requirements, though thresholds and extras vary by school. Review the common criteria below and confirm details directly with your target program, since individual catalogs may differ from year to year.

  • Active, Unencumbered LPN License
    Every WV bridge program requires proof of a current, unencumbered LPN license. Most accept a West Virginia license or one held through the Nurse Licensure Compact. Eastern WV CTC limits enrollment to WV or MD residents at this time. Programs may dismiss students who fail to maintain licensure in good standing throughout the program.
  • Minimum GPA
    GPA floors range from 2.0 to 3.0 depending on the school. Community and technical college ADN tracks such as Eastern WV CTC and WVU Parkersburg typically set a 2.0 cumulative minimum, while WVU and WVSU BSN pathways require at least a 2.5. West Virginia Wesleyan's new LPN-to-BSN holds the highest bar at 3.0. Eastern WV CTC also recommends a 2.75 in prior practical nursing coursework specifically.
  • Entrance Exam (TEAS or HESI)
    Most programs require the ATI TEAS with minimum scores ranging from 60 to 65. WVSU accepts either the TEAS (minimum 65) or the HESI A2 (minimum 75 percent in designated areas). WVU Parkersburg exempts licensed LPNs from the HESI A2 entirely. WV Wesleyan's LPN-to-BSN does not currently list a standardized exam requirement. TEAS scores are generally valid for three years.
  • Prerequisite Courses
    Expect to complete English Composition (ENGL 101), Anatomy & Physiology I with lab, and General Psychology with a minimum grade of C before starting nursing coursework. Some programs add additional requirements, WVSU, for example, calls for MATH 120 and a developmental psychology course, while BridgeValley includes a two-semester biology sequence. Check each school's catalog for the full prerequisite list.
  • Clinical Experience
    Requirements vary. WVU and WVU Potomac State expect at least one year of LPN clinical practice before students enter upper-level nursing courses. Eastern WV CTC and WV Wesleyan do not specify a minimum experience requirement beyond holding a valid license. If you are a newer LPN, this distinction may influence which program you target.
  • Additional Application Materials
    Beyond transcripts and test scores, expect a background check (required at Eastern WV CTC and most other programs) and possibly drug screening. West Virginia Wesleyan's LPN-to-BSN asks for two letters of recommendation and an interview. WVSU requires sophomore standing with at least 30 college credits before admission to nursing courses.
  • 2026 Cohort Deadlines to Watch
    Eastern WV CTC's hybrid LPN-to-RN bridge has a TEAS deadline and an application deadline set in fall for a January start, confirm current cycle dates directly with the college. West Virginia Wesleyan launched its first LPN-to-BSN cohort in August 2025; prospective students should contact the admissions office for the next available start. Programs with rolling or annual cohorts may fill early, so plan at least six months ahead.

From Graduation to RN License: Steps and the Nurse Licensure Compact in West Virginia

Once you complete your LPN to RN bridge program, a clear sequence stands between you and your RN license. West Virginia handles all initial applications through the WV Board of Examiners for Registered Professional Nurses, which requires online submission, a background check, and successful completion of the NCLEX-RN. New graduates may qualify for a temporary practice permit lasting up to 90 days while awaiting exam results. To maintain your license, you will need 12 continuing education hours per renewal cycle, with a $90 renewal fee due by June 30. Newly licensed RNs must also complete 3 additional contact hours on prescribing practices and drug diversion.

Five-step RN licensure sequence in West Virginia from Board application through NCLEX-RN to multistate license and renewal requirements in 2026

Salary Insight

Recent Articles

In this article

Follow us