Only four practical nursing programs operate in New Hampshire's community college system, and each admits a single cohort a year. That scarcity changes the calculus: a rejected application or a missed deadline can mean a full year's delay, not a quick transfer to the school down the road.
Tuition across these programs sits in a tight band, roughly $6,900 to $7,150 for state residents, with total program costs (including fees and supplies) landing closer to $14,000 to $23,000 depending on the campus. All four lead to NCLEX-PN eligibility through the same core curriculum, so the real distinctions come down to clinical placements, cohort start dates, and how fast you can move through.
With so few seats statewide, waitlists function almost like a second admissions gate, and planning around them matters as much as picking a school.
Top LPN Programs in New Hampshire for 2027
New Hampshire's community college practical nursing programs share a single curriculum developed by River Valley Community College, so the differences that matter most are location, admissions timing, and where each campus sends students for clinicals. Every program below is a one-year, 36-credit certificate that prepares graduates to sit for the NCLEX-PN, and in-state tuition is set at the same rate across the system, which means living costs and financial aid drive most of the price gap. Program-level earnings data for these certificates is not yet published.
How we ranked these
- Median debt owed by graduates
- Net price after financial aid
- Completion and graduation rates
- Program length and credit load
- Regional access for New Hampshire students
- College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Internal program database
- Independent editorial research
- IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
White Mountains Community College
White Mountains Community College delivers its one-year practical nursing certificate on the Berlin campus through a shared program with River Valley Community College, keeping the curriculum consistent with the system's other LPN offerings. Students move between classroom instruction, simulation labs, and clinical placements at healthcare facilities across the White Mountains Region, and graduates leave eligible to sit for the NCLEX-PN. The college reports an overall graduation rate of about 62%, a figure that describes the institution as a whole rather than the LPN cohort specifically.
Nursing-Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Manchester Community College
Manchester Community College hosts the statewide shared LPN curriculum as the fourth New Hampshire community college to adopt it, aimed squarely at staffing needs in the state's largest city. The one-year certificate pairs classroom theory with a high-fidelity simulation laboratory on the Manchester campus, followed by clinical rotations at Parkland Medical Center in Derry. Cohorts begin in January with a September 30 application deadline, and the college gives first priority to New Hampshire residents. Its institutional graduation rate sits near 41%, which reflects the whole college and not the LPN program alone.
Licensed Practical Nursing (LPN) Program, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Nashua Community College
Nashua Community College offers the one-year LPN certificate through the same statewide shared program, with admissions requirements completed through River Valley Community College. Instruction blends classroom work, simulation, and clinical rotations at facilities across the Greater Nashua region, and the program keeps its cohorts intentionally small with dedicated nursing faculty. Entry requires the TEAS exam, prerequisite coursework, and current New Hampshire LNA licensure, with a waiver path for some allied health workers. The college's overall graduation rate is roughly 38%, an institutional number that does not describe the LPN cohort on its own.
Licensed Practical Nursing (LPN) Certificate — On-Campus
River Valley Community College
River Valley Community College is where the practical nursing curriculum that several New Hampshire community colleges now deliver originated, and its own LPN certificate holds ACEN accreditation continuing through spring 2028. The one-year program runs at the Claremont, Keene, and Lebanon campuses plus partner sites, so students across the state can train without relocating, and graduates have in-state options to bridge into an RN associate degree. The college reports a 100% job placement rate for program graduates and offers a free Anatomy and Physiology I prep course. Its overall graduation rate of about 22% reflects the institution as a whole, not the LPN program specifically.
Nursing-Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Most Affordable LPN Programs in New Hampshire
If you have searched for free LPN programs in New Hampshire, you should know that fully tuition-free options are extremely rare. However, a few avenues can significantly reduce your costs. Elliot Hospital's Granite State Partners Program offers tuition scholarships for eligible New Hampshire residents pursuing LPN credentials, and some employer-sponsored arrangements may cover part of your training. State workforce development funding through NH Works or community action agencies may also subsidize tuition for income-qualifying applicants, though no dedicated statewide free LPN cohort has been confirmed for 2026. The community colleges listed below represent the most affordable Board-approved LPN programs in the state, sorted by estimated net price after financial aid.
