Cardiovascular technologists moving into registered nursing rarely start from zero. Years spent reading rhythms in the cath lab, prepping patients for angiography, and charting hemodynamics count toward the clinical foundation nursing programs expect, which is why pathways like LPN to RN Bridge Programs and accelerated BSN tracks exist for allied health professionals rather than a full four-year restart.
The practical tension is credential math: state boards of nursing decide which CVT coursework transfers, and no two schools evaluate transcripts identically. A candidate who saves a semester in Texas may repeat the same anatomy sequence in California. With RN median pay near $97,550 nationally, the payoff justifies the paperwork, but the transfer credit fight is real.
What Does a CVT to RN Transition Involve?
Cardiovascular technologists spend their shifts running EKGs, assisting with cardiac catheterizations, monitoring hemodynamics in the cath lab, prepping patients for stress tests, and working shoulder to shoulder with interventional cardiologists. You already speak the language of arrhythmias, know sterile technique, and have hands-on patient contact under pressure. That clinical footing is exactly what nursing programs like to see, and it is what a bridge program is designed to build on rather than repeat.
What a Bridge Program Actually Is
A bridge program is a structured pathway that gives you credit (or waives coursework) for the training and experience you already hold, then layers on the nursing-specific theory, care planning, and clinical rotations required for RN licensure. Instead of enrolling as a first-time nursing student and sitting through fundamentals you effectively already know, you slot in further along the curriculum. In practice, that means fewer total semesters, targeted prerequisite review, and clinical hours focused on the nursing scope of practice rather than allied healthcare careers fundamentals.
CVT to RN bridges are less common than LPN to RN bridge programs or paramedic to RN options, so many cardiovascular techs end up in accelerated prelicensure tracks or standard ASN/BSN programs that grant transfer credit case by case. The paramedic to RN and Navy corpsman to RN pathways work similarly: the school recognizes prior clinical training, then fills the gaps.
Key Terms You Will See
- ASN: Associate of Science in Nursing, a two-year degree that qualifies you to sit for the RN licensing exam.
- BSN: Bachelor of Science in Nursing, a four-year degree (or 12 to 20 months in accelerated format for career changers with prior college credit).
- Prelicensure: Any nursing program that prepares a non-nurse for initial RN licensure.
- NCLEX-RN: The national licensing exam every RN candidate must pass, regardless of degree path.
Non-Herzing CVT to RN Bridge Programs Worth Comparing
Few schools market a dedicated cardiovascular technologist to RN bridge by name, but several accredited programs accept allied health professionals, including CVTs, into accelerated BSN tracks. The table below highlights non-Herzing options that are worth researching. Because admission criteria and credit transfer policies vary by school, contact each program directly to confirm how your CVT coursework and clinical hours will be evaluated. Program lengths shown are approximate and may shift depending on prerequisite completion.
| School | Program Type | Format | Typical Length |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kent State University College of Nursing | BSN | On-campus (designed for LPN and allied health professionals) | Varies by prior coursework |
| University of Bridgeport | BSN | On-campus, accelerated | Approximately 15 months |
| University of Colorado College of Nursing | BSN | On-campus, accelerated | Approximately 1 year |
Prerequisites for CVT to RN Bridge Programs
Admission requirements vary by school and campus, but most bridge programs expect a similar foundation. Here is what you should be prepared to complete or document before applying.
- Core Science CoursesNearly every program requires Anatomy & Physiology I, Anatomy & Physiology II, and Microbiology, each with a lab component. Many schools also require Chemistry with a lab, and some add Nutrition or Fundamentals of Life Science. Expect each science prerequisite to carry about four credit hours. Minimum grades of C or higher are standard, and some schools will not accept online lab sections.
- Additional CourseworkDepending on the program, you may need Composition I, Lifespan Growth and Development, or Intermediate College Algebra (or a higher-level math). Check each school's specific list carefully; a missing course can delay your application by a full semester.
