LPN Programs in Kenosha, WI 2027

LPN Programs in Kenosha, WI 2027
Updated September 21, 202624 min read

LPN Programs in Kenosha, Wisconsin 2027

Compare the LPN programs Kenosha students can actually attend — cost, length, schedule, pass rates and RN bridge routes.

Kenosha sits in a tight corridor between Milwaukee and Chicago (see Milwaukee LPN programs), and that geography shrinks the practical nursing map to a handful of realistic commuting options rather than the dozens Google suggests. Most local searches converge on two names: Gateway Technical College and Herzing University. Both enroll Kenosha-area students, but only Herzing University teaches its practical nursing program at a Kenosha street address; Gateway Technical College's program meets at its Racine and Elkhorn campuses, which matters more than the school's name once you start mapping drive times and clinical rotation sites.

The sections cover actual tuition figures, entrance requirements, published NCLEX-PN results, class schedules, Wisconsin licensure steps, and the LPN-to-RN and LPN-to-BSN bridge routes. Program directories change tuition and seat counts often enough that a page like this needs periodic rechecking, not a one-time read.

Jump straight to the program list →

Kenosha's LPN Employers: Long-Term Care, Clinics, and Correctional Nursing

If you get licensed as an LPN in Kenosha, you will almost certainly start your career in a skilled nursing facility, a community clinic, a home health agency, or a correctional infirmary, not on a hospital medical-surgical floor. That is the structural reality of Wisconsin's practical nursing market, and it should shape where you apply to school and which clinical rotations you seek out.

Where the Jobs Actually Sit

Southeastern Wisconsin health systems have narrowed inpatient LPN hiring over the past decade, pushing the role into post-acute and ambulatory settings. Kenosha County's current LPN openings reflect that shift: roughly 19 active postings on any given day, with about 30% part-time, and an average time-to-hire near 52 days.1 Mean LPN pay in Kenosha runs about $34.59 per hour, close to the statewide $35.79.1

The local employer mix breaks down into a few clear buckets:

  • Long-term care and rehab: Brookside Care Center (a county-affiliated facility that also serves as a clinical site for Gateway Technical College and Herzing University) pays roughly $27.54 to $31.29 per hour.2 ClearSky Rehabilitation Hospital of Kenosha runs 36-hour weeks at $29 to $34 per hour and has posted signing bonuses up to $10,000.3 Clairidge House Nursing Home hires regularly.4
  • Clinics and community health: Kenosha Community Health Center (Pillar Health) staffs LPNs in primary care and behavioral health at about $25 to $27 per hour, 40 hours per week.5
  • Home health and hospice LPN: Kenosha home health LPN roles pay $25 to $34.25 per hour; statewide average sits near $30.6
  • Correctional and public sector: VitalCore Health Strategies staffs the Kenosha County Detention Center at $32 to $34 per hour, often overnight.7 The County of Kenosha itself posts LPN roles at $27.54 to $35.05.3
  • Per diem and contract: Nursa lists Kenosha per diem shifts around $49.75 per hour.4 Milwaukee contract LPN work ranges $24 to $54.8

What This Means for Program Choice

Many Kenosha residents commute south to Gurnee or Waukegan, which requires Illinois licensure by endorsement, an extra application but not a second NCLEX. Pick LPN programs in Wisconsin whose clinical placements sit in long-term care, community clinics, or corrections. If your rotations are all inpatient hospital shadowing, your resume will not match what local employers are hiring for.

Can You Do It Online? Hybrid Coursework and the 6-Month LPN Myth

Search results for "online LPN programs in Kenosha WI" turn up plenty of ads, but the honest answer is that no fully online entry-level practical nursing program exists here, or anywhere in the country. Lab skills checkoffs (starting IVs, giving injections, demonstrating sterile technique) and supervised clinical hours in real facilities have to happen in person, because that's what keeps a program eligible for state approval and national accreditation.

What "Hybrid" Actually Means Locally

At Herzing University's Kenosha campus, hybrid LPN programs mean general education courses move online while the core practical nursing coursework stays on campus. Gateway Technical College's LPN pathway similarly blends classroom instruction with online components, but lab days and clinical rotations are fixed, in-person commitments. The Wisconsin Technical College System's shared LPN pathway gets marketed in some directories as "offered completely online," which is misleading. Clinical hours still happen at approved facilities regardless of how the lecture content is delivered.

