Nearly every hospital and long-term care facility in the country reports openings for certified nursing assistants right now, and federal projections point to steady demand through the decade. Yet not every CNA course leads to the same outcome. State boards only recognize training completed through an approved program, and skipping that check can mean a wasted certificate and an exam application that gets rejected outright.
Cost adds another layer of decision-making. Among the programs reviewed here, net price after aid runs from under $3,000 to nearly $14,000, a spread wide enough to shape where someone applies before they ever look at curriculum or schedule.
That gap rarely tracks with quality. Some of the lowest-cost options post strong completion and exam pass numbers, while pricier private programs don't always outperform community and technical colleges on outcomes.
Best CNA Schools for 2027
Every school on this list offers a nursing assistant certificate that can be finished in weeks rather than semesters, with the clinical hours state boards expect before you sit for the certification exam. The entries below summarize what each program covers, how long it takes, and what it costs, so you can compare options at a glance before you request information.
How we ranked these
- Median graduate debt load
- Institution-wide graduation rates
- Program cost and length
- Clinical training requirements
- State approval for certification
- IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
- College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Internal program database
- Independent editorial research
Infinity College
Infinity College keeps its nursing assistant training short and practical: 80 clock hours, an externship, and a two-week timeline that gets students into the job market quickly. Evening classes and small cohorts are built for working adults, and coursework covers infection control, safety, personal care, communication, and basic nursing services. Institution-wide, the college reports a graduation rate of about 85 percent, and certification exam fees are billed separately from tuition.
- Two-week program totaling 80 clock hours
- Day and evening class schedules available
- Small class sizes with experienced faculty
- Includes an 80-hour externship
- Covers infection control and safety procedures
- Trains in personal care and basic nursing services
- Communication and resident rights instruction
- Certification exam fee separate from tuition
Nursing Assistant, Certificate or Diploma — Hybrid
Pima Medical Institute-Aurora
Pima Medical Institute runs its nursing assistant certificate across multiple campuses, with students finishing in about six weeks. Training blends classroom and lab work with clinical externships, covering infection control, emergency procedures, basic nursing care, and the communication skills patients notice most. Graduates are eligible to sit for the CNA exam, and the institute points students toward Federal Pell Grants and scholarships. Institution-wide, the school reports a graduation rate near 72 percent.
- Certificate completed in about six weeks
- Covers infection control and emergency procedures
- Basic nursing skills and personal care
- Communication and interpersonal skills training
- Clinical externships with hands-on training
- Graduates eligible to sit for the CNA exam
- Federal Pell Grants and scholarships may apply
- ABHES accredited program
Nursing Assistant / Nurse Aide, Certificate or Diploma — Hybrid
Pima Medical Institute-Albuquerque
This Pima Medical Institute campus delivers the same six-week nursing assistant certificate, built around hands-on training from experienced instructors plus clinical externships. Coursework covers clinical skills, soft skills such as communication and compassion, and the competencies tested on the CNA exam. Career services and financial aid guidance are available for students moving into patient care work. Institution-wide, the campus reports a graduation rate of about 68 percent.
- Certificate completed in about six weeks
- Covers clinical skills and soft skills
- Hands-on training from experienced instructors
- Clinical externships included
- Graduates eligible to sit for the CNA exam
- Career services support available
- Financial aid options available
- ABHES accredited
Nursing Assistant / Nurse Aide, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
United Technical Center
United Technical Center packs 120 hours of classroom and clinical instruction into its nursing assistant program, teaching anatomy, medical terminology, and the personal care skills used in nursing homes and hospitals. The course prepares students to sit for the nursing assistant certification exam. Applicants must pass a background check and a drug test before enrolling, so it pays to start paperwork early.
- 120 hours of classroom and clinical training
- Program cost is $1,220
- Teaches anatomy and medical terminology
- Covers basic personal care skills
- Prepares students for the certification exam
- Background check required
- Drug test required
- Evening classes available
Nursing Assistant, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Salina Area Technical College
Salina Area Technical College offers an eight-week certified nurse aide certificate that meets Kansas certification requirements, with afternoon and evening sections built for students who work during the day. The curriculum covers patient care skills, anatomy and physiology, medical terminology, and infection control, backed by supervised clinical hours. A two-day refresher course is available for aides returning to the field. Institution-wide, the college reports a graduation rate of about 68 percent.