- GPA RequirementsMinimum GPA expectations typically range from 2.5 to 2.8 on a 4.0 scale. Some programs calculate a separate science prerequisite GPA from your anatomy, physiology, and microbiology grades. At certain schools, a higher cumulative GPA, 3.5 or above, for example, can waive the entrance exam or the separate science GPA threshold entirely.
- Entrance ExamsMost programs require the TEAS or HESI A2. Minimum composite score requirements vary widely, published thresholds at different campuses range from roughly 58 to 66 on the TEAS, sometimes with sub-score minimums in reading. Study early; retake policies differ by school.
- CVT Certification and Clinical ExperienceActive CVT certification (CCI or ARDMS credentialing) strengthens your application and may be required. Programs designed for allied health professionals typically ask for documented clinical work experience, though the exact number of hours or years varies. Keep employment verification and credential records organized ahead of time.
- Transfer Credits and Course WaiversYour prior CVT coursework in anatomy, physiology, and related sciences may transfer toward nursing prerequisites, potentially saving a semester or more. Schools accept anywhere from 54 to 90 approved transfer credits, but each institution evaluates course equivalency individually. Transferred science courses must meet the nursing program's specific requirements, so request syllabi from your original school to speed the evaluation process.
ASN Vs. BSN: Choosing Your Nursing Degree Path
Both an Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN) and a Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) qualify you to sit for the same NCLEX-RN exam, so either path gets you a valid RN license. The real differences show up in program length, long-term career options, and how employers view each credential. For cardiovascular technologists weighing speed against scope, this comparison lays out what matters most.
| Factor | ASN Track | BSN Track |
|---|---|---|
| Typical program length for CVTs and allied health professionals | 12 to 20 months in an accelerated or bridge format; some standard ASN programs run closer to 24 months | 15 to 24 months in an accelerated BSN (ABSN) designed for second-degree or healthcare-experienced students; traditional BSN runs four years from scratch |
| Licensure exam | NCLEX-RN (identical exam for both degrees) | NCLEX-RN (identical exam for both degrees) |
| Share of new RNs entering the workforce (2024) | About 34 percent of RNs entered with an associate degree, down from roughly 39 percent in 2015 | About 52 percent of RNs entered with a BSN or higher, up from roughly 42 percent in 2015 |
| Pre-licensure enrollment trend (2019 to 2024) | Declining at roughly negative 2.5 percent per year | Essentially flat at about 0.3 percent growth per year, though entry-level BSN enrollment dipped nearly 10 percent between 2022 and 2023 |
| Highest credential in current RN workforce (2024) | About 27 percent of working RNs hold an associate as their highest nursing degree | Nearly 73 percent of working RNs hold a BSN or higher as their highest nursing degree |
| Career ceiling and role eligibility | Eligible for most staff RN positions; may face restrictions for charge nurse, ICU, or nursing leadership roles at many hospitals | Preferred or required for critical care units, cardiac step-down, Magnet-designated hospitals, and most nurse manager or clinical educator positions |
| Employer preference in cardiac and critical care settings | Many hospitals still hire ADN-prepared nurses but increasingly require completion of a BSN within a set timeframe, often two to four years | Many hospitals pursuing Magnet recognition require a BSN at hire; cardiac and critical care units especially favor BSN-prepared nurses for their additional training in research, leadership, and community health |
| Median annual RN wage | The Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a median RN salary of $93,600 per year (May 2024); published federal data does not split this figure by degree level | Same median of $93,600 per year at the occupation level; however, employer surveys and secondary analyses suggest BSN-prepared nurses often access higher-paying specialty and leadership roles over time |
Per-credit tuition is easy to find, but what students actually pay depends on total program length, clinical fees, and whether prior coursework transfers. Always request the full cost breakdown before comparing programs.
