Best LPN Programs in New Mexico 2027

Best LPN Programs in New Mexico 2027
Updated September 15, 202619 min read

Best LPN Programs in New Mexico 2027

Ranked by NCLEX-PN pass rates, cost, and graduate outcomes — with fast-track and career-ladder picks.

Licensed practical nurses in New Mexico earned a median $59,330 in 2025, but that statewide figure conceals a wide pay spread. The Best LPN Programs in Albuquerque serve a hospital and long-term care market that typically pays above $60,000, while rural clinics in underserved counties often pay less and still struggle to keep shifts filled.

The programs ranked below are sequenced first by first-time NCLEX-PN pass rates, with accreditation and completion as supporting factors. Cost and program length then separate otherwise similar options: a full-time certificate in Las Cruces can finish months faster than a part-time track in Albuquerque. Licensure through the New Mexico Board of Nursing remains the final gate before employment, regardless of where you trained.

New Mexico's Highest-Ranked LPN Programs by NCLEX-PN Performance

New Mexico's practical nursing programs differ widely in setting, size, and how quickly they move you toward the NCLEX-PN. Every school below holds New Mexico Board of Nursing approval, and they range from community college certificates with prerequisite coursework to accelerated private college diplomas finished in about a year. Each entry notes what the school is known for and the program details that matter most when you are deciding where to apply.

How we ranked these

Factors considered
  1. Graduation rates weighted most heavily
  2. Retention and completion outcomes
  3. NCLEX-PN first-time pass rates
  4. Accreditation and state approval status
  5. Program cost and time to completion
Data sources
  • NCLEX first-time pass rates published by the state boards of nursing — ncsbn.org
  • IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • Internal program database
  • Independent editorial research
  • College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
NE

New Mexico Junior College

Hobbs, NM · ~$7,000/yr (est.) · NCLEX-PN pass rate 100% (3-yr weighted avg)

Best for: Rural residents planning an LPN-to-RN ladder

New Mexico Junior College in Hobbs offers a Certificate of Completion in Practical Nursing built on classroom instruction, laboratory practice, and supervised clinical work in modern facilities. Graduates are prepared for the NCLEX-PN and for entry-level roles in hospitals, clinics, and long-term care. The college also runs an LPN-to-RN transition pathway for licensed practical nurses who want to keep advancing. The nursing program is approved by the New Mexico Board of Nursing and accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

  • Certificate of Completion for Practical Nursing — On-Campus
    New Mexico Junior College
    • LPN to RN transition pathway for licensed practical nurses
    • Classroom, lab and supervised clinical instruction
    • Prepares graduates for the NCLEX-PN licensure exam
    • Approved by the New Mexico Board of Nursing
    • Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission
    • Small class sizes with dedicated faculty support
    Visit Website
CA

Carrington College-Albuquerque

Albuquerque, NM · $45,000 – $50,000/yr (est.) · NCLEX-PN pass rate 100% (3-yr weighted avg)

Best for: Career changers wanting a private-college certificate

Carrington College's Albuquerque campus runs a practical nursing certificate that can be finished in about 12 months, with coursework spanning medical surgical, mental health, pediatric, and geriatric nursing. Students split their time between classroom instruction, lab and simulation practice, and supervised rotations in hospitals, long-term care facilities, and physicians' offices. The program holds ACEN accreditation and full approval from the New Mexico Board of Nursing, and graduates are prepared for the NCLEX-PN. A nursing bridge pathway gives graduates a route to continue their education.

  • Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Carrington College-Albuquerque
    • ACEN accredited and approved by the New Mexico Board of Nursing
    • 12-month certificate pathway to entry-level LPN roles
    • Clinical rotations in hospitals, long-term care and physicians' offices
    • Simulation and lab-based training alongside coursework
    • Covers medical surgical, mental health, pediatric and geriatric nursing
    • Nursing bridge pathway for continued education
    • Financial aid and scholarships available
    Visit Website
CL

Clovis Community College

Clovis, NM · under $5,000/yr (est.) · NCLEX-PN pass rate 100% (3-yr weighted avg)

Hispanic-Serving Institution
Best for: Cohort-based learners who prefer structured semester starts

Clovis Community College awards a Certificate of Completion in Practical Nursing that runs as a cohort, with students moving through the program together. The curriculum covers nursing concepts, nursing practice, pharmacology, intravenous therapy, assessment, and professional nursing. Clinical rotations span geriatric, adult, and pediatric nursing, obstetrics and gynecology, public health, home health and hospice, psychiatric care, emergency medicine, and intensive care. Applicants typically complete 17 credit hours of prerequisites before starting, and many graduates continue into the associate degree nursing pathway.

