Wisconsin's practical nursing pipeline has tightened over the past two years as long-term care operators, outpatient clinics, and specialty offices compete for the same graduates hospital systems are pulling into ambulatory roles.
In the Milwaukee metro, that competition plays out across employers like Advocate Aurora Health, Froedtert, Ascension Wisconsin, and Children's Wisconsin, with roughly 1,890 LPNs currently employed and wages tracking above the Wisconsin median. Program choice is narrower: a handful of accredited diplomas within commuting range of the 53203 zip, plus hybrid options that widen the menu without cutting the standard 10 to 12 month timeline.
The practical tension for most candidates is cost spread against pass rate, not speed.
Why Milwaukee Is a Strong Market for New LPNs
Six major health systems actively recruit LPNs, many from LPN programs in Wisconsin, across the Milwaukee-Waukesha metro: Advocate Aurora Health, Froedtert, Ascension Wisconsin, Children's Wisconsin, ProHealth Care, and the Clement J. Zablocki VA Medical Center. These organizations staff positions in family medicine clinics, pulmonary specialty offices, and outpatient behavioral health settings, giving new graduates exposure to varied patient populations without relocating.
Where Most LPNs Work Locally
Skilled nursing and long-term care facilities employ the largest share of Milwaukee-area LPNs. Employers such as Autumn Lake Healthcare, Aria of Brookfield, West Allis Nursing & Rehabilitation, and Saint John's on The Lake post openings year-round. Home health agencies, including Affiliated Home Health Care, Maxim Healthcare Services, and Gentiva/Heartland Home Health, also hire heavily, often offering flexible schedules suited to nurses juggling family or an LPN to RN in Wisconsin program. Staffing agencies like ShiftKey, Amergis Healthcare Staffing, and Supplemental Health Care place LPNs in per-diem and contract roles at nursing homes, corrections facilities, and specialty clinics.
IV Certification Expands Your Options
Wisconsin permits LPNs to administer IV medications under RN supervision once they complete state-recognized IV certification, a Specialty Certification for LPNs, and demonstrate competency. That credential qualifies you for infusion clinics, dialysis centers, and acute rehabilitation units where IV tasks are routine. Employers often list IV certification as a preferred or required qualification, so completing the training early can set you apart from other new graduates.
Nearby Cities Worth Watching
Don't limit your job search to Milwaukee proper. Waukesha, Brookfield, Racine, Kenosha, and West Bend each have skilled nursing facilities, outpatient clinics, and home health agencies recruiting LPNs. Waukesha County's Department of Health & Human Services, for example, hires LPNs for outpatient substance use and behavioral health clinics. Broadening your geographic radius to about 40 miles can double your interview opportunities.
LPN Pay in the Milwaukee Metro Area
LPN wages in the Milwaukee-Waukesha metro area run well above both the Wisconsin statewide median and the national median, making the region one of the more competitive markets for practical nurses in the upper Midwest. With roughly 1,890 LPNs employed across the metro, demand remains steady in long-term care, clinics, and specialty practices. The table below breaks out annual wage percentiles so you can see what entry-level, mid-career, and top-earning LPNs take home.
| Wage Percentile | Annual Salary |
|---|---|
| 10th Percentile | Not reported |
| 25th Percentile | $61,220 |
| Median (50th Percentile) | $65,410 |
| 75th Percentile | $77,770 |
| 90th Percentile | Not reported |
| Mean (Average) | $68,660 |
Accelerated and Evening LPN Programs Near Milwaukee
Can you actually finish LPN training in Milwaukee in six months? For nearly every program serving this metro, the honest answer is no. Wisconsin's practical nursing diplomas are built around a 10 to 12 month full-time timeline, and nothing in the current Milwaukee-area lineup breaks that pattern. Herzing University's Brookfield campus, just west of the city, runs its Practical Nursing Diploma on a 12-month track with six start dates spread across the year in 16-week semesters, which gives applicants flexible entry points in LPN/LVN Program Admissions without shrinking the actual coursework. MATC's Practical Nursing Technical Diploma, a 32-credit program based at the Downtown Milwaukee Campus, doesn't publish a one-semester completion option either, so treat any "6-month LPN" claim you see online with real skepticism.
Evening, Weekend, and Hybrid Realities
Don't expect a dedicated night-and-weekend cohort at either major provider. MATC's standard diploma is catalogued as in-person, and while individual courses can shift to online or hybrid formats depending on the term, there's no established evening-only or weekend-only track for adult learners outside of a dual-enrollment academy built for high schoolers. Herzing's model reflects the reality of Hybrid LPN Programs: general education courses can be taken online, but the clinical and core nursing coursework happens on campus in Brookfield, since no accredited PN program can be delivered entirely online.
What Accelerated Pacing Actually Means
Hands-on clinical hours are the fixed cost of LPN training, and they can't be compressed the way lecture time can. Programs that advertise faster completion are usually front-loading weekly hours rather than cutting content, so expect a demanding, near-full-time schedule regardless of which Milwaukee-area school you choose.
Related Articles
Tuition, Net Price, and Financial Aid for Milwaukee LPN Students
Tuition for a practical nursing diploma in the Milwaukee area ranges from roughly $5,600 at a public technical college to more than $20,000 at a private institution, so understanding the cost of LPN programs before you enroll is essential.
Sticker Tuition at a Glance
Milwaukee Area Technical College (MATC) charges in-district Wisconsin residents about $175.90 per credit for its practical nursing diploma. With total program costs reported near $5,646, the diploma remains one of the most affordable LPN programs in southeastern Wisconsin. Out-of-state students pay a higher per-credit rate, roughly $252 per credit.
