Enrollment pressure in nursing programs has turned the interim credential question into a live one: students who already hold a seat in an RN program want a license and a paycheck before graduation, not after it.
Sometimes that works. A small number of state boards accept an RN student's completed practical nursing coursework as equivalent to LPN training, and Florida writes that route directly into its NCLEX-PN application. But exam eligibility hinges on a second condition most students never check: whether their own program will formally certify the coursework to the board. Board permission without a school signature goes nowhere.
The gate is administrative before it is academic. Students with solid fundamentals still sit out the NCLEX-PN when nobody at their school will put the certification in writing.
Short Answer: Is an LPN License During RN School Possible?
Every state board of nursing ties NCLEX-PN eligibility to nursing education it has approved, so an RN student cannot simply walk in and sit for the LPN exam. The short answer is maybe, and it depends on two gatekeepers: your state board of nursing and your RN program's approved pathway. The board decides eligibility; the school decides what it will certify.
Two Gatekeepers, One Decision
The board's rules come first. Some boards publish a specific practical nursing exit pathway for RN students; others review transcripts and course outcomes case by case. Your school then has to certify that you completed the practical nursing coursework or reached the program's formal PN exit point. A school may offer a practical nursing track inside its associate degree program, but that track means little if the board does not recognize it for NCLEX-PN purposes. Check the board first, then the school.
Three Scenarios You Will Encounter
- Formal PN exit option: The RN program has a defined practical nursing exit point, and the board recognizes it. You may need a separate application to the practical nursing portion. This is the cleanest route.
- School-certified equivalency: No separate PN certificate, but the school will document that your completed coursework meets practical nursing outcomes. Board approval is still required, and this route depends on a program director's willingness to put the certification in writing.
- No option at all: The program has no PN exit and will not certify equivalency, or the board does not accept RN coursework for LPN licensure.
This path is less common than it once was. Many boards tightened rules around separate licensure, and many RN programs dropped formal PN exit points as they focused on the RN credential.
Can You Test Without School?
Generally, no. Every board requires completed or approved nursing education before you can sit for the NCLEX-PN. Self-study, work experience, or a pending RN acceptance letter does not substitute for that requirement.
Start with the board's licensing pages, then bring the specific rule to your program director. If the board says no, the school cannot make it yes.
How State Boards Decide NCLEX-PN Eligibility for RN Students
Florida is the clearest case of a state that writes an equivalency route for RN students into its NCLEX-PN application. The other boards below either tie eligibility to a completed practical nursing program or leave the mid-program question unaddressed, so treat any "maybe" as a prompt to call the board before you pay an application fee. If you study in Texas, Ohio, Pennsylvania or Illinois, ask your board of nursing directly whether it accepts RN coursework as practical nursing equivalency.
| State | Board of Nursing | Can an RN Student Sit for the NCLEX-PN Mid-Program? | Conditions or Coursework Required | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| California | California Board of Registered Nursing | No mid-program pathway is identified in the board's licensure-by-examination rules | Applicants must complete an educational program that meets all California requirements before taking the NCLEX-RN; no practical nurse equivalency route is described | Licensure by Examination, California Board of Registered Nursing |
| Florida | Florida Board of Nursing | Yes, through practical nurse equivalency (PNEQ); the rule does not state that the full RN program must be finished first | Professional nursing courses passed with a C- or better, including both theory and clinical instruction in medical-surgical, obstetric, pediatric and geriatric nursing; completed coursework must be at least equivalent to a practical nursing program under Florida Statutes section 464.008(1)(c) | Nursing Examination Application, Florida Board of Nursing |
| New York | New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions | Not expressly addressed; applicants qualify when the school verifies their education, but the requirements do not state that RN students may test mid-program | Licensure application and fee, education verified by the school directly to NYSED, registration with Pearson VUE, and passing the applicable NCLEX | License Requirements: RN & LPN, New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions |
| Georgia | Georgia Board of Nursing | Not stated; the board describes a pre-licensure practical nursing program as the route that prepares students for the NCLEX-PN | Completion of a pre-licensure practical nursing education program; passing the NCLEX-PN or NCLEX-RN is a condition of licensure; no RN-student equivalency or mid-program coursework rule is described | Nursing Education, Georgia Secretary of State, Georgia Board of Nursing |
Why Your RN Program Has to Certify Practical Nursing Coursework
Who actually confirms that your RN coursework counts as practical nursing training? In states that allow this route, your RN program does. Boards do not accept a student's own list of finished classes. A school official has to document that what you completed lines up with the state's practical nursing standards.