- Eight-week certificate program
- Program cost is $774
- 25 hours of supervised clinical experience
- Afternoon and evening class options
- Meets Kansas state certification requirements
- Covers patient care, anatomy, and infection control
- Medical terminology and long-term care focus
- Two-day refresher course available for $139
Certified Nurse Aide, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Fort Myers Technical College
Fort Myers Technical College runs a 165-hour nursing assistant program over roughly six weeks, combining classroom instruction with clinical rotations in patient care, medical terminology, and CPR. Graduates are prepared for the Florida nurse aide exam, and the college reports an institution-wide graduation rate of about 81 percent. Admission steps include an information session, placement testing where applicable, and health clearances before the clinical portion begins.
- 165-hour program completed in about six weeks
- Program cost is about $1,290
- Prepares students for the Florida Nurse Aide exam
- Clinical rotations included
- Covers CPR, safety, and medical terminology
- Applicants must be 18 or older with a high school diploma
- Immunizations, TB test, and background screen required
- $50 application fee plus information session required
Nursing Assistant (Articulated), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Northeast Alabama Community College
Northeast Alabama Community College treats nursing assistant training as short-term workforce preparation rather than a degree track. The non-credit course runs about 90 clock hours and leads to certification for qualified students, pairing a nursing assistant class with workforce readiness training. Institution-wide, the college reports a graduation rate close to 56 percent, so it is worth asking for completion and job placement numbers specific to this course.
- Non-credit workforce program, no degree awarded
- Approximately 90 clock hours of training
- Leads to certification for qualified students
- Includes a WorkKeys workforce readiness course
- ACEN accredited
- Entry-level employment focus
Nursing Assistant, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Columbiana County Career and Technical Center
Columbiana County Career and Technical Center delivers an 86-clock-hour certified nurse assistant course that meets Ohio Department of Health requirements, mixing classroom instruction with clinical days spent in nursing facilities. Day and evening schedules accommodate students who work, and the curriculum covers patient care, infection control, communication, resident rights, and nutrition. The adult education division reports a 98 percent completer rate along with placement and licensure figures for its cohorts.
- 86-clock-hour program meeting Ohio state requirements
- Day and evening schedule options
- Two eight-hour clinical days at nursing facilities
- Prepares students for the state CNA exam
- Infection control, resident rights, and body mechanics
- Communication skills and nutrition covered
- Requires high school diploma or GED
- Reports 98 percent completion and 80 percent placement
Certified Nurse Assistant, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
ETI Technical College
ETI Technical College offers a certified nurse aide program that prepares students for the Ohio State Test for Nurse Aides, taught over 10 classroom days plus two clinical days on a weekday schedule. Tuition is $850 with a payment plan option, and local Job and Family Services funding may cover costs for qualifying students. Applicants need a high school diploma or GED, a background check, and TB testing, so early paperwork helps. Institution-wide, the college reports a graduation rate of about 63 percent.
- Prepares students for the Ohio State Test for Nurse Aides
- Tuition is $850 with a payment plan option
- 10 classroom days plus 2 clinical days
- Weekday class schedule
- High school diploma or GED required
- BCI background check and TB testing required
- Multiple class dates offered through the year
- Job and Family Services funding may apply
State Tested Nurse Aide, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College
Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College trains certified nursing assistants for patient care in long-term care and home health settings, blending classroom lectures with hands-on clinical practice. The curriculum covers medical terminology, healthcare safety, and everyday patient care techniques that entry-level employers expect. Institution-wide, the college reports a graduation rate of about 77 percent.
- Focus on long-term patient care settings
- Medical terminology training included
- Clinical and lecture components
- Hands-on patient care practice
- Prepares students for entry-level healthcare roles
- Covers nursing home and home health care work
Certified Nursing Assistant, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
How We Ranked These CNA Schools
This list draws on institution-level data rather than marketing claims, pulling from College Scorecard and IPEDS records maintained by the U.S. Department of Education. For each school, we looked at net price after grants and scholarships, overall graduation rate, and whether the institution offers flexible formats like evening, weekend, or hybrid online coursework alongside in-person clinical training , options that also matter for students evaluating CNA to LPN bridge programs.
Why School-Wide Averages Still Matter
A fair caveat: graduation rates and net price figures reflect the entire institution, not the CNA program specifically. Federal reporting doesn't break outcomes down to the certificate level for short programs like this one. Still, these numbers are useful proxies. A school with strong overall completion rates and manageable costs tends to have stable infrastructure, reliable financial aid processing, and support services that benefit CNA students too, including those exploring an LPN career path.