Gateway Technical College posts a comparable figure: approximately $5,705 in tuition and fees for the full 30-credit program, plus an estimated $1,066 in books and supplies. Both schools sit within the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS), which keeps resident rates low.
Herzing University's practical nursing diploma costs $530 per credit across 37 semester credits, with an additional $850 program fee per semester. That puts base tuition in the neighborhood of $19,600 before living expenses, a significant jump from the public colleges. Herzing's 12-month timeline can offset some indirect costs like housing and lost wages, but the sticker price is still roughly three to four times higher than MATC or Gateway.
What You Actually Pay
Net price, which is sticker cost minus grants and scholarships, tells a more useful story. At MATC, the institution-wide average net price sits around $9,112 per year, reflecting the impact of federal and state aid. Gateway's average net price is roughly $12,928. Because the PN diploma itself is shorter and cheaper than a full associate degree, many students find their out-of-pocket obligation is lower still.
Funding Sources Worth Pursuing
No tuition-free LPN programs exist in Milwaukee, but several aid streams can dramatically reduce what you borrow.
- Pell Grant: Covers up to $7,395 per year for eligible students, often wiping out public-college tuition entirely.
- Wisconsin Grant (Technical College): Awards averaging $1,752 per year for Wisconsin residents enrolled at least half-time.
- WTCS Foundation scholarships: Smaller awards administered through each college's foundation office.
- Employer tuition reimbursement: Major health systems such as Advocate Aurora Health and Froedtert Health offer tuition assistance for employees pursuing nursing credentials.
Median federal debt at completion for MATC graduates is about $14,955, while Gateway graduates carry roughly $12,165. Choosing available grants first and borrowing only the gap keeps that number manageable.
Top LPN Programs for Milwaukee Students
Below are the top LPN programs serving Milwaukee students, ranked by completion outcomes, accreditation status, and program fit for the metro. Each entry sits within commuting range of the city and flags the tuition, licensure results, clinical placement, and scheduling details that matter most when you are picking a school.
How we ranked these
- Median graduate debt loads
- Institution-wide graduation rates
- Accreditation and licensure pass rates
- Fit for Milwaukee-area students
- Net price after financial aid
- IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
- College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Internal program database
- Independent editorial research
Milwaukee Area Technical College
Milwaukee Area Technical College is the city's public two-year college, and its ACEN-accredited Practical Nursing technical diploma is centered on the Downtown Milwaukee Campus, close to many of the hospitals, clinics, and long-term care employers where students complete clinical rotations. The diploma articulates into MATC's registered nursing associate degree, so LPNs can keep advancing without leaving the metro. Petition priority favors residents of the MATC district, and a dual enrollment academy lets area high school seniors start the practical nursing curriculum early. In-state tuition and fees run about $5,184 a year and about $7,427 out of state; the institution-wide graduation rate is roughly 25 percent, and graduates carry median debt near $15,000.
- ACEN accredited practical nursing technical diploma
- Ladders into MATC's registered nursing associate degree
- Roughly 32 credits with fall and spring start dates
- 120 seats total, split evenly between fall and spring cohorts
- TEAS score of 58.7% and a B minus or higher in anatomy required
- Nursing assistant training required before petitioning for admission
- In-state tuition about $5,184 a year; about $7,427 out of state
- Waitlist priority given to MATC district residents
Practical Nursing Technical Diploma — On-Campus
Bryant & Stratton College-Wauwatosa
Bryant & Stratton College's Wauwatosa campus sits inside the Milwaukee metro and offers an ACEN-accredited practical nursing diploma that can be completed in about 12 months across 41 credits. The campus is built around working adults, with extended evening and Saturday hours and a nursing pathway that stacks from the LPN diploma into an associate degree and then a bachelor's degree without leaving southeastern Wisconsin. Clinical internships are part of the curriculum, with placements in hospital and long-term care settings. Listed tuition and fees come to about $20,288, median debt for graduates who borrowed is near $21,500, and the institution-wide graduation rate is roughly 20 percent.
- ACEN accredited and approved by the Wisconsin Board of Nursing
- 12-month, 41-credit diploma taught on campus
- Evening and Saturday class hours for working adults
- $0 application fee
- Credits transfer into the associate nursing degree and RN pathway
- Coursework includes IV therapy, pharmacology, and surgical nursing
- Clinical internship component arranged with partner sites
- Prepares students for the NCLEX-PN licensure exam
Practical Nursing Diploma — On-Campus
Gateway Technical College
Gateway Technical College is the regional public option just south of the metro, serving Kenosha, Racine, and Walworth county students with a 30-credit Practical Nursing technical diploma taught at the Racine and Elkhorn campuses. The college rebuilt the credential as a standalone LPN diploma while keeping an articulation path into its nursing associate degree, and it offers three start dates a year. Recent cohorts report a first-time NCLEX-PN pass rate of 95 percent, and the college publishes a median earnings figure of $73,195 for program graduates, though it does not state the time frame behind that number. In-state tuition and fees are about $4,956, about $7,199 out of state, and the institution-wide graduation rate is roughly 51 percent.
- ACEN accredited 30-credit practical nursing technical diploma
- Three start dates a year: fall, spring, and summer
- $5,646 total program tuition reported by the college
- 95% first-time NCLEX-PN pass rate reported by the college
- Taught at the Racine and Elkhorn campuses
- Articulates into Gateway's nursing associate degree
- Prior learning credit accepted for qualifying students
- COVID-19 vaccination required for clinical placements







