Florida's practical nursing candidates face a real tension between speed and pass-rate quality: the state licenses more than 38,000 LPNs earning a median $61,770 a year, yet its 2024 first-time NCLEX-PN pass rate of roughly 80.8% trails the national benchmark. That gap makes program selection consequential.
The ranking that follows sorts Florida's accredited practical nursing programs by first-time NCLEX-PN pass rate, with completion rates and accreditation status as secondary filters. Programs cluster tightly at the top, but net prices, schedule formats, and clinical placement quality vary sharply between schools that look similar on paper.
Florida's Top 16 LPN Programs by NCLEX-PN Pass Rate
Every program here is approved to prepare students for the NCLEX-PN, and each has posted strong first-time results on the exam that stands between graduation and a Florida license. Pass rates are not the whole story, so the cards below also cover what each program teaches, how long it takes, and what graduates do next. Treat this as a starting point and confirm current tuition, cohort dates, and deadlines with each school.
How we ranked these
- Graduation rates, weighted most heavily
- Retention and student-faculty ratios
- NCLEX-PN first-time pass rates
- Accreditation and state board approval
- Program cost and length
- NCLEX first-time pass rates published by the state boards of nursing — ncsbn.org
- IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
- College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Internal program database
- Independent editorial research
Radford M Locklin Technical College
Radford M Locklin Technical College runs a 1,350-hour practical nursing certificate across three semesters, with daytime classes and a required summer session. Clinical practicums are placed with local employers, and graduates qualify for the Certified Nursing Assistant exam after the first 165 hours. Across all of its programs, the college reports an overall graduation rate of about 63%.
Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Lindsey Hopkins Technical College
Lindsey Hopkins Technical College delivers 1,350 hours of practical nursing instruction, and clinical experience makes up at least half of the program. Students rotate through hospitals, nursing homes, and clinics in medical-surgical, maternal and newborn, pediatric, and geriatric nursing. The college's overall graduation rate across all programs is about 66%.
Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Chipola College
Chipola College's practical nursing program spans three semesters and 1,350 clock hours, with clinical rotations two days a week that include evenings and weekends. The college reports a 100% first-time licensure pass rate and 100% job placement for recent graduates. Its overall graduation rate across all programs is about 53%.
Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Compu-Med Vocational Careers Corp
Compu-Med Vocational Careers takes beginners to licensed practical nurse in about 52 weeks, combining 46 credit hours of classroom theory with simulation labs and clinical rotations. Coursework covers medical terminology, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology and IV therapy, medical-surgical nursing, maternal and pediatric care, mental health, and community health. The institution's overall graduation rate is about 81%.
Practical Nursing Program, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
South Florida State College
South Florida State College offers a college credit certificate in practical nursing that can be finished in about a year, with coursework in patient care, medication administration, anatomy, physiology, and nutrition. Students complete clinical placements in hospitals, nursing homes, and clinics, and college materials cite a 100% first-time pass rate for the program. The institution's overall graduation rate is about 48%.
Practical Nursing (PN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Palm Beach State College
Palm Beach State College's one-year practical nursing career certificate combines classroom instruction with clinical training and carries Florida Board of Nursing approval. The credential transfers into the college's Associate in Science in Nursing, so graduates can keep moving toward RN licensure. The institution's overall graduation rate across all programs is about 41%.
Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Premiere International College
Premiere International College runs a practical nursing program built for people who want to enter healthcare without spending years in college. Students practice in simulation labs, then apply those skills during rotations in hospitals, long-term care, rehabilitation centers, and clinics. The curriculum points directly at the NCLEX-PN, and graduates can pursue LPN-to-RN bridge options. The institution's overall graduation rate is about 50%.
Practical Nursing Program, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Okaloosa Technical College
Okaloosa Technical College offers a practical nursing certificate, but detailed program descriptions, cost figures, and outcomes are not published in the sources reviewed for this page. The college also does not report an overall graduation rate in the federal data used here. Ask the admissions office directly for current pass rates, cohort dates, and total cost.
Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Riveroak Technical College
Riveroak Technical College offers a practical nursing certificate, and the institution reports an overall graduation rate of about 75% across all of its programs. Its student-to-faculty ratio is roughly 8 to 1, which supports small-group instruction. Program-specific cost and outcome details are limited in the sources reviewed here.
Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Emerald Coast Technical College
Emerald Coast Technical College's practical nursing program runs 45 weeks and 1,350 clock hours, with day and evening classes and starts in spring, summer, or fall. Students get clinical experience in acute care, long-term care, and community settings, and the college reports a 96% licensure pass rate at its main campus. Federal Pell Grants and VA education benefits are accepted.
Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
The 5 Most Affordable LPN Programs in Florida
The net prices below reflect institution-level averages after financial aid, drawn from federal data. They are not guaranteed quotes for every student; your actual cost will depend on your aid package, enrollment status, and individual circumstances. Where available, the share of students receiving Pell Grants offers a rough indicator of how accessible each school's financial aid culture is. Most Florida LPN certificate programs that meet the 600 clock-hour minimum qualify for federal Pell Grant funding, and several regional scholarships (such as the Kathy Lampl Bernard Memorial Nursing Scholarship and VNA Florida awards) are open to LPN students as well.
| School | City | In-State Tuition | Average Net Price (After Aid) | Pell Grant Recipient Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chipola College | Marianna | $3,120 | $1,133 | Not reported |
| Manatee Technical College | Bradenton | $7,334 (total program) | $1,808 | Not reported |
| Miami Lakes Educational Center and Technical College | Miami Lakes | $6,366 (total program) | $2,839 | Not reported |
| South Florida State College | Avon Park | $3,165 | $3,877 | 96% |
| Pensacola State College | Pensacola | $2,361 | $3,957 | 92% |
Total Cost of LPN School in Florida: What You'll Actually Pay
Most program listings show tuition alone, leaving students blindsided by exam fees, licensing costs, and clinical supplies. The breakdown below captures every major line item between enrollment and your first day as a licensed LPN in Florida. Tuition varies widely by school, so the figure here reflects the median across Florida's public and technical college programs.

Fastest LPN Programs in Florida: Can You Finish in 6 Months?
Searches for "6 month LPN programs in Florida" spike every year, but the honest answer is that almost none exist in their pure form. The vast majority of Florida practical nursing programs run 11 to 14 months, and the state's own clock-hour requirements make a true six-month timeline nearly impossible, even for the Fastest LPN/LVN Programs, unless you walk in with prior CNA certification, college-level science credits, or advanced standing that lets a school waive part of the curriculum.
The Fastest Programs Florida Actually Offers
Even the quickest full completions in the state land around 12 months, not six. The fastest options currently include:
- Santa Fe College (Gainesville): 12-month, on-campus certificate with strong hospital clinical partnerships.
- South Florida State College (Avon Park): 1-year, campus-based career certificate.
- Florida Gateway College (Lake City): 12-month, 45-credit-hour program with a single spring start date each year.
- Eastern Florida State College (Melbourne): 12-month diploma requiring 1,350 total clock hours, also starting each January.
- Southeastern College-West Palm Beach (Boynton Beach): 12-month private-sector diploma program with a fall TEAS-based admission cycle.
Most are campus-based; Florida Gateway College uses a hybrid format, and none currently advertise a compressed six-month track.
What Actually Speeds Things Up
When a program does shave a few weeks or months off the typical timeline, it is usually because of scheduling structure rather than a shortcut in content. Year-round terms with no long summer break, condensed semesters that compress the same clock hours into fewer calendar weeks, and dedicated evening or weekend cohorts all move students through faster without cutting required instruction.
The Tradeoff You Should Expect
Compressed schedules demand more from you week to week. Programs that finish faster typically require 30 to 40 hours of combined classroom and clinical time weekly, which leaves little room for full-time work. If you are supporting yourself or a family while in school, weigh the shorter timeline against the reduced ability to earn income during those months. A slightly longer, part-time-friendly program can sometimes get you to licensure with less financial strain than a sprint that forces you out of the workforce entirely.
Online and Hybrid LPN Programs in Florida: What 'Online' Really Means
Seven of Florida's top 16 LPN programs offer some form of online or hybrid coursework, but none of these Florida LPN programs allows you to complete the entire program from home. Every nursing student in the state must finish supervised clinical rotations in person, a non-negotiable requirement set by the Florida Board of Nursing.
What Hybrid Actually Looks Like
When a Florida school advertises an "online" LPN program, it means lecture content, quizzes, and some lab simulations happen through a learning management system you access remotely. You will still report to campus or an approved healthcare facility for skills labs, simulation sessions, and all clinical hours. Most programs require between 400 and 600 clinical hours completed at hospitals, long-term care facilities, or community health sites.
