Fewer than 150 new practical nurses enter Hawaii's workforce in a typical year, a bottleneck created by a program count that hasn't grown in over a decade even as hospitals, care homes, and home health agencies across the islands report steady LPN vacancies. That mismatch between seat capacity and clinical demand means admission is competitive and waitlists are common, particularly at the community college programs anchoring O'ahu's training pipeline.
The practical tension for most applicants isn't whether to become an LPN in Hawaii, it's which program actually gets them licensed on schedule. NCLEX-PN pass rates vary between the state's approved programs, and that gap translates directly into how fast a graduate can start earning.
With so few programs to choose from, the quality of each one carries outsized weight on a prospective nurse's timeline and budget.
Top Hawaii LPN Programs by NCLEX-PN Pass Rate
Hawaii keeps a short list of practical nursing programs, and this ranking looks at them through one lens: how their graduates perform on the NCLEX-PN. Where a program publishes its own first-time pass results, the numbers are strong. Where program-level results are not reported, that gap is stated plainly rather than rounded up to a perfect score.
How we ranked these
- Institution-wide graduation rates weighed most
- Retention rates and student-faculty ratios
- Accreditation and state board approval
- NCLEX-PN first-time pass rates
- Net price and program affordability
- IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
- NCLEX first-time pass rates published by the state boards of nursing — ncsbn.org
- Internal program database
- Independent editorial research
Kapiolani Community College
Kapiolani Community College is the main practical nursing pipeline on Oahu, offering a Board of Nursing-approved certificate that runs a spring cohort at its Diamond Head campus and a fall cohort hosted at Leeward Community College. Recent state figures credit the program with a 100% first-time NCLEX-PN pass rate across 23 candidates in 2024, though Hawaii's program-level reporting has been inconsistent from year to year. The nursing department folds the certificate into a broader ladder that includes a bridge for licensed practical nurses moving toward RN preparation, and applicants can get advising through the health careers counseling center. Starting with the spring 2026 cycle, the LPN bridge no longer requires the previous 480 hours of recent work experience as a nurse aide or clinical assistant.
- Approved by the Hawaii State Board of Nursing
- Spring admits at Diamond Head; fall cohort hosted at Leeward CC
- Selective admissions with a 2.5 GPA minimum
- ATI TEAS entrance exam required and taken in person on campus
- Prerequisite coursework required before entry
- Prepares candidates for NCLEX-PN licensure
- LPN-to-RN transition available through the Bridge for LPNs
- Military benefits, financial aid and nursing scholarships accepted
Practical Nursing Certificate of Achievement (PRCN) — On-Campus
University of Hawaii Maui College
University of Hawaii Maui College runs its practical nursing certificate from Kahului with a single spring admission cycle, and the curriculum is aligned to the statewide nursing curriculum shared across the UH system. Coursework combines classroom theory, lab practice and clinical rotations at local hospitals, clinics and home health agencies, with small cohorts and placements close to campus. Program-level NCLEX-PN pass rates for Maui are not broken out in the state reporting we reviewed, so readers should ask the department directly for its most recent first-time results. Local reporting has also described a Maui pathway that lets students keep working as CNAs while enrolled, with tuition and books subsidized in some cohorts.
- Spring admission only, with an application deadline in late January
- TEAS entrance exam required for admission
- Prerequisite courses must be completed before entry
- Aligned to the Hawaii Statewide Nursing Curriculum
- Prepares graduates for NCLEX-PN licensure
- Clinical placements in hospitals, clinics and home health agencies
- Small class sizes with clinical sites in the local community
- Continues into an Associate in Science in Nursing pathway
Practical Nurse Certificate of Achievement — On-Campus
How We Ranked These Programs
What criteria actually separate a strong LPN program from a mediocre one? Our methodology centers on the metric that matters most for career-ready graduates: NCLEX-PN performance.