Start With Your State Board's Own Documents
On your board of nursing website, search for phrases like "LPN by equivalency," "NCLEX-PN eligibility nursing student," "former RN student practical nurse," and "course completion verification." Then read the FAQ and application pages closely. Two examples show what to look for:
- South Carolina: The LPN Equivalency Fact Sheet has the RN program's Nursing Administrator verify study "substantially similar" to state minimums. That includes at least 41 semester credits, with 3 in fundamentals, 6 in medical-surgical nursing with clinical, 5 in life-span nursing with clinical, and 8 in anatomy and physiology.1 The Administrator submits the Course Completion Verification Form for LPN by Equivalency. Transcripts must cover every RN program you attended and carry the registrar's signature and seal.
- Massachusetts: Eligibility is tied to official withdrawal from an approved professional nursing program.2 The school sends transcripts directly, along with an attestation listing entry and withdrawal dates, good standing, and theory and clinical clock hours. It also confirms content in medical, surgical, pediatric, obstetrical, and mental-health nursing. Clinical hours are broken out by direct patient care, high-fidelity simulation, virtual simulation, and other activities. A course counts only if both its theory and clinical parts are finished.
Some boards publish only practical nursing program-length rules, such as New York's minimum of 2 semesters for college programs or 9 months for non-college agencies. Those rules alone do not create an equivalency pathway. If that is all you can find, call the board and ask directly.
Questions to Bring to Your Nursing Department
- Who is the designated official who signs board verification forms?
- Has the program completed this form before, and at what point in the curriculum?
- Which courses map to fundamentals, medical-surgical, maternal-child, pediatric, and mental-health content?
- How are clinical hours recorded by content area and by simulation versus direct care?
- Does a course in progress count, or only completed ones?
Also search your student handbook for "progression," "exit option," or "LPN eligibility," and request official sealed transcripts from the registrar.
Confirm in Writing Before You Register
Ask for a course-by-course map showing which semesters and clinical hours the school will certify. BLS.gov and professional nursing associations offer useful licensing context. Your state board's written rules are what decide eligibility.
Can an ADN or BSN Student Take the NCLEX-PN? Named Programs and Milestones
BSN students usually assume more school means more options, but here the shorter degree often wins: the realistic route to an NCLEX-PN seat mid-program runs through an associate degree curriculum, not a university bachelor's.
ADN Curricula More Often Carry a PN Exit
The clearest published example is Northeast Community College in Nebraska. ADN students who finish the first three semesters are awarded a Practical Nursing diploma (42 credits) and may sit for the NCLEX-PN; those who continue through the final two semesters complete the 69-credit ADN and become eligible for the NCLEX-RN.1 One curriculum, two off-ramps.
South Carolina offers two more. Tri-County Technical College lets students who complete the first year of the AAS nursing program earn a practical nursing certificate and NCLEX-PN eligibility, then return for the second year and the NCLEX-RN. Trident Technical College publishes a three-semester, 43-credit Practical Nursing Diploma that can serve as an exit point before ADN progression, with graduates eligible to apply for the NCLEX-PN.2
Why BSN Students Hit a Wall
First-year BSN coursework is typically prerequisites: anatomy and physiology, microbiology, chemistry, general education. The practical nursing content a state board would need to certify arrives later, often in the junior year, so there is no clean mid-point at which a BSN student holds a complete PN curriculum.
Read the Catalog Carefully
Search hits mislead. Pasco-Hernando State College in Florida surfaces in LPN-related searches because of its LPN-to-ADN transition, which awards 17 semester hours of advanced credit to licensed LPNs heading toward the NCLEX-RN.3 Cincinnati State runs RN-to-BSN and LPN-to-ADN tracks with similar prior-LPN credit. Both assume you already hold the license; neither creates a path to it.
Look for wording like "PN exit option," "ladder," "advanced placement," or "practical nursing certificate exit." Rules and credit counts change between catalog years, so confirm against the current catalog and your state board before you plan around it.
Related Articles
Step-by-Step: How to Apply for the NCLEX-PN Mid-Program
Two students file the same NCLEX-PN paperwork and get very different timelines. One applies cold, with nothing but a transcript and a hope that the board accepts it. The other applies after the RN program has already signed off on the practical nursing portion of the curriculum. The steps below are identical for both. The waiting is not.