Hybrid formats typically let you watch recorded lectures and complete coursework on your own schedule during evenings or weekends. The clinical portion, however, runs on the facility's timeline. You may have day shifts, evening rotations, or weekend blocks depending on site availability.
Arranging Clinical Placements
Some hybrid programs, including Community College Nursing Programs, secure clinical sites for you within a set radius of their campus. Others, particularly those accepting students statewide, require you to locate an approved preceptor or facility near your home. Before enrolling, review LPN/LVN Program Admissions details and confirm whether the school handles clinical placement or expects you to arrange your own. Students in rural counties sometimes face longer drives or limited site options, which can extend your completion timeline.
Who Benefits Most from Hybrid Programs
Hybrid LPN programs work best for working adults who cannot attend daytime classes five days a week, career changers juggling family responsibilities, and students living in areas without a nearby campus-based program. The flexibility helps, but clinical schedules still demand reliable transportation and blocks of uninterrupted time. If your employer offers shift flexibility or you have childcare support during clinical weeks, a hybrid format can shave months off your path to licensure compared to waiting for a seat in a traditional cohort.
How to Pick the Right LPN School in Florida
With more than a dozen accredited options across the state, narrowing your list comes down to five checkpoints. Run every school you're considering through this framework before you apply.
Start With Accreditation and Pass Rates
- Accreditation status: Confirm the program holds ACEN accreditation or is approved by the Florida Board of Nursing. This isn't a formality: graduates of non-approved programs may be barred from sitting for the NCLEX-PN, which means the diploma alone won't get you licensed.
- NCLEX-PN pass rate: Florida's statewide average sits below the national benchmark, so treat any program hovering near or under that state figure as a caution flag. Programs that consistently beat the average tend to have stronger clinical instruction and better exam prep built into the LPN Classes, Courses, and Curriculum.
Weigh Cost, Schedule, and Clinical Support
- Total cost and aid: Look past sticker tuition to the full Cost of LPN Programs & Schools, including fees, uniforms, background checks, and NCLEX prep materials, then ask what federal aid, state grants, or payment plans are actually available to LPN students specifically.
- Schedule fit: Day, evening, and weekend cohorts exist for a reason. If you're working while studying, confirm the cohort structure matches your life before you enroll, not after.
- Clinical placement support: Ask directly which facilities the program partners with, how placements are assigned, and whether students have had to arrange their own sites. Weak clinical pipelines create bottlenecks that can delay graduation.
Verify Everything Before You Commit
Don't take a recruiter's word on accreditation. Cross-check the school against the Florida Board of Nursing's own Accredited LPN and RN Programs list, since marketing pages occasionally lag behind actual status changes.
Finally, visit the campus or sit in on a virtual info session, particularly for hybrid formats where clinical site logistics, transportation, and scheduling can make or break your experience. A short conversation with current students often reveals more than any brochure will.
How to Become an LPN in Florida: Step-by-Step Licensure Path
Florida follows a straightforward licensure sequence, but the details matter. Budget roughly $353 or more for application, exam, and background fees, and plan for biennial renewal once you are licensed. Note that Florida is not a Nurse Licensure Compact member state in 2026, so your Florida LPN license does not automatically authorize practice in other states.

LPN Salary in Florida: What You'll Earn by Metro Area
According to the most recent Bureau of Labor Statistics data, Florida employs roughly 38,620 LPNs statewide, with a median annual wage of approximately $61,770. That figure sits above the national LPN median reported in earlier BLS releases, reflecting steady wage growth across the profession. However, metro-level LPN salary breakdowns for individual Florida cities are not yet published in the latest available dataset, so the table below presents the statewide benchmark alongside broader occupational context. Historically, the Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach metro has tracked slightly above the state average for LPN pay, and markets like Orlando, Tampa, and Jacksonville tend to cluster near the statewide median, though exact current figures should be confirmed through the BLS OEWS tool as updated releases become available.
