LPN Programs in Milwaukee, WI 2027

LPN Programs in Milwaukee, WI 2027
Updated September 15, 20269 min read

LPN Programs in Milwaukee, Wisconsin 2027

Compare costs, NCLEX pass rates, and program formats at Milwaukee-area practical nursing schools.

Wisconsin's practical nursing pipeline has tightened over the past two years as long-term care operators, outpatient clinics, and specialty offices compete for the same graduates hospital systems are pulling into ambulatory roles.

In the Milwaukee metro, that competition plays out across employers like Advocate Aurora Health, Froedtert, Ascension Wisconsin, and Children's Wisconsin, with roughly 1,890 LPNs currently employed and wages tracking above the Wisconsin median. Program choice is narrower: a handful of accredited diplomas within commuting range of the 53203 zip, plus hybrid options that widen the menu without cutting the standard 10 to 12 month timeline.

The practical tension for most candidates is cost spread against pass rate, not speed.

See the ranked programs →

Why Milwaukee Is a Strong Market for New LPNs

Six major health systems actively recruit LPNs, many from LPN programs in Wisconsin, across the Milwaukee-Waukesha metro: Advocate Aurora Health, Froedtert, Ascension Wisconsin, Children's Wisconsin, ProHealth Care, and the Clement J. Zablocki VA Medical Center. These organizations staff positions in family medicine clinics, pulmonary specialty offices, and outpatient behavioral health settings, giving new graduates exposure to varied patient populations without relocating.

Where Most LPNs Work Locally

Skilled nursing and long-term care facilities employ the largest share of Milwaukee-area LPNs. Employers such as Autumn Lake Healthcare, Aria of Brookfield, West Allis Nursing & Rehabilitation, and Saint John's on The Lake post openings year-round. Home health agencies, including Affiliated Home Health Care, Maxim Healthcare Services, and Gentiva/Heartland Home Health, also hire heavily, often offering flexible schedules suited to nurses juggling family or an LPN to RN in Wisconsin program. Staffing agencies like ShiftKey, Amergis Healthcare Staffing, and Supplemental Health Care place LPNs in per-diem and contract roles at nursing homes, corrections facilities, and specialty clinics.

IV Certification Expands Your Options

Wisconsin permits LPNs to administer IV medications under RN supervision once they complete state-recognized IV certification, a Specialty Certification for LPNs, and demonstrate competency. That credential qualifies you for infusion clinics, dialysis centers, and acute rehabilitation units where IV tasks are routine. Employers often list IV certification as a preferred or required qualification, so completing the training early can set you apart from other new graduates.

Nearby Cities Worth Watching

Don't limit your job search to Milwaukee proper. Waukesha, Brookfield, Racine, Kenosha, and West Bend each have skilled nursing facilities, outpatient clinics, and home health agencies recruiting LPNs. Waukesha County's Department of Health & Human Services, for example, hires LPNs for outpatient substance use and behavioral health clinics. Broadening your geographic radius to about 40 miles can double your interview opportunities.

LPN Pay in the Milwaukee Metro Area

LPN wages in the Milwaukee-Waukesha metro area run well above both the Wisconsin statewide median and the national median, making the region one of the more competitive markets for practical nurses in the upper Midwest. With roughly 1,890 LPNs employed across the metro, demand remains steady in long-term care, clinics, and specialty practices. The table below breaks out annual wage percentiles so you can see what entry-level, mid-career, and top-earning LPNs take home.

Wage PercentileAnnual Salary
10th PercentileNot reported
25th Percentile$61,220
Median (50th Percentile)$65,410
75th Percentile$77,770
90th PercentileNot reported
Mean (Average)$68,660

Accelerated and Evening LPN Programs Near Milwaukee

Can you actually finish LPN training in Milwaukee in six months? For nearly every program serving this metro, the honest answer is no. Wisconsin's practical nursing diplomas are built around a 10 to 12 month full-time timeline, and nothing in the current Milwaukee-area lineup breaks that pattern. Herzing University's Brookfield campus, just west of the city, runs its Practical Nursing Diploma on a 12-month track with six start dates spread across the year in 16-week semesters, which gives applicants flexible entry points in LPN/LVN Program Admissions without shrinking the actual coursework. MATC's Practical Nursing Technical Diploma, a 32-credit program based at the Downtown Milwaukee Campus, doesn't publish a one-semester completion option either, so treat any "6-month LPN" claim you see online with real skepticism.

Evening, Weekend, and Hybrid Realities

Don't expect a dedicated night-and-weekend cohort at either major provider. MATC's standard diploma is catalogued as in-person, and while individual courses can shift to online or hybrid formats depending on the term, there's no established evening-only or weekend-only track for adult learners outside of a dual-enrollment academy built for high schoolers. Herzing's model reflects the reality of Hybrid LPN Programs: general education courses can be taken online, but the clinical and core nursing coursework happens on campus in Brookfield, since no accredited PN program can be delivered entirely online.

What Accelerated Pacing Actually Means

Hands-on clinical hours are the fixed cost of LPN training, and they can't be compressed the way lecture time can. Programs that advertise faster completion are usually front-loading weekly hours rather than cutting content, so expect a demanding, near-full-time schedule regardless of which Milwaukee-area school you choose.