What This Ranking Doesn't Tell You
This data does not capture certification exam pass rates, clinical site quality, instructor to student ratios, or how quickly a program gets you into a lab setting. Those details vary school by school and often aren't reported publicly at all. Before enrolling, call the program directly and ask about its most recent exam pass rate, clinical placement partners, and average time to completion. Pair that conversation with your state's board of nursing website to confirm the program holds current state approval. The data here narrows your list; your own questions should close the gap.
What to Look for in a State-Approved CNA Program
What does "state-approved" actually mean when you're choosing a CNA program? It means the program has been reviewed by your state's nurse aide registry or Board of Nursing and meets that state's minimum training hour requirement, not just a school's own internal standard. Completing an unapproved program, even a well-taught one, can leave you ineligible to sit for the certification exam or get listed on the state registry.
Federal Floor vs. State Reality
Federal law (OBRA) sets a floor of 75 total hours, including at least 16 supervised clinical hours, but that floor only applies to programs tied to Medicare or Medicaid certified facilities. States are free to require more, and most do. The next section breaks down hour requirements state by state, and the range is wide: some programs sit near the 75-hour minimum, while others run well past 150 hours once classroom and clinical time are combined.
Accreditation Is Not the Same as State Approval
Accreditation and state approval are separate things. A program can carry an educational accreditation without being state-approved for CNA certification, and vice versa. State approval is the one that determines whether your training counts toward the certification exam and registry listing, so treat it as the non-negotiable credential. Clinical-hour minimums matter here too: hands-on time with patients under supervision is what builds real competency, not just classroom hours.
Verify Before You Enroll
Before paying a deposit, confirm a program's approval status directly through your state's Board of Nursing or Health Department website. Program marketing doesn't always reflect current approval status, and requirements do change.
CNA Training Hour Requirements by State
Federal regulations under 42 CFR §483.151 set a floor of 75 total training hours, including at least 16 hours of supervised clinical practice. Many states exceed this baseline significantly. Maine requires the most training at 180 hours, while Missouri (175 hours), Oregon (155 hours), California (150 hours), and Delaware (150 hours) also stand out for their demanding requirements. States at or near the federal floor of 75 hours include Alabama, Colorado, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, and South Dakota. Because state nursing boards update their requirements periodically, always verify the current minimums with your state's board of nursing before enrolling in a program.
| State | Total Minimum Hours | Clinical Hours | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | 75 | 16 | At the federal minimum. Requires 16 hours of lab instruction before direct resident contact. |
| Alaska | 140 | 80 | Nearly double the federal floor, with substantial clinical time. |
| Arizona | 120 | 40 | |
| Arkansas | 90 | 16 | |
| California | 150 | 100 | One of the highest clinical hour requirements in the country. |
| Colorado | 75 | 16 | At the federal minimum. |
| Connecticut | 100 | 50 | |
| Delaware | 150 | 75 | Tied with California for highest total hours. |
| District of Columbia | 120 | 75 | |
| Florida | 120 | 40 | |
| Georgia | 85 | 24 | |
| Hawaii | 100 | 70 | |
| Idaho | 120 | 32 | |
| Illinois | 120 | 40 | |
| Indiana | 105 | 75 | |
| Iowa | 75 | 30 | Meets the federal total but exceeds the clinical minimum. |
| Kansas | 90 | 45 | |
| Kentucky | 75 | 16 | At the federal minimum. |
| Louisiana | 80 | 40 | |
| Maine | 180 | 70 | Highest total hour requirement of any state. |
| Maryland | 100 | 40 | |
| Massachusetts | 75 | 16 | At the federal minimum. |
| Michigan | 75 | 16 | At the federal minimum. |
| Minnesota | 75 | 16 | At the federal minimum. |
| Mississippi | 75 | 16 | At the federal minimum. |
| Missouri | 175 | 100 | Second highest total, tied with California for clinical hours. |
| Montana | 75 | 25 | |
| Nebraska | 75 | 16 | At the federal minimum. |
| Nevada | 75 | N/A | State does not specify a separate clinical hour minimum in available summaries. |
| New Hampshire | 100 | 60 | |
| New Jersey | 90 | 40 | |
| New Mexico | 75 | N/A | State does not specify a separate clinical hour minimum in available summaries. |
| New York | 100 | 30 | |
| Ohio | 75 | 16 | At the federal minimum. |
| Oklahoma | 75 | 16 | At the federal minimum. |
| Oregon | 155 | 75 | Among the top five for total training hours. |
| Pennsylvania | 80 | 37.5 | |
| Rhode Island | 100 | 20 | |
| South Carolina | 100 | 40 | |
| South Dakota | 75 | 16 | At the federal minimum. |
| Tennessee | 75 | 35 | Meets the federal total but more than doubles the clinical minimum. |
| Texas | 100 | 40 | |
| Utah | 100 | 24 | |
| Vermont | 80 | 30 | |
| Virginia | 120 | 40 | |
| Washington | 85 | 50 | |
| West Virginia | 120 | 55 |
CNA Program Costs and Financial Aid
Your total out-of-pocket CNA program cost includes tuition, fees, uniforms, background checks, and exam costs, minus any aid you receive, and it varies more than most prospective students expect. Among the top-ranked programs, net price after aid ran from roughly $2,200 to $6,300, with community college programs generally landing at the low end and private or technical training centers pushing higher.