| Occupation | Area | Total Employment | Median Annual Wage | 25th Percentile | 75th Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs) | Florida (Statewide) | 38,620 | $61,770 | $58,540 | $64,710 |
| Registered Nurses | Florida (Statewide) | 229,940 | $84,190 | $78,660 | $101,180 |
| Nursing Instructors (Postsecondary) | Florida (Statewide) | 4,320 | $82,410 | $63,580 | $96,720 |
Florida LPN Job Outlook: Demand Through 2034
Florida already employs 38,620 LPNs, earning a median wage of $61,770 a year, and the Bureau of Labor Statistics projects the occupation nationally will grow from 651,400 workers in 2024 to roughly 668,500 by 2034, adding about 17,100 positions with an estimated 54,400 annual openings once retirements and job changes are factored in. That growth rate lands close to the average for all occupations, and newer BLS figures covering 2025 to 2035 put the pace slightly higher, near 3 percent, reinforcing that demand for practical nurses isn't slowing down.
Where the Jobs Are
Florida's LPN & LVN Jobs won't cluster in hospitals. The bulk of hiring is happening in:
- Long-term care facilities: Nursing homes and assisted living centers remain the single largest employer of LPNs statewide.
- Home health agencies: As patients recover outside hospital walls, home-based care keeps expanding.
- Physician offices and outpatient clinics: Routine care, chronic disease management, and same-day procedures all lean on LPN staffing.
Why Florida Specifically
Florida's demand curve is steeper than the national average suggests, driven by three forces layered on top of each other: a rapidly aging resident population, a steady stream of retirees relocating from other states, and expanded Medicaid access pushing more patients into primary and outpatient settings that need practical nursing coverage.
A Foundation, Not a Ceiling
None of this makes the LPN credential a dead end. It's a fast, practical entry point into a nursing career that keeps paying dividends as you gain experience, and for many Florida nurses, it becomes the launchpad into an LPN to RN bridge program rather than a final stop.
LPN-to-RN Bridge Programs in Florida: Your Next Step
Your LPN license isn't a ceiling, it's a launchpad. Most Florida nurses who want to move into RN roles do it through LPN to RN Bridge Programs that credit their practical nursing background instead of starting nursing coursework over from scratch.
Two Main Pathways
The LPN-to-ADN (or ASN) route is the dominant option in Florida. These are typically 12 to 18 month LPN Bridge Programs at state and technical colleges that fold your PN coursework into an associate degree, shaving a semester or more off a traditional RN timeline. LPN-to-BSN bridges exist too, letting you head straight for a bachelor's, but far fewer Florida schools currently offer this exact pathway, and the ones that do vary widely in structure.
Florida Programs Worth a Look
- College of Central Florida: A 12-month LPN-to-ADN bridge open to Florida-licensed LPNs.
- Florida Gateway College: Its Fast-Track A.S. bridge runs 12 months for LPNs licensed less than five years, and requires a 2.8 GPA and ATI TEAS scores. Applications for the January 2026 cohort closed October 3, 2025, so watch deadlines closely for future terms.
- North Florida College: A 12-month LPN-to-ADN bridge with an application window that typically runs March through June.
- Fort Myers Technical College: A hybrid, 900-hour Professional Nursing (LPN-RN) program completed in about 12 months, with an application deadline around April 30 for the following cohort.
- South Florida State College: A 12-month ASN transition track built specifically for licensed LPNs.
Jersey College's Fort Lauderdale campus and Fortis College also offer bridge coursework, though timelines run longer (15 to 33 months) and formats lean blended rather than fully online.
What You'll Need
Across nearly every program, expect to show an active, unencumbered Florida LPN license (or NLC equivalent), meet a GPA minimum in the 2.5 to 2.8 range, and pass an entrance exam like the ATI TEAS. None of these bridges are fully online. Clinical and lab hours still require you on-site, even when lecture content moves to a hybrid format.
More Accredited LPN Schools Across Florida
The ranked programs above are only part of Florida's LPN landscape. This directory gathers more Florida LPN programs by region, so you can browse options near you or around your schedule. Entries appear in no particular order and are not ranked.
Panhandle
- Practical Nursing
North Florida
- Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN)
- Practical Nursing, O.C.
- Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN)
Northeast Florida
- Practical Nursing
- Practical Nursing
- Practical Nursing
Central Florida
- Practical Nursing
- Practical Nursing
- Practical Nursing
Tampa Bay
- Practical Nursing
- Practical Nursing
- Practical Nursing
South Florida
- Practical Nursing
- Practical Nursing Including IV Skills and Critical Thinking