Where the "6-Month LPN" Claim Comes From

The six-month timeline usually originates from accelerated LPN programs in other states, or from marketing that blends theory-only online coursework with vague promises about clinical placement "later." Wisconsin practical nursing programs generally run three to four semesters. Herzing's Kenosha diploma is published at 12 months, which appears to be the fastest realistic completion window among established programs serving this area. Treat any local claim of six months with real skepticism until you can verify it against the school's own published curriculum.

Verify Before You Enroll

If an out-of-state "online LPN" program is advertising to Kenosha residents, confirm two things before applying: that the program is approved by the Wisconsin Board of Nursing, and that its accreditation is one Wisconsin recognizes for licensure purposes. A diploma that fails those two checks won't let you sit for the NCLEX-PN in Wisconsin, no matter how fast or flexible it looked.

If your real priority is flexibility around a job or family schedule, an evening or weekend cohort at a Wisconsin-approved program will serve you better than chasing an online format that doesn't exist for entry-level practical nursing.

Which Campuses Actually Teach Practical Nursing Near Kenosha

The "Kenosha" program is actually taught in two other towns

Gateway Technical College is the main public practical nursing option for Kenosha students, but its Practical Nursing program does not meet at the Kenosha Campus at 3520 30th Ave. The technical diploma is listed at the Racine Campus (1001 S. Main St., about 20 miles north-northwest of downtown Kenosha) and the Elkhorn Campus (400 County Road H, about 33 miles west-southwest).1 Gateway's Inspire Center next to the Kenosha Campus offers nursing-related course facilities, but it is not the Practical Nursing program location. If you choose Gateway, plan to commute to Racine or Elkhorn, not the Kenosha address.

Herzing and the Milwaukee-area commute

Herzing University runs its Diploma in Practical Nursing at its Kenosha campus, 5800 7th Ave, with didactic, lab, and clinical components on campus. Before planning around Herzing, confirm the current PN cohort schedule and admission deadlines directly. Milwaukee-area alternatives add real I-94 driving time. Milwaukee Area Technical College's MATC LPN program is based at its Milwaukee campus with campus-based classroom and clinical work, a waiting list, and 60 seats per semester. Bryant & Stratton College in Wauwatosa offers a 12-month campus-based diploma with ACEN accreditation. Both sit closer to downtown Milwaukee than Kenosha, so calculate the drive before you commit.

Northern Illinois and campus-specific seats

Across the state line, several Illinois providers are within driving distance but not all are next-door. Oakton College in Des Plaines offers a campus practical nursing certificate, but the program is designed for students already enrolled in its Associate Degree Nursing track, so it may not be a standalone entry point. Harper College in Palatine offers an ACEN-accredited campus certificate with fall and spring starts and requires CNA completion for admission. Ambria College of Nursing in Hoffman Estates runs a 12-month campus program with day and evening schedules, while Americare Technical School in Park Ridge uses a hybrid format with weekend classes, which can reduce weekly commuting. Gateway's Racine and Elkhorn cohorts are separate campus listings, so available seats can differ by campus. Applying to both Gateway locations is a legitimate way to widen your odds without leaving the same college system.

Program Costs Compared: Tuition, Fees, Books, and Total Length

Sticker price is where Kenosha-area practical nursing options separate sharply. Gateway Technical College publishes the lowest full-program tuition of the schools listed here, while the private diploma route at Herzing University's Kenosha campus runs several times higher for a program of similar length, and College of Lake County across the Illinois line charges by the credit with extra nursing course fees stacked on top. Read the fees and books column as carefully as the tuition column, since uniforms, testing, and course-specific nursing fees are where budgets quietly break.

Program / Teaching CampusEstimated Tuition (Full Program)Fees, Books & SuppliesProgram LengthFormat
Gateway Technical College, Practical Nursing Technical Diploma (Kenosha and Elkhorn campuses)$5,705 (estimated, full program)$1,066 estimated for fees, books, and supplies33 creditsOn-campus technical diploma
Herzing University, Diploma in Practical Nursing (Kenosha campus, 5800 7th Ave)$19,610 tuition only (37 credits at $530 per credit)Not published in the program tuition materials reviewed37 semester credits, about 12 monthsCampus-based diploma with classroom, lab, and clinical components
College of Lake County, Practical Nursing Certificate (Grayslake, Illinois, a common Kenosha commuter option)$178 per credit for in-district students ($144.77 tuition plus $33.23 comprehensive fees), 2026 to 2027 ratesVariable nursing course fees of $80 per credit hour on selected nursing courses (examples include $640 for an 8-credit course, $480 for a 6-credit course, and $240 for a 3-credit course)Catalog financial planning is based on two semesters at 14 credits per semesterOn-campus nursing program
Saint Louis College of Health Careers, Practical Nursing Diploma (regional comparator outside the Kenosha radius)$12,350 for the first academic year at $475 per credit$200 program fee line plus $1,460.26 identified for books and supplies in the catalog addendumNot stated in the published tuition addendumCampus-based diploma with per-credit tuition