Community College vs. Private Training
Community colleges typically charge $500 to $2,000 for a CNA certificate, since state subsidies and local workforce funding offset much of the cost. Private training centers, by contrast, often run $1,000 to $5,000 or more, especially when the program bundles fast-track scheduling, smaller class sizes, or built-in exam prep. Neither format guarantees a better outcome, so weigh price against clinical hours and pass rates, not just the sticker number.
Free and Government-Funded Paths
Several no-cost or low-cost routes exist if you qualify:
- WIOA-funded training: Covers up to 100% of tuition, books, uniforms, supplies, and state exam fees for unemployed or underemployed workers, dislocated workers, low-income applicants, youth 16-24 not in school or working, veterans, and foster youth. Programs like Petion Institute in Indiana and Winder CNA Training in Georgia participate, though Winder requires written WIOA approval before you register.
- Employer-sponsored training: Medicaid-certified nursing facilities must reimburse CNA training costs, sometimes 100%, within 12 months if you're hired after paying your own way, under federal nursing-home regulations.
- Free CNA programs: Options such as Elevate CNA Certification Training and LMCC CNA Training charge nothing for tuition, textbooks, scrubs, supplies, and exam fees for eligible applicants (unemployed, CalWORKs/TANF recipients, veterans, or foster youth).
- Red Cross CNA courses: Available in select states, sometimes with scholarship or aid options layered on top of standard tuition.
Pell Grants and Federal Aid
Longer, credit-bearing community college CNA certificates often qualify for Pell Grants. Shorter non-credit programs, common at technical centers and hospitals, frequently fall outside federal aid eligibility, so ask directly before assuming a program qualifies.
Most Affordable CNA Programs at a Glance
Cost is one of the biggest deciding factors for CNA students. Below is a quick look at the five most affordable programs based on average net price, giving you a realistic sense of out-of-pocket expenses after financial aid is factored in.

How Long Are CNA Programs?
More important than the total number of weeks is how much of that time is classroom instruction, how much is bedside clinical work, and how much control you have over the pace. Most CNA programs run 4 to 12 weeks, though a handful of accelerated options advertise 2 to 4 weeks (some as tight as 15 days) for students who can attend full-time and complete requirements quickly.
Classroom Time vs. Clinical Time
Every program splits instruction into two pieces: didactic coursework covering anatomy, infection control, and patient care theory, plus supervised clinical hours where you practice hands-on skills under a nurse's supervision. Federal rules set a floor of 75 total training hours with at least 16 in clinical settings, but most states require more. A typical six-week program might run three weeks of instruction followed by three weeks of clinical rotations, while longer 12-week formats often spread coursework and clinical shifts across evenings or weekends for working students.
Why Online Doesn't Mean Fully Remote
Hybrid and online CNA programs can shrink the time you spend physically sitting in a classroom, but no state currently approves a CNA program without in-person clinical hours. Didactic content (often 40 to 60 hours) moves online, while clinical requirements, sometimes 100 hours or more depending on the state, still happen on-site at an approved facility or lab. Anyone advertising a fully online path to certification isn't offering a state-approved program.
Your State Sets the Real Timeline
Program length ultimately tracks your state's minimum hour requirements, which vary widely, from roughly 75 hours in some states to 160 hours in California. Check the state training hour table above before assuming a shorter advertised timeline applies where you live.
CNA Vs. Medical Assistant: Which Path Fits You?
What is the difference between a CNA and a medical assistant, and which career fits your goals?
Both roles offer quick entry into healthcare, but they lead to different work environments, daily tasks, and advancement paths. Understanding these distinctions helps you invest your training time wisely.
