Austin's three largest hospital systems, Ascension Seton, Baylor Scott & White, and St. David's HealthCare, collectively operate acute-care facilities from Georgetown to Kyle, and vocational nurses fill shifts across each of them every week.
Most Austin-area students train at commutable public and private schools, hybrid programs, or night tracks that pair online coursework with local clinicals. Local job market context, LPN/LVN Salary, schedule and format options, costs, NCLEX pass rates, admissions requirements, and a ranked program list follow.
Austin's LVN Job Market: Where the Demand Is
Austin's hospital systems have spent the past few years absorbing rapid population growth, and vocational nurses are filling gaps that outpace the pipeline of new RN graduates. Ascension Seton's network anchors much of that demand, alongside St. David's HealthCare facilities scattered across the metro and the Baylor Scott & White corridor stretching from Round Rock up toward Temple. Beyond hospital walls, outpatient clinics and home health agencies have become steady hirers, a shift driven by aging-in-place trends and shorter inpatient stays.
Why Texas LVNs Carry More Weight
Texas grants LVNs a broader scope of practice than many states allow, including IV therapy certification and wound care competencies once reserved for RNs. That expanded scope makes LVNs particularly valuable in long-term care facilities and ambulatory settings, where a single vocational nurse can manage tasks that would otherwise require RN staffing. For students weighing whether LVN work is a real career or just a stopover on the LVN to RN in Texas path, that distinction matters: Texas treats the credential as clinically substantial, not entry-level busywork.
The Wider Metro Matters
Clinical placements and job openings rarely stay confined to Austin proper. Round Rock, Cedar Park, San Marcos, Georgetown, and Pflugerville all host facilities that partner with local programs for rotations and post-graduation hiring, so students shouldn't limit their job search to zip codes near campus when comparing the Best LVN Programs in Texas 2026.
What the Numbers Show
Federal labor data for the Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos area in May 2025 puts LVN employment at roughly 3,620 workers, with a median annual wage around $64,580. Earners in the bottom tenth make closer to $51,690, while the top tenth clears $78,270, a spread that reflects experience, shift differentials, and setting. That's a healthy baseline for a program that typically takes a year or so to complete.
LVN Salary Snapshot: Austin-Round Rock Metro
Earnings for Licensed Vocational Nurses in the Austin-Round Rock metropolitan area span a wide range depending on experience, setting, and credentials. LVNs who hold IV certification or work in specialty clinics, surgical centers, or home health agencies often land in the upper percentiles of the wage distribution.

Evening, Weekend, and Part-Time LVN Tracks Near Austin
Students who work during the day have two distinct paths: fully campus-based night tracks and Hybrid LPN Programs that pair online lectures with in-person clinicals. Both can lead to the same license, but they differ in how much time you spend on site each week and how much flexibility you get with coursework.
Who Offers Evening or Weekend Schedules Locally?
Austin Community College (ACC) runs a Vocational Nursing Evening/Weekend track that admits students every fall. The Fall 2026 application deadline was May 1, 2026, so prospective students should watch for the next cycle. ACC is the most accessible evening/weekend option within Austin proper.
Galen College of Nursing has an Austin campus, but its vocational nursing program is a 12-month, full-time, on-campus format with no evening or weekend alternative listed at this time; for shorter routes, see the Fastest LPN/LVN Programs of 2026. Farther out, Concorde Career College in Grand Prairie offers a 20-month part-time evenings-and-weekends vocational nursing program, though Grand Prairie sits well beyond a 40-mile radius from central Austin.
Hybrid vs. Fully On-Campus Night Tracks
A hybrid program lets you complete didactic coursework online, then report to a clinical site for hands-on hours. A fully campus-based night track holds both classroom lectures and lab sessions in the evening. Hybrid formats typically offer more scheduling flexibility during the lecture portion, but clinical rotations still follow a set weekly schedule determined by facility availability , see the Complete Guide to LPN/LVN Clinical Rotations for what to expect.
Can You Complete an LVN Program Entirely Online in Texas?
No. The Texas Board of Nursing requires a minimum number of supervised clinical clock hours performed in person at approved healthcare facilities. No amount of simulation or virtual coursework can replace those hours. Some hybrid programs place students at clinical sites within a defined radius of the school, so Austin-area residents should verify directly with any out-of-region hybrid program that local clinical placements are available before enrolling.
How Long Is LVN School in Texas?
LVN school is the classroom and clinical training required before you can sit for the NCLEX-PN and start practicing as a licensed vocational nurse. In Texas, the Board of Nursing sets a hard floor for that training: every approved vocational nursing program must deliver at least 1,398 clock hours, split into 558 hours of classroom instruction and 840 hours of supervised clinical practice, following a suggested one-to-three ratio of didactic to clinical time.1 For a full-time student, that floor translates into roughly 12 to 18 months of continuous coursework.
Certificate vs. Associate-Degree Tracks
Most Austin-area Community College Nursing Programs award a certificate in about 12 months of full-time study. A smaller number of colleges offer an associate-degree vocational nursing track that stretches to 18 to 24 months by layering in general-education coursework. Students who anticipate bridging to an RN license later often choose the longer associate path, a Smart Strategic Move because those credits typically transfer more cleanly into an RN-to-BSN or ADN program down the road.