  • Certificate of Completion in Practical Nursing — On-Campus
    Clovis Community College
    • 17 credit hours of prerequisite coursework required
    • Clinical rotations in geriatric, adult and pediatric nursing
    • Rotations include obstetrics, public health, hospice and psychiatric care
    • Cohort-based structure with fall and spring start dates
    • Coursework in nursing concepts, pharmacology and IV therapy
    • Military benefits accepted
    • Nursing scholarships and special loans available
    • Graduates often continue into the associate degree nursing pathway
    Visit Website
SO

Southeast New Mexico College

Carlsbad, NM · ~$6,000/yr (est.) · NCLEX-PN pass rate 100%

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Southeast New Mexico College in Carlsbad offers a career-ladder Certificate in Practical Nursing that prepares students for LPN licensure and can be extended toward an associate degree. The curriculum includes pharmacology, mental health, and maternal-child nursing, with clinical placements built on partnerships with hospitals across southeastern New Mexico and southwest Texas. The program emphasizes community-focused learning for rural and underserved populations and holds full approval from the New Mexico Board of Nursing. An entrance exam and prerequisite coursework are required before admission.

  • Licensed Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Southeast New Mexico College
    • Career-ladder certificate that can continue into an associate degree
    • Clinical partnerships with hospitals in southeast New Mexico and west Texas
    • Curriculum covers pharmacology, mental health and maternal-child nursing
    • Entrance exam and prerequisite coursework required
    • New Mexico Board of Nursing approval renewed through 2028
    • Community-focused training for rural and underserved populations
    • Graduates work in hospitals, physician offices, home health and hospice
    Visit Website
NE

New Mexico State University-Dona Ana

Las Cruces, NM · $2,000 – $6,000/yr (est.) · NCLEX-PN pass rate 98.3% (3-yr weighted avg)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

New Mexico State University's Dona Ana campus in Las Cruces awards a Licensed Practical Nurse Certificate of Completion that readies students for the workforce after the practical nursing sequence. The curriculum covers foundations of nursing, pharmacology, medical-surgical care, psychiatric mental health nursing, and maternal and child health, with clinical labs and hospital placements. It also functions as a stepping stone into the Associate Degree in Nursing, and the courses mirror those taught at NMSU's main campus. Admission is selective and requires a minimum 2.0 GPA with a C+ or better in required courses.

  • Licensed Practical Nurse Certificate of Completion — On-Campus
    New Mexico State University-Dona Ana
    • Built from the first two ADN semesters plus maternal and child health
    • Selective admission with a 2.0 GPA minimum
    • C+ or better required in prerequisite coursework
    • Courses identical to NMSU main campus sections
    • Pathway into the Associate Degree in Nursing
    • Covers pharmacology, medical-surgical and psychiatric mental health nursing
    • Clinical lab and hospital practice included
    • General education requirements built into the certificate
    Visit Website
PI

Pima Medical Institute-Albuquerque

Albuquerque, NM · $21,000/yr (est. net price) · NCLEX-PN pass rate 83% (3-yr weighted avg)

Pima Medical Institute's Albuquerque campus offers a practical nursing certificate that can be completed in about 12 months. Coursework covers anatomy and physiology, microbiology, pharmacology, nutrition, and medical terminology, then moves into nursing fundamentals, physical assessment, medical-surgical, maternal-child, and mental health nursing. Hands-on training happens in simulation labs and through more than 400 hours of supervised clinical rotations in hospitals, long-term care, and outpatient settings. The program is approved by the New Mexico Board of Nursing and prepares graduates for the NCLEX-PN.

  • Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Pima Medical Institute-Albuquerque
    • 12-month certificate leading to the NCLEX-PN
    • More than 400 supervised clinical hours
    • Simulation labs plus hospital and long-term care rotations
    • On-ground and hybrid delivery options
    • Approved by the New Mexico Board of Nursing
    • Coursework covers pharmacology, nutrition and medical terminology
    • Career services support for job placement
    • Financial aid and scholarships available
    Visit Website
CE

Central New Mexico Community College

Albuquerque, NM · under $5,000/yr (est.) · NCLEX-PN pass rate 80%

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Central New Mexico Community College in Albuquerque runs a limited-entry Practical Nursing certificate that blends classroom theory, lab work, and supervised clinical experience. Students study anatomy, physiology, nutrition, psychology, dosage calculations, and nursing care across the lifespan, with an emphasis on communication and critical thinking. The 48-credit program is ACEN accredited and meets New Mexico Board of Nursing requirements, and admission requires proficiency prerequisites in biology and chemistry. Graduates commonly move into nursing homes, clinics, and long-term care roles, and the certificate stacks into an ADN and eventually a BSN.

  • Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Central New Mexico Community College
    ACEN accredited
    • 48 total credit hours
    • ACEN accredited and meets New Mexico Board of Nursing requirements
    • Limited-entry program with a separate application for acceptance
    • Prerequisites in biology and chemistry required
    • Classroom, lab and clinical instruction
    • Coursework includes dosage calculations and lifespan nursing care
    • Pathway to ADN and BSN study
    • Careers in nursing homes, clinics and long-term care
    Visit Website
BR

Brookline College-Albuquerque

Albuquerque, NM · ~$37,000/yr (est.) · NCLEX-PN pass rate 77.9% (3-yr weighted avg)

Brookline College's Albuquerque campus offers a 48-week practical nursing diploma designed as an accelerated route into LPN practice. The curriculum covers nursing fundamentals, pharmacology, medical-surgical care, maternal-newborn, pediatrics, and mental health, with virtual reality, high-fidelity simulation, and supervised clinical rotations at hospitals and long-term care facilities. The Caritas Principles framework shapes the program's approach to patient-centered care, and NCLEX-PN preparation is woven through the coursework. Academic tutoring and coaching are available for students who need extra support.

  • Practical Nursing Program, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Brookline College-Albuquerque
    • 48-week accelerated diploma
    • Virtual reality and high-fidelity simulation training
    • NCLEX-PN preparation integrated through the curriculum
    • Supervised clinical rotations at hospitals and long-term care facilities
    • Caritas Principles framework for patient-centered care
    • Academic tutoring and coaching available
    • Financial aid available for those who qualify
    Visit Website
SA

Santa Fe Community College

Santa Fe, NM · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Santa Fe Community College's Practical Nursing certificate offers a focused entry into nursing for students in northern New Mexico. The program is part of the New Mexico Nursing Education Consortium and uses a concept-based curriculum covering nursing concepts, pharmacology, health and illness topics, chronic care, and emergency medicine. Instruction combines classroom work with clinical experience on the Santa Fe campus, and graduates are prepared for entry-level roles in hospitals, clinics, nursing homes, and home healthcare. The certificate also serves as a stepping stone to SFCC's Associate Degree in Nursing.

  • Practical Nursing, Certificate — On-Campus
    Santa Fe Community College
    • Part of the New Mexico Nursing Education Consortium concept curriculum
    • Coursework in pharmacology, chronic care and emergency medicine
    • Classroom instruction plus clinical experience
    • Entrance exam required (HESI)
    • Fall and spring application periods
    • Pathway to the Associate Degree in Nursing at SFCC
    • Financial aid and scholarships may be available
    Visit Website

Most Affordable LPN Programs in New Mexico

The net price figures below reflect the average cost after institutional and federal financial aid, based on data from the U.S. Department of Education (IPEDS, 2024). Because net price accounts for grants and scholarships each student actually receives, your out-of-pocket cost may be higher or lower than the amounts shown. Treat these numbers as useful estimates for comparison, not as guaranteed prices.

SchoolCityIn-State TuitionOut-of-State TuitionEstimated Net Price
Central New Mexico Community CollegeAlbuquerque$2,060$8,684$4,621
Southeast New Mexico CollegeCarlsbad$1,968$4,008$5,734
New Mexico State University, Dona AnaLas Cruces$2,718$6,360$6,048
New Mexico Junior CollegeHobbs$1,920$2,280$6,524
New Mexico State University, AlamogordoAlamogordo$3,000$6,072$7,369

Quickest Paths to an LPN Certificate in New Mexico

The length of an LPN program determines how soon you can sit for the NCLEX-PN and start earning, so understanding the realistic timelines at each New Mexico school, and how they compare with the fastest LPN/LVN programs of 2026, helps you plan around work, family, and finances.

