Staying at the LPN level in Massachusetts means earning roughly $35,000 less per year than the state's median RN salary, a gap that compounds over an entire career. Bridging to RN licensure through a structured program is the most direct way to close it, but not every bridge program prepares graduates equally well.
The programs ranked here are sorted primarily by NCLEX-RN first-time pass rates, with accreditation status and completion rates used as tiebreakers. That metric matters because a single failed board attempt costs months and hundreds of dollars. Massachusetts offers both ADN and BSN bridge tracks, each with distinct timelines, tuition ranges, and long-term positioning in a market where more employers prefer or require a bachelor's degree.
Top Massachusetts LPN to RN/BSN Programs by NCLEX-RN Pass Rate
Passing the NCLEX-RN is the single gate between finishing a bridge program and actually practicing as a registered nurse in Massachusetts, so first-time pass rates carry real weight here. The programs below are the strongest performers in the state on that measure, and each takes a slightly different route: associate degree advanced placement, accelerated one-year options, or full bachelor's completion.
How we ranked these
- Graduation rates weighted most heavily
- Retention and completion outcomes
- NCLEX first-time pass rates
- Nursing program accreditation status
- Net price and tuition cost
- IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
- NCLEX first-time pass rates published by the state boards of nursing — ncsbn.org
- Internal program database
- College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Independent editorial research
Worcester State University
Worcester State University offers licensed practical nurses a structured route to the baccalaureate RN license through its LPN to BS in Nursing Track III, a three-year pathway with fall admission and a defined 41-credit prerequisite set. Coursework moves from a transition course into medical-surgical, obstetric, pediatric, community, and mental health nursing, then closes with a capstone, research seminar, and leadership work. A hybrid delivery option serves LPNs who need to keep working, and the university's transfer and articulation agreements help community college graduates bring prior credit with them.
- Entrance exam required: NACE I and PN-RN exams
- 120 total credit hours across a three-year plan
- Fall start only, with a June 1 application deadline
- 2.5 GPA minimum plus prerequisite coursework
- Capstone project, research, and leadership courses
- 41 prerequisite credits required
- Campus and hybrid delivery options
- ACEN and CCNE accredited
LPN to BS in Nursing (Track III), Associates — Hybrid
Greenfield Community College
Greenfield Community College runs an LPN to RN advanced placement track inside its associate degree nursing program, with two entry points: a January start after the NUR 111 bridge course or a September start after the summer NUR 112 bridge. The curriculum blends liberal arts with clinical nursing in medical-surgical, maternity, pediatric, and mental health care, and the college reports first-time NCLEX-RN pass rates near 97 percent. Clinical rotations take place at partner facilities, and the program holds approval from the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing.
- $10,124 total program tuition
- Four-semester program with two start dates per year
- 97% first-time licensure pass rate
- TEAS entrance exam required
- Two LPN advanced placement entry points
- Approved by the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing
- RN to BSN articulation agreements available
- Background check required for clinical placement
Associate Degree Nursing Program (LPN to RN Advanced Placement) — On-Campus
Fitchburg State University
Fitchburg State's LPN to BS in Nursing Bridge Program is built for licensed practical nurses who want the bachelor's credential and the RN license in one sequence, and it is the route the university accepts LPNs through rather than its traditional day BSN. The accelerated curriculum mixes day and evening coursework, and it awards up to 18 transfer credits to LPNs who pass the NLN Nursing Acceleration Challenge exams. Short seven-week sessions let students stack courses and finish faster, and statewide transfer agreements let community college credits count toward the degree.