Why There's No 6-Month Option
No legitimate 6-month LPN program exists in Texas, and that is by design. The state's 840-hour clinical minimum alone takes most students longer than six months to complete safely, even at an accelerated pace, so no BON-approved program can compress training into that window.
Part-Time and Evening Formats
Evening and part-time tracks preserve the same hour requirements but spread them out, typically pushing total program length to 18 to 24 months, with some formats running close to 74 weeks.
Admissions Prerequisites at Austin-Area LVN Schools
At admissions, the tradeoff is speed versus selectivity: community college programs such as ACC require a standardized test and a fixed application window, while private schools accept lower barriers in exchange for higher tuition.
ACC's Vocational Nursing Requirements
Austin Community College is the most competitive LVN entry point in the region, and its rules are the most specific. Applicants must sit the TEAS Nursing version , the LPN/LVN program entrance exam , before applying and hit a minimum composite score of 58.7% (based on the 2024-2025 cycle). ACC does not publish a program GPA cutoff, but all applicants must meet Texas Success Initiative (TSI) testing requirements, meaning college-readiness in reading, writing, and math. A health science background is not required.
The Fall 2026 application deadline is May 1, 2026, and this same window applies to both the traditional daytime track and the Evening & Weekend option. Admission is provisional until clinical clearance is complete: criminal background check, drug screening, TB testing, a health data form, CPR certification, proof of health insurance, seasonal flu vaccine, and required online education modules. ACC specifically instructs applicants not to start these steps until the department tells them to, so paying for a background check early is wasted money.
Cybertex and Private-School Flexibility
Cybertex Institute of Technology in Austin takes a lighter-touch approach. Applicants need a high school diploma, an official transcript, or a GED, plus a background screening questionnaire and a signed acknowledgement of the Texas Board of Nursing's disqualifying criteria. Final eligibility depends on TBON clearance from a clean criminal background check. Cybertex does not publish a minimum TEAS score or GPA cutoff.
That flexibility comes at a price: private VN tuition in Austin runs several times what ACC charges, so cost-conscious applicants should compare the Most Affordable LPN/LVN Programs for 2026 before committing. The tradeoff is straightforward. If your TEAS score, TSI status, or timing rules out the next ACC cohort, a private program can get you into scrubs sooner, but you will pay for that speed.
Universal Clinical Clearance
Regardless of school, expect a criminal background check cleared through the Texas Board of Nursing, drug screening, current immunizations, and CPR certification before you set foot in a clinical rotation.
NCLEX-PN Pass Rates: How Austin-Area Programs Compare
The Texas Board of Nursing publishes NCLEX-PN pass rates annually, and these figures are among the most reliable indicators of program quality. A strong first-time pass rate signals that graduates are well prepared for licensure. Programs that fall below 80% may draw additional scrutiny from the BON, including possible probation or enhanced oversight requirements. Only programs located within roughly 40 miles of Austin are included below. Note that reporting periods vary by program because the BON releases data on a rolling basis; the most recent available figures for each school are shown. Cybertex Institute of Technology's most recently published rate of 78.57% falls below the 80% threshold that typically triggers BON review, so prospective students should verify the program's current standing before enrolling.
| School | Location | First-Time Pass Rate | Number of Test-Takers | Reporting Period |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Austin Community College Vocational Nursing | Austin, TX | 99.45% | 39 | Jan. 1, 2024 to Dec. 31, 2024 |
| Galen College of Nursing, Practical/Vocational Nursing (Austin Campus) | Austin, TX | 94.94% | Not reported | 2025 calendar year |
| Cybertex Institute of Technology Vocational Nursing | Austin, TX | 78.57% | 14 | Jan. 1, 2023 to Dec. 31, 2023 |
Top LVN Programs for Austin-Area Students
Below are the top LVN programs serving Austin students, ranked by federal completion data, accreditation status, and fit for local learners. Practical nursing training in the metro spans community college and career college options, so schedule, commute, and clinical placement matter as much as sticker price. Each entry highlights tuition, program format, and what the school reports about student outcomes.
How we ranked these
- Graduation and completion rates
- Median graduate debt
- Tuition, fees, and net price
- Retention and long-run earnings context
- College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering retention rates, student-faculty ratios and net price — nces.ed.gov
- Internal program database
- Independent editorial research
Galen Health Institutes-Austin Campus
Galen Health Institutes - Austin Campus sits in Round Rock, at the northern edge of the Austin metro, and delivers a practical nursing diploma that students can finish in about 12 months. Instruction runs on campus with clinical learning labs and supervised rotations, and the school opens four start dates a year so applicants rarely sit out a full term waiting to begin. Institution-wide, the campus reports a 52 percent first-year retention rate and a 12 to 1 student-faculty ratio; an overall graduation rate is not reported. Published tuition and fees are about $17,048, median federal debt among graduates is roughly $24,166, and program-level earnings for this nursing diploma are not yet published.
- 12-month diploma with four start dates each year
- Free application, no essays required
- TEAS entrance assessment required for admission
- On-campus clinical learning labs and hands-on rotations
- Prepares graduates to sit for the NCLEX-PN exam
- Financial aid and scholarships available
- Transfer credits reviewed; academic advisor assigned
- Faculty tutors and on-demand tutoring plus online library access