Getting in: Prerequisites, Entrance Exams, and Background Checks

Gateway and Herzing both run rolling admissions rather than a single hard cutoff, but the two schools screen applicants differently. Gateway gates entry on prerequisite science and nursing assistant coursework plus a HESI A2 score; Herzing tiers applicants so a stronger GPA can waive the entrance exam entirely. Read each requirement below against your own transcript before you pay an application fee, and confirm current details with an admissions advisor, these thresholds do get revised between catalog years.

  • High school diploma or equivalent
    Herzing requires a high school diploma, HSED, or GED. Gateway accepts high school completion as one of several entry measures, including a high school GPA of 2.6 or a college GPA of 2.0 (short-term diplomas such as nursing assistant, EMT, and truck driving do not count toward its technical diploma pathway).
  • Program application
    Apply to the college first, then to the practical nursing program itself. Gateway advises submitting at least two weeks before the term you want to start; Herzing accepts applications year-round.
  • Prerequisite coursework (Gateway)
    General Anatomy & Physiology with a B- or better and Nursing Assistant with a C or better, plus college-level reading and writing placement, to reach what Gateway calls core-ready status.
  • Prerequisite coursework (Herzing)
    Anatomy & Physiology with a B or better is what moves applicants into the mid-tier admission track. Herzing does not publish additional prerequisite courses for the Kenosha practical nursing program.
  • Entrance exam
    Gateway uses the HESI A2, with a composite of 70% or higher and no published section minimums; scores are accepted for two years. Herzing uses the TEAS, with a published composite of 48 for applicants entering on the lowest GPA tier.
  • Exam waivers by GPA (Herzing)
    A 3.50–4.00 GPA can be admitted without a science course or TEAS score; 3.00–3.49 needs a B+ in A&P but no TEAS; 2.00 and above requires the TEAS composite. Herzing's general nursing admissions page cites a 2.5 GPA minimum, so verify which figure applies to your start term.
  • GPA minimums
    Gateway: 2.6 high school or 2.0 college. Herzing: 2.0 for the program page's lowest tier.
  • Background check
    Both programs require a criminal background check before clinical placement. Gateway orders the check through the college and requires document upload within 30 days; a late upload may mean repeating the check. A positive result can limit or block clinical placement and licensure.
  • Immunizations, TB testing, CPR, and drug screening
    Clinical sites in Kenosha County routinely require current immunizations, TB screening, CPR certification, and a drug screen. Neither program publishes a detailed list of these health requirements online, so expect them to arrive as separate onboarding paperwork after acceptance.
  • Deadlines and cohort starts
    Neither school posts a fixed 2026 application deadline. Gateway's starts follow its academic calendar, and Herzing has not published specific Kenosha cohort start dates, call admissions for the next available seat.
  • How competitive is it
    Neither program publishes cohort size or a points-based ranking formula. Functionally, both operate closer to rolling, requirement-driven admission than a scored competition: meet the prerequisites and exam threshold early, because clinical capacity, not the application deadline, is what limits seats.

Day Schedules, Night Clinicals, and Whether You Can Keep Your Job

The real question isn't whether you can afford an LPN program in Kenosha, it's whether your job and your household can survive the schedule. Practical nursing cohorts front-load lecture and lab hours, then shift into clinical rotations that run on the hospital's clock, not yours, and that transition is where most students underestimate the commitment.

What a Typical Week Looks Like

Gateway Technical College's practical nursing diploma, taught at its Elkhorn and Racine campuses, offers both full-time and part-time tracks. Full-time students should budget a mix of classroom lecture days, skills-lab sessions, and clinical shift blocks that together resemble a part-time job in hours alone, often extending into full workdays once clinicals begin. Part-time enrollment spreads that same coursework over more semesters, which stretches total program length but keeps weekly hours more manageable for students who can't step away from work entirely.