The Sequence to Follow
- Confirm eligibility with your board first. Call or email the state board of nursing before you pay anything. Ask specifically whether a student enrolled in an RN program can be declared eligible for the NCLEX-PN, and what the program must submit. Keep the reply.
- Get school certification. Your program supplies the board with evidence of your practical nursing coursework and clinical hours. Whether that is a form, a letter, or a transcript addendum depends entirely on the board.
- Submit the board application. The state sets its own application fee at this stage; it is not part of the exam fee.1
- Complete fingerprints and the background check. These fees are separate again, and the vendor and amount are state-specific.
- Wait for the Authorization to Test. The board declares you eligible, then Pearson VUE emails the ATT. Pearson says registration confirmation should arrive within two days; if it does not, contact Candidate Services rather than registering twice.2
- Register with Pearson VUE. You will need the program code, an email address, and a payment method.4 The exam fee is $200 for U.S. licensure candidates in 2026.1
What It Costs and How Long It Takes
Budget three separate payments: the state board application fee, the fingerprint or background check, and the $200 exam fee. State fees are set by each board and were not published in the sources reviewed here, so verify the current amount with your board before paying. The ATT is typically valid around 90 days, though the board sets the exact window.3
Timing is the honest weak point. A standalone LPN graduate is certified at program completion, so the board review starts immediately. A mid-program applicant waits while the school produces documents it does not routinely handle. Expect the school document step, not the board, to be your bottleneck.
Where Applications Stall
- Late school documents: a program that has never certified an RN student mid-curriculum may take weeks to figure out the form.
- Name mismatches: the name on your application, transcript, and ID must match.
- Background check flags: resolve questions with the board early rather than after paying.
Registration stays open for 365 days while you await eligibility.4 If the board has not declared you eligible in that time, the fee is forfeited.
The Mid-Program LPN Path at a Glance
Every state handles this a little differently, but the order of operations rarely changes. Use this sequence as a checklist, and confirm each step with your state board and nursing program before you spend money on an application.

Working as an LPN While Finishing RN School
Can you work as an LPN while you are still enrolled in an RN program? Usually yes, but the license, your employer and your school each set their own limits, and the strictest one wins.
Scope of Practice: LPN Hours Are Not RN Clinicals
On the job, you practice under your LPN license and whatever duties your employer assigns. RN coursework does not authorize RN-level practice, even if you are mid-semester in advanced content. In RN clinicals you work as a student under an instructor's supervision, which is a different legal footing. Employers can narrow your duties further than state law does, so ask what an LPN may do at that specific facility. The College of Eastern Idaho handbook bars students from practicing beyond their current employment scope, even if someone asks them to.1
What Employers and Schools Will Limit
Postings in the research show the typical pattern: full-time LPN roles, such as 40 hours a week at the VA in Providence or 36 to 48 hours with 12-hour shifts in Virginia state postings. Mayo Clinic's Phoenix posting lists a 4x10 Monday-to-Friday schedule with no weekends required, which is rare.2 Daytime weekday work can collide with labs and clinicals, and none of these postings mention school accommodations.
Programs differ in what they expect of working students. College of Eastern Idaho recommends full-time students work 24 hours a week or less, bars a shift right before clinical, and does not accommodate personal schedules.1 University of Montana Bitterroot College asks for an 8-hour break before clinical.3 Check your own handbook, since these are policies of individual schools, not universal rules.
Money and Progression Questions
Financial aid and scholarship terms can hinge on hours or employment. Advocate Health's student nurse programs list good academic standing as an eligibility condition, so slipping grades can cost you more than a paycheck. The federal Nurses for Nursing Homes award (up to $50,000 for three years of service) requires averaging 30 hours a week after you graduate and are licensed, so it is a post-graduation consideration, not an in-school one.4 Confirm any conduct or attendance rule with your program director before accepting a schedule.
Practical Tips
- Negotiate before you sign: Ask for set days, per-diem or weekend shifts that avoid clinical days.
- Protect the pre-clinical window: Never work the shift before clinical, and leave a full rest margin.
- Cap your hours: Treat 24 a week as a sensible ceiling, then lower it around exams.
- Keep roles separate: Do not accept tasks outside your LPN duties because you are "almost an RN."