Weighting That Reflects Real Outcomes
Roughly three-quarters of each program's composite score derives from the Hawaii Board of Nursing's most recent three years of first-time pass rates, weighted by the number of test-takers in each cohort. This approach rewards consistent performance over time rather than a single standout year. Accreditation status and a smaller completion and retention component round out the remaining quarter.
Understanding the Cost and Graduation Figures
Net price figures shown are institution-wide averages after financial aid, pulled from federal data. They are not LPN-program-specific quotes. Your actual tuition depends on residency, aid eligibility, and whether you enroll full or part time. Similarly, graduation rates reflect the broader institution as reported to IPEDS, offering context about the school's overall student support rather than a direct measure of practical nursing program completion.
Why Transparency Matters
Many competitor lists rank programs without disclosing their criteria, leaving readers guessing whether placement reflects quality or advertising dollars. Our scoring formula is public, data-driven, and updated annually. That distinction matters when you are investing time and money in a credential that shapes your career trajectory.
Quick Questions About Hawaii LPN Programs
Hawaii has a limited number of approved practical nursing programs, which means doing your homework early matters. Below are the questions prospective students ask most often, answered with the latest available program data.
Are there any approved LPN programs in Hawaii right now?
Yes, but options are limited. Kapi'olani Community College (KCC) in Honolulu offers an approved Practical Nursing Certificate of Achievement, and Kauai Community College also has a practical nursing track. Because the state has so few seats, competition for admission can be stiff. Check each school's application window well in advance so you do not miss a cycle.
Can you complete an LPN program online in Hawaii?
Not fully online. As of 2026, no Hawaii LPN program offers a completely online option. KCC and other approved programs deliver coursework in person, and all require hands-on clinical rotations at local healthcare facilities. Some prerequisite general education courses may be available online through the University of Hawaii system, but the core nursing curriculum must be completed on campus.
What are the admission requirements for Hawaii LPN programs?
At KCC, applicants need a minimum 2.5 GPA in prerequisite and general education courses (with a C or higher in each), plus a 2.0 GPA across all KCC coursework. You must score at least 60 percent on the ATI TEAS exam (taken in person; scores are valid for three years). Prerequisites include English 100, Math 100 or higher, Physiology 141 and 142, a pharmacology course, and a human development course, totaling about 15 credits. A nurse aide course of at least 135 hours (or 200 hours of qualifying direct patient care experience) and 15 hours of medical terminology are also required. A background check is mandatory.
How long does it take to become an LPN in Hawaii?
Plan for roughly 12 to 18 months of full-time study once you are admitted to the nursing courses, depending on the program; for context, the Fastest LPN/LVN Programs of 2026 highlights shorter options. That timeline does not include the prerequisite coursework, which adds a semester or more if you have not already completed it. After finishing the program, you must pass the NCLEX-PN exam and apply for Hawaii licensure before you can practice; preparing with NCLEX-PN Practice Test Questions can help build confidence.
How much does LPN school cost in Hawaii?
Tuition varies by residency status and the number of credits you need. Hawaii community college resident tuition rates are among the factors that keep costs lower than many mainland programs, though total expenses also include fees, textbooks, uniforms, clinical supplies, the TEAS exam, and eventual NCLEX-PN and licensure fees. See the cost comparison section for a closer look at what students actually pay at each school.
Explore other Hawaii related topics
Related Articles
What Hawaii LPN School Really Costs
All three University of Hawai'i community colleges that offer practical nursing certificates share the same per-credit tuition rate, yet the total you pay can vary significantly once program fees, testing packages, clinical supplies, and post-graduation expenses are factored in. Hawai'i Community College is the only campus that publishes a fully itemized cost sheet for its PN program (2025-2026 figures). For UH Maui College and Honolulu Community College, only partial cost details are publicly available, so the estimates below combine confirmed figures with institution-wide averages reported to the U.S. Department of Education. Keep in mind that net price figures reflect an institution-wide average after financial aid and may not match what a given LPN student actually pays out of pocket.