Herzing University's Kenosha campus, at 5800 7th Ave, runs a 12-month practical nursing program. Evening and night availability varies by course and term, so ask admissions directly rather than assuming a set evening track exists.

Where You'll Actually Work

LPN clinicals for Kenosha-area students typically run through skilled nursing facilities, rehab centers, and outpatient clinics rather than acute hospital floors. Herzing's program has historically partnered with local rehab and care centers for hands-on training.1 Because seat availability at any single site is limited, some students are assigned rotations in Racine County or as far as Burlington, which adds commute time on top of clinical hours.

Keeping Your Job While Enrolled

During lecture-heavy LPN school terms, many students hold onto part-time work, evenings or weekends, without much conflict. Once clinical rotations start, that flexibility narrows fast. Daytime clinical blocks often collide directly with standard work shifts, and clinical schedules are typically locked by the school, not negotiable around your employer's calendar. Scheduling conflicts, not academic struggle, are the most common reason students pause or withdraw.

Before enrolling, ask an advisor exactly when clinical assignments are released, how far in advance schedules lock, and whether any evening or weekend clinical options exist for your cohort.

How Do Nearby Practical Nursing Programs Score on the NCLEX-PN?

First-time NCLEX-PN pass rates are the closest thing to a scoreboard for practical nursing programs, and they are worth checking before you sign an enrollment agreement. Below are the most recent published first-time rates for programs within driving range of Kenosha, with Wisconsin's statewide first-time rate as a benchmark. Note the reporting years: they differ from program to program because schools and the state publish on separate cycles.

First-time NCLEX-PN pass rates from 80 to 100 percent at six Wisconsin practical nursing programs versus 92.9 percent statewide

Wisconsin LPN Licensure at a Glance

LPN Wages in Kenosha, Racine, and Milwaukee

What can you actually expect to earn as an LPN once you're working in Kenosha, or if you commute into Racine or Milwaukee? The honest answer is that federal wage trackers don't publish a clean, current breakout for LPN pay specifically in the Racine or Milwaukee metro areas, so the closest reliable reference points come from national figures and from the Chicago metro, which sits close enough to Kenosha to matter for anyone who works across the state line.

National Benchmarks

Nationally, LPNs earned a median of $28.72 an hour, or roughly $59,730 a year, as of the most recent full federal wage survey. Pay spreads widely by shift, setting, and experience: the bottom tenth of earners made around $45,670 annually, while the top tenth cleared close to $77,870. Wisconsin LPNs typically land somewhere in that range, though a precise statewide median isn't currently available from the standard federal release.

Why Chicago Numbers Matter for Kenosha

Kenosha sits close enough to the Illinois border that wage gravity from the Chicago metro pulls on local pay expectations, especially for nurses willing to commute. Recent data for the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin metro area put average LPN pay noticeably above the national mean, and a more localized Illinois figure for the Chicago-Naperville-Schaumburg area showed average hourly pay even higher still.2 These numbers describe employer averages rather than a strict median, so treat them as a rough ceiling rather than a guaranteed local wage.

What This Means for Job Seekers

  • Milwaukee and Racine: No dedicated recent wage breakout is currently published for LPNs in these metros specifically, so use the national median as your starting reference point and confirm current postings for LPN programs in Milwaukee before assuming a number.
  • Kenosha proper: Pay likely tracks close to state and national medians, with long-term care and corrections roles sometimes offering shift differentials that push effective hourly pay higher.
  • Commuting south: Chicago-area facilities have shown meaningfully higher average pay, which is part of why some Kenosha LPNs work across the border.

Treat all of these LPN career outlook figures as directional. Confirm current openings and posted pay before making a decision based on wage data alone.

Ranked: Practical Nursing Programs Within Reach of Kenosha

Below are the top practical nursing programs serving Kenosha students, ranked by IPEDS completion data, accreditation status, and program fit. The order weighs how reachable each campus is from Kenosha against net price after aid, institution-wide completion and retention signals, and whether instruction is delivered in person or in a blended format.

How we ranked these

Factors considered
  1. Median graduate debt
  2. Institutional graduation rates
  3. Net price after aid
  4. Commuting distance from Kenosha
  5. Delivery format and scheduling
Data sources
  • IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Internal program database
  • Independent editorial research
GA

Gateway Technical College

Kenosha, WI · ~$13,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution
Best for: Kenosha residents training close to home

Gateway is the only practical nursing program based in Kenosha itself, and it reports a first-time NCLEX-PN pass rate around 95%. The 30-credit technical diploma starts three times a year, with coursework at the college's Elkhorn and Racine campuses and prior learning credit for CNAs, medics, and military training. Net price after aid is about $12,928 for federal-aid students, and median debt for completers is around $12,165. A defined LPN-to-ADN bridge keeps graduates at the same college for the next step.

  • Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Gateway Technical College
    ACEN accredited
    • 30-credit technical diploma, roughly three semesters of full-time study
    • Start dates in fall, spring, and summer
    • First-time NCLEX-PN pass rate reported around 95%
    • Clinical training at the college's Elkhorn and Racine campuses
    • Prior learning credit for CNA experience, military training, or college work
    • Articulates into Gateway's associate degree in nursing
    • Program tuition listed at about $5,646
    • Some nursing courses only partly covered by federal financial aid
    Visit Website
OA

Oakton College

Des Plaines, IL · ~$5,000/yr (est.)

Best for: ADN students adding an LPN credential

Oakton's one-year LPN certificate is built for students already enrolled in its associate degree in nursing, so it works as a credential earned on the way to RN licensure rather than a standalone endpoint. The 39-credit sequence runs across fall, spring, and summer. Net price after aid is about $5,183, the lowest reported among the programs here, with median debt for completers around $5,250. Instruction takes place on campus in Des Plaines, Illinois.

  • Practical Nursing (LPN) Certificate — On-Campus
    Oakton College
    • 39 credit hours, one-year certificate pathway
    • Open only to students also enrolled in the ADN program
    • Coursework spans fall, spring, and summer semesters
    • Covers maternal-child nursing, chronic illness, and pharmacology
    • Requires Human Anatomy and Physiology II
    • Prepares graduates for NCLEX-PN licensure
    • Emphasis on therapeutic communication and patient advocacy
    • Graduates work in hospitals, clinics, and long-term care
    Visit Website
WI

William Rainey Harper College

Palatine, IL · ~$12,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution
Best for: Career changers with CNA experience

Harper's 38-credit practical nursing certificate is ACEN accredited and admits small, limited-enrollment cohorts twice a year. The college runs a simulated hospital lab alongside real clinical placements, and the certificate stacks into its Nursing AAS degree for graduates who want to continue. Net price after aid is about $11,607, with median debt for completers around $10,184. Instruction happens in person in Palatine, Illinois.

  • Practical Nursing (PN) Certificate — On-Campus
    William Rainey Harper College
    ACEN accredited
    • ACEN accredited, 38 credit hours
    • Fall and spring start dates
    • CNA certification required before admission
    • State-of-the-art simulated hospital lab plus real clinical placements
    • Program reports a 100% licensure pass rate
    • Program reports 71% job placement
    • Stacks directly into the Nursing AAS degree
    • Prerequisite courses and limited-enrollment cohorts
    Visit Website
MI

Milwaukee Area Technical College

Milwaukee, WI · ~$9,000/yr (est.)

MATC's ACEN-accredited practical nursing diploma covers 32 credits and ladders into the college's registered nursing associate degree. Admission is competitive: about 60 seats per semester, a waiting list, a 2.5 GPA minimum, and a TEAS score requirement. Net price after aid is about $9,112, while median debt for completers is around $14,955. Classes and clinicals run in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

  • Practical Nursing Technical Diploma — On-Campus
    Milwaukee Area Technical College
    ACEN accredited
    • ACEN accredited, 32 credits
    • Fall and spring starts, around 60 seats per semester
    • Admission requires a 2.5 GPA and anatomy with a B- or better
    • TEAS score of 58.7% required
    • Clinical experiences in nursing homes and hospitals
    • Waiting list admission process
    • Ladders into the registered nursing associate degree
    Visit Website
AM

Ambria College of Nursing

Hoffman Estates, IL

Ambria is a nursing-focused college whose 12-month LPN program runs day and evening classes with full-time and part-time options. The school holds Illinois Board of Higher Education approval and maintains an LPN-to-RN bridge for graduates. Net price after aid is not reported for this campus; median debt among federal borrowers who finished is around $15,438. Instruction takes place in Hoffman Estates, Illinois.