- CCNE accredited bridge program
- 120 total credit hours
- Accelerated format with day and evening courses
- 18 transfer credits via NLN challenge exams
- 2.5 GPA minimum with two letters of recommendation
- Entrance exam required
- Two-year course rotation
- Prepares graduates for the NCLEX-RN
LPN to BS in Nursing Bridge Program, Associates — Hybrid
Curry College
Curry College's LPN to RN advanced placement track in Milton lets licensed practical nurses earn an associate degree in nursing in about two years without starting their nursing education over. Students can test out of Fundamentals and Maternity/Pediatrics through the HESI, cutting the number of courses they need, and the program pairs arts and science coursework with practice in a simulation center. Clinical placements run across Greater Boston hospitals and care facilities, and licensure opens the door to Curry's fully online RN to BS completion degree.
- ACEN accredited, BORN-approved ASN program
- Two-year program with three cohort start dates per year
- HESI exam for credit in Fundamentals and Maternity/Pediatrics
- Evening class options for working LPNs
- Clinical placements across Greater Boston
- 2.7 GPA minimum plus prerequisite courses
- $25 application fee
- Pathway to Curry's online RN to BS
Associate of Science in Nursing (LPN to RN) — On-Campus
Springfield Technical Community College
Springfield Technical Community College's accelerated nursing option is open to LPNs, paramedics, and military medics, and it compresses the associate degree in nursing into a 12-month sequence. Simulation labs and real clinical placements come before RN licensure, with faculty guiding a fast-paced, rigorous full-time load. Graduates move into hospital, clinic, and long-term care roles, and the college offers RN to BSN mobility options for those who want to keep going.
- 12-month accelerated Associate in Science in Nursing
- Open to LPNs, paramedics, and military medics
- Comprehensive simulation labs plus clinical placements
- RN to BSN mobility options available
Nursing (Accelerated) LPN to RN, Associates — On-Campus
Holyoke Community College
Holyoke Community College's LPN2RN advanced placement track builds on an existing LPN license and bedside experience instead of starting over. Much of the clinical training happens in the Center for Health Education, where high-fidelity simulation labs let students practice realistic scenarios on human patient simulators before they reach a real patient. General education work in anatomy and physiology, nutrition, psychology, and sociology supports hands-on practicums at regional healthcare facilities, and nursing scholarships are available to help cover costs.
- HESI entrance exam required
- 2.5 GPA minimum with documented work experience
- High-fidelity simulation labs and human patient simulators
- Practicums at regional healthcare facilities
- Community College Nursing Scholarship Program
- Prerequisite coursework in the sciences and social sciences
- Competitive, rubric-scored admission
- Graduated its 51st class of associate degree nurses
Advanced Placement LPN2RN, Associates — On-Campus
Massasoit Community College
Massasoit Community College runs its LPN to associate degree advanced placement option in a part-time evening format built around working nurses. Licensed practical nurses in Massachusetts receive advanced placement credit for prior nursing coursework, and the cohort model keeps a small group of students moving through the program together with an emphasis on critical thinking, technical skills, and communication. Graduates are eligible for the NCLEX-RN, and the college holds articulation agreements that let them continue toward a bachelor's degree in nursing.
- ACEN accredited
- Three-semester part-time option with evening classes
- Cohort-based learning model
- Advanced placement credit for LPN education
- Transfer credit for select Massachusetts LPN schools
- Prepares graduates for the NCLEX-RN
- Associate of Science degree awarded
LPN to Associate Degree Advanced Placement Nurse Education — On-Campus
North Shore Community College
North Shore Community College's LPN to RN advanced placement option is a full-time, one-year route to the associate degree for licensed practical nurses, with advanced standing credit granted for prior LPN education. Coursework covers anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, and specialized nursing practice, and the program holds ACEN accreditation along with Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing approval. Transfer agreements with four-year colleges give graduates a path to the BSN, and the Community College Nursing Scholarship can offset cost.