Tuition, Net Price, and Financial Aid for Milwaukee LPN Students

Tuition for a practical nursing diploma in the Milwaukee area ranges from roughly $5,600 at a public technical college to more than $20,000 at a private institution, so understanding the cost of LPN programs before you enroll is essential.

Sticker Tuition at a Glance

Milwaukee Area Technical College (MATC) charges in-district Wisconsin residents about $175.90 per credit for its practical nursing diploma. With total program costs reported near $5,646, the diploma remains one of the most affordable LPN programs in southeastern Wisconsin. Out-of-state students pay a higher per-credit rate, roughly $252 per credit.

Gateway Technical College posts a comparable figure: approximately $5,705 in tuition and fees for the full 30-credit program, plus an estimated $1,066 in books and supplies. Both schools sit within the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS), which keeps resident rates low.

Herzing University's practical nursing diploma costs $530 per credit across 37 semester credits, with an additional $850 program fee per semester. That puts base tuition in the neighborhood of $19,600 before living expenses, a significant jump from the public colleges. Herzing's 12-month timeline can offset some indirect costs like housing and lost wages, but the sticker price is still roughly three to four times higher than MATC or Gateway.

What You Actually Pay

Net price, which is sticker cost minus grants and scholarships, tells a more useful story. At MATC, the institution-wide average net price sits around $9,112 per year, reflecting the impact of federal and state aid. Gateway's average net price is roughly $12,928. Because the PN diploma itself is shorter and cheaper than a full associate degree, many students find their out-of-pocket obligation is lower still.

Funding Sources Worth Pursuing

No tuition-free LPN programs exist in Milwaukee, but several aid streams can dramatically reduce what you borrow.

  • Pell Grant: Covers up to $7,395 per year for eligible students, often wiping out public-college tuition entirely.
  • Wisconsin Grant (Technical College): Awards averaging $1,752 per year for Wisconsin residents enrolled at least half-time.
  • WTCS Foundation scholarships: Smaller awards administered through each college's foundation office.
  • Employer tuition reimbursement: Major health systems such as Advocate Aurora Health and Froedtert Health offer tuition assistance for employees pursuing nursing credentials.

Median federal debt at completion for MATC graduates is about $14,955, while Gateway graduates carry roughly $12,165. Choosing available grants first and borrowing only the gap keeps that number manageable.

Top LPN Programs for Milwaukee Students

Below are the top LPN programs serving Milwaukee students, ranked by federal completion data, accreditation status, and program fit. Each entry covers the credential awarded, how the campus fits a Milwaukee commute, and what graduates can expect on the way to NCLEX-PN licensure. All three schools hold ACEN accreditation for practical nursing.

How we ranked these

Factors considered
  1. Median graduate debt loads
  2. Institution-wide graduation rates
  3. Net price after financial aid
  4. Clinical placement and scheduling fit
  5. Accreditation and licensure preparation
Data sources
  • College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Internal program database
  • Independent editorial research
  • IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
MI

Milwaukee Area Technical College

Milwaukee, WI · $9,000/yr

Best for: Milwaukee district residents seeking public college value

Milwaukee Area Technical College is the city's public two-year college, and its ACEN-accredited Practical Nursing technical diploma is the largest LPN pipeline in the metro. The program runs at the Downtown Milwaukee campus with August and January starts, and its waiting list gives first priority to residents of the MATC district. A CNA-to-LPN bridge, a high school dual enrollment academy, and a direct ladder into the RN associate degree make it a complete local pathway for Milwaukee students.

  • Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Milwaukee Area Technical College
    ACEN accredited
    Visit Website
BR

Bryant & Stratton College-Wauwatosa

Wauwatosa, WI · $15,000/yr (net price)

Best for: Working adults needing evening and Saturday classes

Bryant & Stratton College's Wauwatosa campus puts a 12-month, 41-credit Practical Nursing diploma inside the Milwaukee metro, backed by ACEN accreditation and Wisconsin Board of Nursing approval. Evening and Saturday hours are built for working adults, and the LPN credits stack into the college's associate degree and RN-to-BSN options. It is the metro's private-college route, with its own approved campuses in Glendale and Racine as additional entry points.

  • Practical Nursing Diploma — On-Campus
    Bryant & Stratton College-Wauwatosa
    ACEN accredited
    Visit Website
GA

Gateway Technical College

Kenosha, WI · $13,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution
Best for: Kenosha and Racine area residents staying local

Gateway Technical College serves Kenosha, Racine, and Walworth counties from campuses in Racine, Kenosha, Burlington, and Elkhorn, which makes it a workable option for students on Milwaukee's southern edge. Its ACEN-accredited Practical Nursing technical diploma runs 30 credits with three start dates a year, and the college reports a 95% first-time NCLEX-PN pass rate. A revamped standalone LPN diploma, expanded simulation space in Elkhorn, and articulation into the nursing associate degree round out the offering.

  • Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Gateway Technical College
    ACEN accredited
    Visit Website

Recent Articles

In this article

Follow us