  • LPN Program, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Ambria College of Nursing
    • 12-month LPN program
    • Day and evening classes with full-time and part-time options
    • Spring and summer start dates
    • Approved by the Illinois Board of Higher Education
    • LPN-to-RN bridge for graduates
    • Free information session webinars and campus tours
    Visit Website
BR

Bryant & Stratton College-Wauwatosa

Wauwatosa, WI · $15,000/yr (est. net price)

Bryant & Stratton's Wauwatosa campus delivers a 12-month, 41-credit practical nursing diploma with clinical internships through partner hospital systems. The program is ACEN accredited and approved by the Wisconsin Board of Nursing, and its credits transfer into the associate nursing degree. Net price after aid is about $14,858, the highest reported here, and median debt for completers is around $21,549. Instruction is entirely on campus in Wauwatosa, Wisconsin.

  • Practical Nursing Diploma — On-Campus
    Bryant & Stratton College-Wauwatosa
    ACEN accredited
    • ACEN accredited, 41 credit hours
    • 12-month practical nursing diploma
    • No application fee
    • Covers anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, IV therapy, and surgical nursing
    • Credits transfer into the associate nursing degree
    • Approved by the Wisconsin Board of Nursing
    • Clinical internships with HCA Hospitals and Sentara Healthcare
    Visit Website
AM

Americare Technical School

Park Ridge, IL · ~$21,000/yr (est.)

Americare runs a hybrid practical nursing program built around morning, evening, and weekend classes, which suits students who need to keep working while they train. Admission requires a TEAS score, CPR certification, and a clean background check. Tuition is listed at $18,750 plus about $1,750 in fees, and net price after aid is not reported for this school. Classroom work and clinical experience are based in Park Ridge, Illinois.

  • Practical Nursing Program, Certificate or Diploma — Hybrid
    Americare Technical School
    • Morning, evening, and weekend class options
    • Blends classroom instruction with clinical experience
    • TEAS entrance exam required
    • CPR certification and a clean background check required
    • Covers pediatrics, obstetrics, geriatrics, and pharmacology
    • Financial aid available for those who qualify
    • Tuition listed at $18,750, with about $1,750 in fees
    Visit Website
The shortest path to LPN licensure in Kenosha still runs about 12 months of full-time practical nursing coursework, not the 6 months some ads promise.
practicalnursing.org

Moving up: LPN-to-ADN and LPN-to-BSN Routes Near Kenosha

A Kenosha LPN has two realistic LPN to RN bridge programs: an LPN-to-ADN bridge at Gateway Technical College and an LPN-to-BSN bridge through Herzing University. Both recognize your license and work history, but they serve different timelines and career goals.

The LPN-to-ADN Bridge at Gateway

Gateway Technical College's LPN to ADN bridge programs place current LPNs directly into third-semester ADN nursing courses. The full ADN totals 66 credits and lists $12,551 in tuition and fees plus $5,349 in books and supplies, but those figures apply to the full program, not the bridge-only portion. Your remaining cost depends on how many earlier credits are waived, and Gateway does not publish an exact advanced-standing credit count.

Requirements are clearer: a current Wisconsin LPN license, transcripts, 2,000 hours of LPN work in the past five years on employer letterhead, a 2.6 high school GPA or 2.0 college GPA with 12 credits or other placement measures, a HESI score of 850, and background screening.

Herzing University LPN-to-BSN Bridge

Herzing runs its LPN to BSN programs in Wisconsin across Kenosha, Brookfield, and Madison with rolling admission. The program is built as a 120-credit, 28-month path, and it accepts LPNs alongside paramedics, military medics, respiratory therapists, and cardiovascular technologists. The minimum GPA is 2.5. Herzing recognizes prior LPN education, but it does not spell out a fixed number of awarded or waived credits, so request a transfer evaluation before you enroll. The BSN route matters if you want hospital-based RN roles that increasingly favor bachelor's preparation.

Why Work as an LPN First

A year of LPN work is often the smartest bridge prerequisite. Gateway's 2,000-hour requirement effectively pushes many applicants into at least a year of bedside or long-term care practice. That work can strengthen your application, and some employers offer tuition assistance that reduces the bridge cost. Clinical hours also teach time management under real patient loads.

The Payoff and Next Step

The wage section earlier shows LPN pay in Kenosha, Racine, and Milwaukee. Use that hourly difference against the bridge cost: even a modest regional RN premium can repay the program within a few years, and the BSN route extends that earnings runway further.

Start planning now, not after graduation. Contact Gateway's nursing admissions office during your first PN semester to confirm HESI dates, work-hour verification, and term starts. For the BSN path, ask Herzing admissions for a transcript review and current prerequisite list.

Recent Articles

See all articles

In this article

Follow us