- ACEN accredited and Massachusetts board approved
- One academic year, full-time day format
- Credit for Advanced Standing based on LPN education
- Reported 98% licensure pass rate
- Coursework in anatomy, physiology, and pharmacology
- Community College Nursing Scholarship available
- Transfer agreements with four-year institutions
LPN to RN Advanced Placement Option, Associates — On-Campus
College of Our Lady of the Elms
Elms College in Chicopee has built its LPN to BSN pathway around working practical nurses, using a hybrid format that pairs online coursework with Wednesday evening nursing classes so students can keep earning while they study. LPNs receive transfer credit for their clinical background, and simulation stands in for part of the required clinical hours. A dedicated NCLEX preparation course sits inside the sequence, and admission centers on a 3.0 GPA, a current Massachusetts LPN license, and a TEAS score of at least 65.
- CCNE accredited
- 27-month hybrid completion timeline
- Online coursework with Wednesday evening nursing classes
- 12 credits for LPN clinical completion
- Simulation counts toward clinical hours
- NCLEX preparation course included
- 3.0 GPA minimum and current Massachusetts LPN license
- TEAS score of 65 or higher
LPN to BSN, Associates — Hybrid
Northern Essex Community College
Northern Essex Community College's advanced placement nursing option lets licensed practical nurses finish an Associate in Science in Nursing in about one year, building on the LPN foundation with childbearing, child-rearing, physical, and mental health nursing. Clinical rotations in hospitals and clinics run under mentor supervision, and the college reports strong licensure and job placement outcomes for this track. Credits transfer into bachelor's programs for graduates who want to keep going, and the college positions the bridge as a way to save thousands on nursing education.
- Complete the Associate in Science in Nursing in one year
- $346 per credit
- ACEN accredited
- 86% licensure pass rate reported
- 100% job placement rate reported
- Clinical placements under mentor supervision
- Credits transfer to bachelor's degree programs
Advanced Placement Nursing: LPN to ADN — On-Campus
How We Ranked These LPN to RN Programs
Choosing a bridge program, or even Best LPN Programs in Massachusetts 2026, often comes down to trusting a list versus doing your own homework, so here is exactly what sits behind ours. NCLEX-RN first-time pass rate carries roughly three-quarters of the composite score, pulled from the state Board of Registration's most recent three years of licensing data and weighted by the number of test-takers, so a program graduating six nurses a year isn't unfairly boosted or buried next to one graduating sixty.
Secondary Factors and Tiebreakers
When pass rates land close together, we lean on two supporting signals:
- Programmatic accreditation: Standing with ACEN or CCNE, Accredited LPN and RN Programs, which reflects curriculum rigor and faculty oversight specific to the nursing program itself.
- Completion and retention rates: Institutional figures that hint at how well a school supports students once they're enrolled.
What This Ranking Doesn't Capture
We don't score clinical placement quality, student satisfaction, or employer reputation in your region. These matter enormously in real life, but there's no standardized, verifiable way to compare them across schools without relying on anecdote or marketing copy, and we'd rather leave them out than fake precision.
Institution-wide graduation rates appear throughout the rankings for context. Treat those as a general health check on the college, not a stand-in for the nursing program's own outcomes, since campus-wide figures blend every major offered, not just the LPN to RN track you're evaluating.
LPN to ADN Vs. LPN to BSN: Which Path Fits You?
Massachusetts LPNs have two main bridge routes to RN licensure: the faster, lower-cost LPN-to-ADN track at a community college, or the longer LPN-to-BSN track that opens doors at Magnet hospitals and into leadership roles. Program-level earnings data is not yet available for most Massachusetts bridge programs, so the comparison below focuses on verified program attributes. Both paths prepare you for the same NCLEX-RN exam, but the credential you earn shapes your career ceiling.

Massachusetts by City
Explore other Massachusetts related topics
Related Articles
Online and Hybrid LPN to RN Options in Massachusetts
Massachusetts LPNs considering a bridge program have more flexibility than in the past, with several schools offering online or hybrid coursework alongside required clinical hours. Bristol Community College's LPN-to-RN Bridge Pathway (2025-2026) is structured as a hybrid, with clinical placement locations spanning Massachusetts and Rhode Island. Labouré College's LPN to RN Advanced Placement Bridge allows students to choose in-person or online delivery while working toward an Associate of Science in Nursing. Mount Wachusett Community College's Advanced Standing Bridge Option for LPNs offers an LPN to RN bridge for applicants with at least 0.5 years of work experience. Herzing University adds an online LPN to RN program for those who need asynchronous didactic coursework.