Training and Certification
CNA programs typically run four to twelve weeks, depending on state requirements, and culminate in a state competency exam administered through your state's nurse aide registry. Medical assistant programs generally take nine months to a year for a certificate or up to two years for an associate degree. MAs may pursue voluntary certification through organizations like the American Association of Medical Assistants or the American Medical Technologists, though not all employers require it.
Work Settings and Daily Tasks
CNAs work primarily in long term care facilities, nursing homes, and hospitals. Their scope centers on patient mobility, hygiene assistance, vital signs monitoring, and activities of daily living. Medical assistants work mostly in outpatient clinics, physician offices, and urgent care centers. Their duties blend administrative tasks like scheduling and medical records with basic clinical work such as taking vitals, preparing patients for exams, and sometimes drawing blood or administering injections under supervision.
Pay and Job Outlook
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the median annual wage for nursing assistants was $42,260 in May 2025, with employment projected to grow 3 percent through 2035.1 Medical assistants earned a median of $45,690 annually, with a stronger projected growth rate of 13 percent over the same period.2
Career Advancement
CNA to LPN bridge programs are well-established across most states, offering a clear pathway to practical nursing licensure. CMA to LPN bridge options exist but are less common, and credit transfer for prior medical assistant coursework varies significantly by school and state requirements. If your long-term goal is nursing licensure, the CNA route typically offers more predictable advancement.
Related Articles
Common Questions About CNA Programs
Prospective CNAs often have similar questions about training formats, costs, and how certification fits into a longer nursing career. Below are straightforward answers grounded in current federal and state requirements as of 2026.
Can you get CNA certified entirely online?
No. Every state requires supervised, in-person clinical hours before you can sit for the competency exam. Many programs do offer a hybrid format where the classroom or didactic portion is completed online, but you will still need to attend hands-on lab and clinical sessions at an approved facility. Any program advertising a fully online path to certification does not meet state or federal standards.
Are there free CNA programs, and how do I find them?
Yes, free training exists but tends to be local and sometimes unadvertised. Nursing homes and long-term care facilities often sponsor cohorts in exchange for a one- to two-year work commitment, as Medicare and Medicaid regulations can require facilities to cover training costs. You can also check eligibility for Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) funding through your county American Job Center. Start by reviewing your state's approved program list and reaching out directly to facility HR departments or directors of nursing.
What are the enrollment requirements for a CNA program?
Requirements vary by state, but most programs ask for a minimum age of 16 to 18, a high school diploma or GED (some states allow current students nearing graduation), a criminal background check, and health clearances such as a TB test, physical exam, and current immunizations. Certain programs also require a basic reading or math placement test. Check your state's nurse aide registry for the specific standards that apply.
How long does CNA certification last before you need to renew?
Most states operate on a two-year renewal cycle tied to the state nurse aide registry. To renew, you typically must document a minimum number of paid work hours as a CNA and complete continuing education or in-service training during that period. In Texas, for example, the requirement is roughly 24 continuing education hours per two-year cycle. Because exact renewal rules differ by state, verify the details with your state's registry well before your expiration date.
Can CNA credits transfer into an LPN or RN program?
There is no automatic transfer. CNA training is short, state-regulated vocational preparation, not standard college coursework. Whether you receive any credit or advanced standing depends entirely on the receiving nursing program's policies, and LPN to BSN programs are no exception. Some LPN or RN programs may waive an introductory lab, grant a small number of elective credits, or treat CNA certification as an admissions preference. Always confirm transfer options directly with the nursing program's registrar before enrolling.
More CNA Programs to Consider
The programs below round out the directory beyond our ranked list, arranged so you can compare formats, costs, and prerequisites at a glance. Offerings range from short continuing-education courses to for-credit certificates, and admission requirements differ from one campus to the next. Confirm that any program you are considering holds current approval from your state's nurse aide registry before you enroll.
- Nursing Assistant - One Semester
- Nursing Assistant
- Certified Nursing Assistant
- Nurse Aide Certificate
- Nurse Aide
- Certified Nurse Aide
- Certified Nurse Aide
- Nurse Aide
- Nurse Aide Certification
- Nursing Assistant
- Nursing Assistant Certificate of Proficiency
- Certified Nursing Assistant
- Level One Nursing Assistant
- Nursing Assistant
- Nursing Assistant Program
- Nursing Assistant
- Nurse Aide Program
- Nurse Aide
- Basic Nurse Aide