| Cost Category | Hawai'i Community College (Hilo) | UH Maui College (Kahului) | Honolulu Community College (Honolulu) |
|---|---|---|---|
| In-State Tuition (per credit) | $131 | $131 | $131 |
| Out-of-State Tuition (per credit) | $345 | $345 | $345 |
| Published Annual Tuition and Fees (in-state) | $3,284 | $3,284 | $3,144 |
| Published Annual Tuition and Fees (out-of-state) | $8,420 | $8,420 | $8,280 |
| Nursing Professional Fee | Included in semester totals | $500 (non-refundable) | Not published |
| ATI Testing Package | Included in itemized total | Up to $2,000 | Not published |
| Books and Supplies | Included in $7,533 program total | Not separately itemized | ~$1,360 (campus-wide estimate) |
| Total Program Cost (in-state, before aid) | $7,533 (tuition, fees, books, uniforms, clinical supplies, background check, health clearances) | Not fully published | Not fully published |
| Post-Graduation Costs (NCLEX exam, licensing, travel) | ~$1,020 | Not published | Not published |
| Grand Total (in-state, including post-grad) | ~$8,553 | Not fully available | Not fully available |
| Institution-Wide Net Price After Aid | Not separately reported for PN | $8,061 | Not separately reported for PN |
Steps to Earning Your LPN License in Hawaii
Hawaii's path from classroom to clinical practice follows a clear sequence. Budget roughly $386 in state and exam fees, and expect four to eight weeks of processing time once your application is complete. Because Hawaii is not a Nurse Licensure Compact state in 2026, every nurse practicing here needs a Hawaii-specific license.

CNA-To-LPN Bridge Pathways on Oʻahu and Beyond
Can a working CNA in Hawaii move into an LPN role without starting a full practical nursing program from scratch? Two employer-backed bridge pathways make that possible, though availability and funding vary by island and year.
How a Bridge Differs from a Full PN Program
A traditional practical nursing program typically runs 11 to 14 months and assumes no prior clinical background. Bridge pathways compress the timeline by recognizing skills CNAs already hold, such as vital signs, patient mobility, and documentation. Students focus on the pharmacology, IV therapy, and clinical decision-making content that separates LPN scope from CNA scope. The result is roughly the same 12-month commitment, but with an earn-and-learn structure that lets participants keep working part time while enrolled.
Ohana Pacific Health CNA-to-LPN Bridge
Ohana Pacific Health partners with the University of Hawaiʻi Maui College to deliver a hybrid bridge program across four islands, including Oʻahu , home to Best LPN Programs in Honolulu 2026 , plus Maui, Kauaʻi, and Hawaiʻi Island. Key details include:
- Duration: Approximately 12 months of online coursework plus in-person labs and clinicals at host sites.
- Credential: Certificate of Achievement in Practical Nursing from UH Maui College, which positions graduates to apply for the NCLEX-PN and later pursue LPN to RN Hawaii programs.
- Eligibility: Must be an OPH-employed CNA in good standing, at least 18 years old, with a high school diploma or equivalent, a current Hawaii CNA certification, completed prerequisites, and a passing TEAS score.
- Cost: Tuition is covered through OPH's tuition assistance program for eligible employees.
- Timeline: Applications for the January 2027 cohort open in September 2026. Cohorts have run annually since January 2023, though future funding is not guaranteed indefinitely.
HAH Statewide Glidepath
The Healthcare Association of Hawaii runs a broader CNA-to-LPN glidepath that extends to five islands, including Molokaʻi. The program follows a similar hybrid, earn-and-learn model with online lectures and in-person clinicals at partner facilities. HAH reported 55 graduates as of December 2025, with additional cohorts enrolled. However, dedicated funding was confirmed only through 2025, so prospective students should verify 2026 and 2027 enrollment availability directly with HAH.
Enrollment Realities
Both programs are limited-enrollment pipelines, not open-admission schools. Seats depend on employer sponsorship, clinical site capacity, and grant funding cycles. Interested CNAs should attend information sessions early, complete prerequisites well ahead of deadlines, and have backup plans in case a cohort fills or pauses.