| School | City | In-State Tuition | Out-of-State Tuition | Est. Net Price After Aid |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manchester Community College | Manchester | $7,090 | $15,340 | $14,143 |
| River Valley Community College | Claremont | $6,940 | $15,190 | $14,804 |
| White Mountains Community College | Berlin | $7,050 | $15,300 | $15,474 |
| Nashua Community College | Nashua | $7,140 | $15,390 | $23,154 |
Explore other New Hampshire related topics
Related Articles
Accelerated LPN Programs in New Hampshire
Can you finish an LPN program in New Hampshire in under 12 months? In most of the state, accelerated means 10 to 12 months instead of the 12 to 16 month range, and only a few schools actually get below the one-year mark , see the Fastest LPN/LVN Programs of 2026 for national context.
What fast-track means in New Hampshire
The clearest current example is LNA Health Careers, which lists a full-time schedule of 11 months, or 45 weeks. Most other first-licensure programs cluster at roughly one year. Harmony Health Care Institute runs 13 months full-time, four days per week, with 1,173 clock hours that include 570 classroom hours, 382.5 clinical hours, and 60 externship hours.
Other condensed one-year options
Nashua Community College, River Valley Community College, White Mountains Community College, and Manchester Community College all describe about a 12-month full-time certificate. River Valley's nursing courses meet two full days per week across three semesters, but clinical hours still require additional scheduled time.
The trade-offs
Condensing the curriculum into 11 or 12 months usually means a heavier weekly class load, summer or winter enrollment, and less flexibility for work or family. Evening or weekend tracks often stretch to 18 to 24 months or longer, and clinical hours stay mandatory regardless of pace. Because program length is not tracked in a single ranking list, verify the current schedule on each school's website before applying.
Steps to Becoming an LPN in New Hampshire
Earning your Licensed Practical Nurse credential in New Hampshire follows a clear sequence, from classroom training through state licensure. Because New Hampshire participates in the enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC), a multistate license lets you practice in other compact states without applying for additional credentials. Here is the process at a glance.

NCLEX-PN Pass Rates at New Hampshire LPN Schools
Passing the NCLEX-PN is the final gate between completing your program and earning your license, so a school's pass rate matters. The national average NCLEX-PN pass rate has hovered near 85 to 87 percent in recent testing cycles. As the table below shows, New Hampshire programs generally meet or exceed that benchmark. Data is drawn from the most recent available reporting periods; some schools do not publicly disclose the number of test-takers, and exact reporting years vary by institution.
| School | Test-Takers | Pass Rate | Reporting Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Harmony Health Care Institute | N/A | 87.3% | 2025 |
| Rivier University | N/A | 100% | Not publicly reported |
| NHTI, Concord's Community College | N/A | 100% | Not publicly reported |
LPN Pay Across New Hampshire Metro Areas
New Hampshire LPNs earn well above the national median, which stood at roughly $59,730 according to the most recent Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. With a statewide median annual wage of $77,110, practical nurses in the Granite State can expect to earn approximately 29% more than their counterparts nationwide. The table below breaks down statewide wage percentiles alongside comparison figures for registered nurses and nursing instructors to illustrate where LPN compensation fits within the broader nursing landscape.
| Occupation | Total Employment in NH | 25th Percentile Wage | Median Wage | 75th Percentile Wage | Mean Wage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs) | 2,220 | $67,650 | $77,110 | $82,760 | $76,570 |
| Registered Nurses (RNs) | 15,390 | $82,880 | $99,700 | $108,400 | $97,900 |
| Nursing Instructors (Postsecondary) | 320 | $66,540 | $78,310 | $91,320 | $81,420 |
LPN vs. CNA vs. Medical Assistant: Choosing Your Entry Point in Healthcare
If you are weighing healthcare careers in New Hampshire, three entry points come up most often: Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA), Medical Assistant (MA), and Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN). Each offers a different balance of training time, cost, earning potential, and room to grow. The LPN path sits squarely in the middle, requiring more classroom and clinical hours than a CNA or MA credential but finishing far faster and more affordably than a registered nursing degree. For LPNs ready to advance, several New Hampshire community colleges offer LPN-to-RN bridge programs, including NHTI (4 semesters), River Valley Community College (3 to 4 semesters), and Lakes Region Community College (approximately 14 months), making the jump to an associate degree in nursing a realistic next step without starting over.