Although the phrase 'online' can suggest that all work happens remotely, these Massachusetts options still depend on in-person clinical rotations. The hybrid format made familiar in Hybrid LPN Programs works the same way here: theory and general education courses move online, while labs, simulations, and patient-care hours stay face-to-face at partner facilities. For example, Bristol Community College schedules clinical placements in both Massachusetts and Rhode Island, so students near the state line can plan rotations closer to home. Labouré College's online option removes some commuting from the classroom portion, but clinical assignments are still arranged through the program.
Students comparing bridge formats should also line up the administrative steps early because cohort capacity at Massachusetts community colleges can fill quickly. Keeping Practical Nursing Resources open while reviewing program checklists can help you confirm prerequisites and deadlines without losing the program-specific details above.
Tuition, Financial Aid, and Employer Sponsorship
Tuition for LPN to RN bridge programs in Massachusetts varies widely depending on whether you attend a community college or a four-year institution, and whether you qualify for in-state rates. The table below compares published tuition along with the institution-wide average net price after financial aid. Keep in mind that the net price figures reflect averages across all students at each school, not a guaranteed cost for bridge program enrollees specifically. After the table, you will find details on Massachusetts-specific grants, federal scholarships, and an employer-sponsored program that covers tuition entirely. Massachusetts residents pursuing an LPN to RN bridge at a community college may qualify for MASSGrant, a need-based state grant administered by the Massachusetts Department of Higher Education. Eligibility requires Massachusetts residency, undergraduate enrollment of at least 12 credits, and a completed FAFSA. The application deadline for the 2026 to 2027 cycle is June 30, 2026. Students enrolled at a Massachusetts community college nursing program may also be eligible for the Community College Nursing Scholarship Program, which supports both full-time (minimum 12 credits) and part-time (minimum 6 credits) students for up to three or five years respectively. Award amounts are determined on a case-by-case basis. On the federal side, the HRSA Nurse Corps Scholarship Program covers tuition, fees, and a living stipend for students accepted into accredited nursing programs. U.S. citizens or legal permanent residents enrolled in diploma, associate, BSN, or graduate nursing programs may apply. Recipients commit to working full-time at a Critical Shortage Facility with a Health Professional Shortage Area score of 14 or higher after graduation. Once licensed as an RN, the HRSA Nurse Corps Loan Repayment Program is a separate option: it repays up to 60% of qualifying nursing education debt in exchange for a two-year, full-time service commitment (minimum 32 hours per week), with an additional 25% available for a third year. Two smaller but valuable scholarships target Massachusetts nurses directly. The Filipino American Nursing Association of Massachusetts (FNAMA) awards $2,500 scholarships to Massachusetts residents enrolled in accredited nursing programs, with applications typically due in November. The Massachusetts Nurses Foundation, based in Canton, also offers nursing scholarships with a June 1 deadline. For LPNs on Cape Cod, Broad Reach Health operates a free RN program based in Chatham, Massachusetts. The program is open to current LPNs and covers all tuition costs in exchange for a three-year, full-time service commitment with Broad Reach Health after the graduate earns RN licensure. This is an on-site program, not available online. Contact Broad Reach directly for application details, as published information does not specify income requirements, GPA minimums, or firm application deadlines. Federal Pell Grant eligibility is also worth checking at every school listed below: the share of students receiving Pell Grants ranges from roughly 50% to nearly 80% across these institutions, signaling that a large portion of enrollees qualify for need-based federal aid.