Hawaii LPN Career Outlook and Return on Investment
Return on investment for an LPN program means weighing what you pay in tuition against how fast your paycheck covers that cost once you're licensed. In Hawaii, that math tends to favor Licensed Practical Nurse careers more than in many mainland markets.
Nationally, the Bureau of Labor Statistics projects licensed practical and vocational nurse employment to grow about 3% between 2025 and 2035, with roughly 51,800 openings a year across the country as facilities replace retiring nurses and expand long-term care capacity.1 Hawaii doesn't publish its own state-level growth forecast, but wage data confirms strong local demand: the state's LPNs earn a mean wage near $71,560 annually, with half earning between roughly $62,460 and $75,2502, figures that run above the national mean hourly wage of about $32.24.3
Where Hawaii LPNs Work
Most Hawaii graduates find work in long-term care and skilled nursing facilities, hospitals, and home health or hospice agencies, roles that include LPNs in Hospice Care. O'ahu's concentration of hospitals and care facilities drives the bulk of hiring, but neighbor islands, especially Maui and Hawaii Island, see steady demand too, since rural and kupuna-heavy communities depend heavily on home health and nursing-home staffing.
Reading the Earnings Data Correctly
When comparing schools, be cautious with any earnings figure labeled as covering "all graduates" of an institution. That kind of schoolwide number blends LPN completers with graduates of unrelated programs, business, culinary, IT, and tells you little about actual practical nursing pay. Where a program discloses earnings specific to its practical nursing completers, that figure is far more useful for judging real ROI, since it reflects what LPN graduates from that program actually earned in their first year or two after finishing. Combined with Hawaii's above-average wages, a reasonably priced local program can put graduates on solid financial footing within a year or two of licensure.
Hawaii LPN Salary at a Glance
Hawaii LPNs earn well above the national average.
Licensure Details: Fees, NLC Status, and Out-Of-State Transfers
Is Hawaii part of the Nurse Licensure Compact, and what does that mean for an LPN moving to the islands? As of 2025 to 2026, Hawaii is not an NLC member and has not enacted compact legislation. That means there is no Hawaii-issued multistate LPN license, and a multistate license from another state will not authorize practice in Hawaii. Any LPN relocating here must obtain a Hawaii-specific license before working.
Applying for a Hawaii LPN License
New graduates apply by examination through the Hawaii Professional and Vocational Licensing (MyPVL) portal at pvl.ehawaii.gov/mypvl/. The required national exam is the NCLEX-PN. Registration for that exam is paid separately to Pearson VUE. An LPN license application costs $136, the NCLEX-PN registration fee is $200, and fingerprinting adds $50, for a total of $386; processing typically takes four to eight weeks, while renewal fees should be confirmed on MyPVL and Pearson VUE before paying.
Hawaii LPN applicants must be at least 18, have a valid Social Security number and U.S. work authorization, complete an approved practical nursing program, and hold an unencumbered license if already licensed elsewhere. The Board also requires an NPDB self-query and verification of exam, education, and licensure from the original state.
Endorsement for Out-of-State LPNs
Hawaii uses endorsement, not NLC reciprocity, so out-of-state LPNs qualify through LPN/LVN Reciprocity rather than compact privileges. Under Act 95, Session Laws of Hawaii 2024, out-of-state LPNs can apply for a temporary permit and license by endorsement in a single application for one nonrefundable fee. You can start the endorsement application through MyPVL and should plan for verification requests to take additional time. Processing times vary by application volume and completeness; MyPVL shows current status after you submit.
Renewal and Continuing Education
Renewal is handled through MyPVL. Verify the current renewal cycle, fee, and any continuing education requirements directly on the portal, since exact requirements are not listed here. For questions, contact the Hawaii Board of Nursing at P.O. Box 3469, Honolulu, HI 96801 or (808) 586-3000.