| CNA | Medical Assistant | LPN | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Typical Training Length | 4 to 12 weeks | 9 to 12 months (diploma or certificate) | 10 to 14 months (certificate or diploma) |
| Estimated Training Cost | $500 to $2,000 (some employer-sponsored programs are free) | $5,000 to $15,000 | $8,000 to $18,000 depending on the school |
| NH Median Annual Salary | Approximately $38,000 to $42,000 (based on BLS nursing assistant data) | Approximately $40,000 to $44,000 (based on BLS data) | $77,110 (per 2025 Bureau of Labor Statistics data) |
| Scope of Practice | Basic patient care: bathing, feeding, vital signs, mobility assistance under nurse supervision | Clinical and administrative tasks in outpatient settings: injections, EKGs, scheduling, patient intake | Medication administration, wound care, IV monitoring, patient assessment, and care plan documentation under RN or physician oversight |
| Work Settings | Long-term care facilities, hospitals, home health | Physician offices, outpatient clinics, urgent care centers | Hospitals, skilled nursing facilities, home health, clinics, correctional health |
| Advancement Pathways | CNA to LPN bridge programs, then LPN to RN | Additional certifications (phlebotomy, EKG tech) or transition to nursing programs | LPN-to-RN bridge at NHTI, River Valley CC, Lakes Region CC, and other NH schools (12 to 18 months typical); then RN-to-BSN if desired |
Admissions Checklist for NH LPN Programs in 2027
Requirements vary across New Hampshire's LPN and LPN-bridge programs, so verify each school's current admissions page well before the deadline. The checklist below covers the most common items you will need to prepare for the 2026–2027 application cycle.
- High school diploma or GEDEvery NH program requires proof of high school completion. Harmony Health Care Institute also requires applicants to be at least 18 years old. If your transcripts are from outside the United States, most schools expect a U.S.-credential evaluation.
- Prerequisite courseworkScience and math prerequisites are standard. River Valley Community College requires A&P I preparation; White Mountains requires A&P I and II plus Microbiology with a minimum grade of C+ (76.67%). Lakes Region expects algebra, chemistry with lab, and biology with lab at a C or above. Confirm which courses must be completed before you apply versus which can be taken concurrently.
- Entrance exam scoresMost programs use the ATI TEAS, with minimum composite scores generally ranging from 60% to 66% depending on the school. River Valley sets subsection minimums, Reading 69.0, Math 63.3, Science 43.8, and English 56.6. Some LPN-to-RN bridge tracks, including those at NHTI, Nashua Community College, and Lakes Region, require the NLN NACE I exam with a minimum score of 74% instead of or in addition to the TEAS.
- Background check and immunization recordsA criminal background check is a universal clinical-placement requirement in New Hampshire. You will also need up-to-date immunization records, typically including Hepatitis B, MMR, varicella, and a current TB screen. CPR certification from the American Heart Association, American Red Cross, or National Safety Council is required at several schools.
- Application deadlinesDeadlines differ significantly. River Valley's practical nursing application is due September 30 each year for campuses in Keene, Lebanon, Littleton, Manchester, and Nashua. Lakes Region's LPN-to-ADN bridge deadline falls on December 15. NHTI's LPN-to-RN bridge application closed January 9, 2026 for the summer cohort. Several schools, including White Mountains and Great Bay, do not publish a single fixed deadline on their websites, so contact admissions directly.
- GPA minimums and waitlist policiesExplicit GPA cutoffs are not widely published by NH LPN programs, though prerequisite grade requirements, often a C or C+, effectively serve as a floor. Because seats are limited, competitive applicants typically exceed these minimums. Ask each school whether it uses a ranked selection process or a waitlist, as policies differ and can change year to year.
- Additional documentsDepending on the school you may also need professional references, a personal goal statement, a current résumé, and official transcripts from every college previously attended. Gather these early, transcript requests alone can take several weeks.