| School | City | In-State Tuition | Out-of-State Tuition | Avg. Net Price (Institution-Wide) | Pell Grant Recipients |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bristol Community College | Fall River | $5,832 | $10,776 | $5,547 | 73.5% |
| Northern Essex Community College | Haverhill | $6,732 | $12,516 | $6,046 | 78.8% |
| Mount Wachusett Community College | Gardner | $6,160 | $11,080 | $7,931 | 73.1% |
| Massasoit Community College | Brockton | $5,376 | $10,320 | $8,460 | 74.5% |
| North Shore Community College | Danvers | $5,352 | $10,920 | $9,000 | 76.1% |
| Quinsigamond Community College | Worcester | $6,262 | $11,206 | $9,090 | 74.7% |
| Berkshire Community College | Pittsfield | $6,164 | $11,468 | $9,921 | 79.5% |
| Worcester State University | Worcester | $11,786 | $17,866 | $13,381 | 50.5% |
| Fitchburg State University | Fitchburg | $11,346 | $17,426 | $14,262 | 53.0% |
| Elms College | Chicopee | $43,325 | $43,325 | $17,545 | 57.8% |
According to May 2025 Bureau of Labor Statistics data, registered nurses in the Boston Cambridge Nashua metro area earned a median annual wage of $106,180. A comparable metro level median for LPNs was not reported in that release, but the gap is substantial enough that bridging from LPN to RN can reshape long term earnings.
NCLEX-RN Pass Rates and Graduate Outcomes
The table below compiles available NCLEX-RN first-time pass rate data for Massachusetts LPN to RN bridge programs, alongside self-reported licensure rates where published. Because the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing reports NCLEX outcomes at the institutional level rather than breaking them out by bridge track specifically, most figures shown reflect the school's overall nursing program performance. The statewide first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate for Massachusetts programs was 82% in 2022 and climbed to roughly 87% in 2024, providing a useful benchmark. Programs falling below the Board's 80% threshold are subject to additional review. Program-level earnings and employment data are not yet available for most of these bridge pathways.
| Program | School Type | Self-Reported Licensure Pass Rate | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| North Shore Community College, LPN to RN Advanced Placement | Community College | 98% | Rate reported by the institution; may reflect all nursing tracks, not bridge-only graduates |
| Greenfield Community College, LPN to RN Bridge | Community College | 97% (2024, 2025) | Bridge-specific outcomes published by the college; earlier years ranged from 90% to 93% |
| Northern Essex Community College, LPN to ADN | Community College | 86% | Self-reported rate; program also reports 100% job placement for graduates |
| Quinsigamond Community College, LPN Advanced Placement | Community College | 82% | Aligns with the statewide average; evening format may attract a different student mix |
| Berkshire Community College, LPN to ADN Bridge | Community College | 73% | Below the statewide average; the Board's 80% threshold may trigger additional program review |
| Worcester State University, LPN to BS Track III | Public University | Not separately reported | Institutional NCLEX data covers all RN tracks; bridge-specific rates are not published |
| Fitchburg State University, LPN to BS Bridge | Public University | Not separately reported | CCNE-accredited program; bridge cohort results are folded into overall nursing outcomes |
| Elms College, LPN to BSN | Private College | Not separately reported | Hybrid BSN program; NCLEX data published at the institutional level only |
| Bristol Community College, LPN to RN Bridge | Community College | Not separately reported | ACEN-accredited; clinical sites span Massachusetts and Rhode Island |
| Massasoit Community College, LPN Advanced Placement | Community College | Not separately reported | Cohort-based evening program; pass rates are included in the college's aggregate nursing data |
| Mount Wachusett Community College, Advanced Standing Bridge | Community College | Not separately reported | ACEN-accredited; bridge students take a transitions course before joining the general RN cohort |
Articulation Agreements and Feeder LPN Programs
Articulation agreements between LPN certificate programs and LPN to RN Bridge Programs remain uneven in Massachusetts, with Bristol Community College holding the clearest published pathway as of 2025-2026.