Standalone Certificate Programs: 11 to 15 Months

Most full-time, campus-based LPN certificates in New Mexico run about 12 months, though the actual range spans roughly 11 to 15 months depending on the school's academic calendar and semester structure. Two programs illustrate the range:

  • Central New Mexico Community College (CNM): Among the best LPN programs in Albuquerque, the Practical Nursing certificate requires 48 credit hours delivered on campus across approximately three semesters. Students regularly ask, "How long is the CNM nursing program?" For the PN track specifically, expect around 12 months of full-time study. CNM has not published a formal evening or weekend cohort for the PN certificate, so plan on weekday classroom, lab, and clinical commitments.
  • Brookline College, Albuquerque: This 48-credit diploma spans 48 weeks (three semesters) with year-round enrollment, totaling 1,110 instructional hours. Brookline uses a blended format that pairs flexible online coursework with in-person skills labs and clinical rotations at local sites. Clinical shifts may land on weekdays or weekends, but the school does not advertise separate evening-only or weekend-only tracks.

ADN Programs with an LPN Exit Point

Some associate degree nursing programs let you "exit" after the first year with eligibility to take the NCLEX-PN, then return later to finish the RN portion. This path typically adds time on the front end because the curriculum is sequenced for a two-year degree, and the first-year coursework may not be as tightly compressed as a standalone certificate. The trade-off: you gain a built-in bridge to RN licensure without having to apply to separate New Mexico LPN to RN bridge programs later.

Speed Is Not the Only Variable

A 48-week schedule looks appealing, but the clinical hour load in that window deserves close attention. New Mexico programs must meet minimum clinical requirements set by the Board of Nursing, and those hours are non-negotiable. If you miss clinical days, you make them up before advancing to the next semester, which can push your actual completion date beyond the advertised timeline. Scheduling flexibility, commute to clinical sites, and your ability to study full time matter just as much as the number on the brochure.

Selecting the Right LPN Program for Your Situation

Four factors do most of the work when narrowing a shortlist of LPN programs: accreditation status, clinical site quality, schedule flexibility, and whether the program connects to further education.

Accreditation and NMBON Approval

Any program you consider must carry New Mexico Board of Nursing approval: NMBON approval, not national accreditation, determines NCLEX-PN eligibility in this state. Before enrolling, call or check with the NMBON directly to confirm a program's current standing rather than relying solely on a school's marketing page. Programs occasionally lose or gain approval status, and that detail matters more than almost anything else on your checklist.

Clinical Sites and Schedule Fit

Look closely at where LPN/LVN Clinical Rotations actually happen. Doña Ana Community College, for example, places students in Las Cruces or El Paso, so proximity and transportation matter if you're commuting. Ask how far you'll need to travel, how rotations are scheduled around your work life, and whether evening, weekend, or hy-flex formats are genuinely available or just advertised.

Can You Take LPN Classes Online in New Mexico?

Not entirely, and that's true statewide, not just at one school. Clinical hours require in-person, hands-on supervision at a healthcare site, full stop. What varies is the didactic side. Doña Ana CC runs a hy-flex model where theory lectures happen live online while everything else, labs, check-offs, simulations, exams, and weekly clinicals, stays in person. Brookline College in Albuquerque uses a blended format mixing online coursework with on-campus labs and supervised clinicals. Pima Medical Institute is on-ground with some hybrid elements but cannot be completed solely through distance education. If a program claims to be fully online, treat that as a red flag worth investigating before you enroll.

Certificate vs. Career-Ladder Pathways

Finally, consider where you want to be in five years. A standalone LPN certificate gets you licensed fastest, but an associate degree program with an LPN exit point functions as an LPN to RN Bridge Program: you can stop, work as an LPN, and later resume coursework toward an RN without restarting your education from scratch. For career-minded students, that built-in bridge can be worth more than a slightly shorter timeline.

LPN Certificate vs. Associate Degree With LPN Exit Point

New Mexico nursing students generally choose between two routes to NCLEX-PN eligibility: a standalone LPN certificate or an Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) program that includes an LPN exit option. Both pathways qualify graduates to sit for the NCLEX-PN, but they differ meaningfully in duration, cost, and long-term career positioning. Central New Mexico Community College (CNM) and several other state institutions offer dedicated LPN certificate tracks, while some ADN programs across the state allow students to exit after completing the practical nursing coursework, earn an LPN credential, and return later to finish the associate degree and pursue NCLEX-RN eligibility.