LPN vs RN Pay: What the Bump Looks Like
According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics 2025 Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, the national median for LPNs and LVNs is $64,400, compared with $97,550 for registered nurses, a gap of $33,150 a year. Even the 25th percentile RN wage ($80,330) sits above the 75th percentile LPN wage ($76,030). That is why many students treat a mid-program LPN license as a paycheck while they finish the RN, not as the destination.
| Occupation | National Employment | Mean Annual Wage | 25th Percentile | Median Annual Wage | 75th Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses | 648,410 | $67,050 | $59,000 | $64,400 | $76,030 |
| Registered Nurses | 3,379,720 | $101,420 | $80,330 | $97,550 | $112,350 |
If Your School or State Says No: Your Other Routes Compared
If your RN program will not certify practical nursing coursework, or your state board will not admit you to the NCLEX-PN mid-program, you still have ways to build your credentials. The figures below come from 2026 employer surveys, including Western Governors University, Lumina Foundation and Gallup, and the North Carolina Department of Commerce. They describe hiring in general, not nursing alone, so use them to compare how employers read each route. Your state board's rules still decide what you can legally do as a nurse.
| Route | Best for | Employer signal (2026) | Main trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|
| Associate degree (finishing an ADN) | A postsecondary route employers may prefer even when a role does not formally require a degree | About three-quarters of employers preferred candidates with an associate or bachelor's degree, even for jobs without a formal degree requirement | 69% of employers said recent graduates need a great deal or moderate additional training after hiring |
| Four-year degree (BSN) | A credential employers continue to treat as important | 68% of employers said degrees remain important | Only 37% said higher-education institutions are preparing students with the skills needed to succeed at work |
| Professional certificate | A shorter, skills-focused signal of readiness | 86% of employers saw certificates as somewhat to extremely valuable indicators of readiness | Value depends on credible validation: 53% of employers named verifying skill claims as their biggest evaluation challenge |
| Work experience or demonstrated skills | Entry-level candidates who can show job-relevant ability | 56% of North Carolina hiring employers rated it important or very important | It only counts when you can demonstrate the skills, and it does not replace a credential where one is required |
| Professional license | Occupations where licensure is part of the hiring decision | 23% of North Carolina hiring employers rated licenses important or very important | Rated lower than experience in general hiring, but nursing practice legally requires a license, so this is not optional for nurses |
| Internship, apprenticeship, or project-based route | Recent graduates moving from education into employment | 38% of employers named these as the most effective paths | The source gives no typical duration, and apprenticeship certificates alone carried little weight: 85% of North Carolina respondents called them not important or only somewhat important |
A mid-program LPN license only pays off if you can actually work with it and still finish your RN on time. If it delays your degree, the shortcut costs more than it saves.
Is It Worth It? Weighing Cost, Delay Risk and Finishing the RN
First-time, U.S.-educated NCLEX-PN candidates passed at 86.6% in 2025, while repeat test-takers passed at 38.3%, according to NCSBN's 2025 examination statistics.1 Those two figures frame the whole decision: the mid-program LPN exam is the same high-stakes gate as any other, and a failed attempt costs months, not days.
Four questions to answer before you file anything
- How close are you to the RN NCLEX? If graduation is one or two semesters away, the math usually favors finishing the RN and testing once.
- What does your state board actually say? Rules on whether RN coursework can satisfy practical nursing eligibility vary widely, and only the board's written policy counts.
- Can you absorb a second set of costs? NCLEX-PN registration, licensure fees, fingerprinting, and a possible retake add up on top of RN tuition.
- Do you have room for extra exam prep? PN content overlaps with your RN coursework, but the item style and scope still demand dedicated study hours you would otherwise give to RN classes.
The delay math on a failed attempt
Repeat candidates pass at roughly half the first-time rate, and partial 2026 data shows the same pattern: 85.8% for first-time U.S.-educated candidates against 42.7% for repeaters.2 A fail means waiting out your board's re-examination window, paying again, and possibly postponing the LPN paycheck that justified the detour.
The licensure-by-exam route
Some boards let candidates qualify for the NCLEX-PN by examination based on RN program coursework rather than a standalone PN program, but only where that board specifically permits it. NCSBN's published breakdowns do not carve out a national pass rate for RN-program students1, so confirm your state's position in writing before you build a plan around it.
Our recommendation
If you are within a semester or two of the RN NCLEX, finish the RN. The credential you actually need is closer than the one you are considering. If you are early in an ADN program that has a defined LPN exit point and your board approves the pathway, the license can earn while you finish. For adjacent routes, read our CNA to RN guide and our LPN reciprocity guide before you commit.