How Bristol's Bridge Works
An articulation agreement is a formal guarantee that specific LPN coursework transfers for credit, which can shorten the RN path and lower total cost. Bristol's LPN-to-RN Bridge Pathway is built for LPNs who graduated within three years from five articulated programs: Diman Regional Vocational Technical High School, Bristol-Plymouth Regional Technical School, Upper Cape Cod Regional Technical School, Southeastern Technical Institute, and Tri-County Regional Vocational Technical High School.1 Eligible LPNs complete a roughly six-week transition assessment covering dosage, specialty HESI, and lab skills.2 Passing students earn 16 credits for the first two nursing courses and enter the third semester of the associate nursing program, as long as required science and psychology prerequisites are already complete.
What Happens Outside Bristol
For LPNs who graduated more than three years ago, Bristol offers a separate Challenge route, but the exact credit it grants is less clearly documented. Middlesex Community College supports LPN advanced standing through credit for prior learning3 and an LPN/ADRN transition course4, though it does not name external LPN certificate partners in the current catalog. Beyond Bristol, no other Massachusetts LPN certificate-to-LPN-to-RN articulation agreement appears in published 2025-2026 materials.
MassTransfer Does Not Cover LPN-to-RN
MassTransfer's 34-credit General Education Block applies to ADN graduates moving into RN-to-BSN and upper-division nursing programs at state universities and UMass campuses.5 It transfers nursing major courses as a block6, but it does not cover articulation for LPN Bridge Programs.
If your LPN program is not listed, contact the admissions office directly. Colleges may still complete an informal credit evaluation.
NCLEX-RN pass rates are the single most important factor in choosing an LPN to RN bridge program because they reveal whether graduates are actually ready to practice.
Frequently Asked Questions About LPN to RN Programs in Massachusetts
Massachusetts LPN to RN bridge programs do not follow one uniform statewide template. The answers below reflect what the reviewed programs commonly require, while individual schools may set their own thresholds.
Program Timeline and Format
- How long does an LPN to RN bridge program take? Most Massachusetts bridge programs can be completed in about 12 to 18 months full-time, though some schools describe the path as two years or less. LPN to ADN routes tend to fall around 18 to 24 months, while LPN to BSN completion may run roughly 24 to 27 months. Part-time enrollment, prerequisite timing, and prior learning assessment can shift that range.
- Can you complete an LPN to RN program entirely online? No, fully online nursing education is not possible in Massachusetts because clinical hours require in-person placement. Hybrid models are available: coursework may be online, but labs, simulations, and direct patient-care hours must be completed on campus or at approved clinical sites.
Admissions, Licensure, and Program Choice
- What are the admission requirements for Massachusetts LPN to RN bridge programs? Most programs expect an active, unencumbered LPN license and graduation from an approved practical nursing program. Common prerequisites include Anatomy and Physiology I and II with labs, Microbiology with lab, English Composition, Psychology, Developmental Psychology, and college-level Math. Minimum GPA requirements vary by school rather than following a single state standard. The TEAS is frequently required; for example, Quinsigamond Community College lists a 65% composite minimum and Bristol Community College lists a 70% composite minimum. Health and background clearances, including immunizations, TB screening, BLS CPR, CORI, and often drug screening, are also typical.
- Is Massachusetts part of the Nurse Licensure Compact? As of 2026, Massachusetts is not a Nurse Licensure Compact state. LPNs moving from another state should confirm licensure by endorsement requirements with the Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing.
- What is the difference between an LPN to ADN and an LPN to BSN bridge program? LPN to ADN programs prepare you for RN licensure through an associate degree, generally with a shorter timeline and lower total cost. LPN to BSN programs add a bachelor's degree credential, typically requiring more credits and time, and may open broader career pathways in leadership, public health, or graduate study. For choosing the right LPN/LVN bridge program, the comparison section covers time, cost, and career implications side by side.