DimensionStandalone LPN CertificateADN Program with LPN Exit Option
Typical Program Length10 to 14 months of full-time study2 to 3 years total; LPN exit point usually falls around 12 months into the program
Estimated Tuition and FeesRoughly $5,000 to $12,000 at New Mexico community colleges, though costs vary by institution$10,000 to $20,000 or more for the full ADN; tuition through the LPN exit point is comparable to a standalone certificate
Credential EarnedPractical Nursing Certificate (eligible for NCLEX-PN only)LPN certificate at the exit point, plus an Associate Degree in Nursing if the student completes the full program (eligible for both NCLEX-PN and NCLEX-RN)
NCLEX Eligibility TimelineEligible to take the NCLEX-PN immediately upon program completionEligible for the NCLEX-PN at the LPN exit point; NCLEX-RN eligibility requires completing the remaining ADN coursework
Career Ladder ConvenienceStudents who later want to become RNs must apply separately to an LPN-to-RN bridge program, which adds time and may require additional prerequisitesStudents can re-enter the same ADN program to complete their associate degree, creating a more seamless path to RN licensure without restarting admissions
National Median Wage OutlookLPN median annual wage is approximately $62,340 nationally (May 2024 BLS data)RNs who complete the full ADN earn a national median of roughly $93,600, nearly 50 percent more than the LPN median
Projected Job Growth (2024 to 2034)LPN employment is expected to grow about 2.6 percent nationally, with an estimated 54,400 annual openingsRN employment is projected to grow approximately 4.9 percent nationally, with roughly 189,100 annual openings

Steps to Become a Licensed Practical Nurse in New Mexico

What are the requirements to become an LPN in New Mexico? The path involves completing approved coursework, meeting clinical compliance standards (background checks, CPR certification, immunizations), passing a national licensing exam, and applying to the New Mexico Board of Nursing. Most candidates move from first prerequisite course to active license in roughly two to three years.

Six-step timeline from prerequisites through LPN licensure to optional RN bridge in New Mexico, with time estimates for each stage

New Mexico LPN Licensure and NMBON Requirements

Before you can practice as a Licensed Practical Nurse in New Mexico, you must meet every requirement set by the New Mexico Board of Nursing (NMBON). Use this checklist to track your progress from program completion through active licensure.

  • Graduate from an NMBON-approved practical nursing program
    Your nursing program must hold current approval from the New Mexico Board of Nursing. The board requires either a certification of eligibility for graduation or an official transcript before it will authorize you to sit for the licensing exam.
  • Submit an NMBON licensure application with the $110 fee
    The initial application fee is $110. This covers one year plus the remaining months until your birth month, at which point your renewal cycle begins. The fee is non-refundable and may be prorated to align with that renewal period.
  • Complete a criminal background check ($59 fingerprint fee)
    All applicants must pass a state and national criminal background check. You will schedule a fingerprinting appointment, pay the $59 processing fee directly, and visit an approved fingerprint location. Some sites may charge an additional facility fee. Your background check must be cleared by the board before you receive permission to test.
  • Register for and pass the NCLEX-PN
    Once the board has your completed application, transcript or graduation certification, and approved background check on file, you will receive authorization to test. Register with Pearson VUE for the NCLEX-PN and schedule your exam at an available testing center.
  • Understand New Mexico's Nurse Licensure Compact status
    New Mexico is a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). If your primary state of residence is New Mexico and you meet compact eligibility criteria, your LPN license functions as a multistate license, allowing you to practice in other NLC member states without obtaining additional licenses. This is a significant advantage for LPNs near border communities or those interested in travel nursing assignments.
  • Meet continuing education requirements for renewal
    To renew your LPN license, you must complete 30 hours of approved continuing education within the 24 months immediately before your license expires. All CE must be uploaded to CE Broker before you submit your renewal application. The renewal fee is $110. Hours may be prorated if your initial licensure period was shorter than a full cycle.

What LPNs Earn Across New Mexico

How much do LPNs make in New Mexico? According to the most recent Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2025), the median annual wage for licensed practical nurses in the state is $59,330. That figure sits slightly above the national LPN median of roughly $59,730, placing New Mexico wages in line with the broader U.S. market. With approximately 2,460 LPNs employed statewide, earnings vary considerably by experience, employer type, and region. The table below breaks down key wage percentiles so you can see the full spectrum, from entry level to top earners.

Wage PercentileAnnual SalaryApproximate Hourly Rate
10th Percentile (entry level)Data not reported at this percentileN/A
25th Percentile$39,370$18.93
50th Percentile (median)$59,330$28.52
75th Percentile$73,090$35.14
90th Percentile (top earners)Data not reported at this percentileN/A
Statewide Mean$58,630$28.19
New Mexico's participation in the Nurse Licensure Compact means a single LPN license can open doors to practice across more than 40 states, a major advantage for nurses in a state where rural demand continues to outpace supply.
practicalnursing.org editorial team

Recent Articles

In this article

Follow us