Clinical Hours, Online Learning, and Program Formats
Clinical hour requirements vary widely across bridge programs, and the delivery format determines how much flexibility you will have while working. If you are balancing a CVT job with coursework, a hybrid or blended option lets you complete didactic content remotely while still logging the hands-on clinical time nursing boards require. Review each program's published catalog carefully, because some list total contact hours (which bundle lecture and lab time with clinicals) while others break out clinical hours separately.
| Program | Required Clinical Hours | Delivery Format |
|---|---|---|
| Wayne County Community College District (WCCCD) LPN to RN Bridge | 90 clock hours | Not published in current handbook |
| AMI (Ohio) LPN to RN Nursing Bridge | 126 clock hours | Blended or residential |
| ProSkills LPN to RN Bridge | 850 contact hours (includes lecture, lab, and clinical combined) | Hybrid |
| West Virginia Junior College LPN to RN Bridge | Not published in current catalog | Blended |
Related Articles
RN Licensure and the NCLEX-RN
Most CVTs at this stage face a speed-versus-certainty trade-off: you want licensure fast, but the board of nursing in your state has the final say on whether your bridge transcript qualifies you to sit for the exam. Understanding that gatekeeping process before you enroll saves months of frustration later.
The Standard Licensure Path
Every state follows roughly the same sequence. After graduating from a board-approved nursing program, you apply to your state board of nursing, submit fingerprints for a criminal background check, and once cleared, receive Authorization to Test. You then schedule and pass the NCLEX-RN. Bridge and accelerated program graduates sit for the exact same NCLEX-RN as students from traditional four-year BSN programs. There is no separate or easier version of the exam based on your prior allied health background.
Where State Boards Diverge
Most boards do not create special licensure categories for bridge graduates. What they scrutinize is whether the program itself was board-approved and whether its coursework and clinical hours meet that jurisdiction's standards for Accredited LPN and RN Programs. A few examples worth knowing in 2026:
- California: Requires 500 direct patient-care clinical hours, at least 30 hours in each board-specified clinical area, and 58 semester units of nursing coursework.
- New York: Under the BSN in 10 law, RNs licensed at the associate level must complete a BSN within 10 years of initial licensure to continue practicing.
- Compact states (Texas and others): Multistate privilege through the Nurse Licensure Compact requires graduation from a board-approved program, a passing NCLEX-RN result, a valid Social Security number, fingerprint background check, and no disqualifying criminal history.
One Non-Negotiable Point
Your CVT credential does not substitute for an RN license in any state. Registered credentialing bodies for cardiovascular technologists and state boards of nursing are entirely separate systems. Until your name appears on the RN registry in the state where you intend to practice, you cannot work or bill as a registered nurse, regardless of how many years you spent in the cath lab.
NCLEX Pass Rates and Job Placement Outcomes
Because dedicated CVT to RN bridge programs are rare, the closest published outcome data comes from allied health and LPN to RN bridge tracks that share a similar accelerated structure. The figures below reflect reported first-time NCLEX-RN pass rates and graduate job placement rates from programs that accept students transitioning from other healthcare credentials into registered nursing. Keep in mind that very small cohort sizes (such as two graduates) can skew percentages, so compare programs with similar class sizes for a more reliable picture.
| Program / School | Bridge Type | First-Time NCLEX-RN Pass Rate | Reporting Period | Job Placement Rate | Placement Reporting Period |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hudson County Community College | LPN to RN | 100% (bridge students) | 2024 | Not reported | N/A |
| Gwinnett Technical College | ADN Bridge (LPN, Paramedic, Surgical Tech) | 100% (bridge cohort, first tested on time) | 2024 | 80% target benchmark (outcome figure not disclosed) | 2024 |
| Maine College of Health Professions | ADN Bridge | 100% (2 of 2 graduates) | 2024 | Not reported | N/A |
| Standard College of Nursing | LPN to RN Transition | 91.25% (73 of 80) | 2023 | 94% (60 of 64) | 2023 |
| Texas County Technical College | LPN to RN | 89.47% | 2024 | 95% | 2023 to 2024 |
| Provo College | LPN to RN | 84.89% (118 of 139) | 2024 | 90.1% (101 of 112) | July 2023 to June 2024 |
| Academia Medical Institute (Ohio) | LPN to RN | 62.22% | 2024 | 85% | July 2023 to June 2024 |
Using Your Cardiovascular Experience in Nursing
Many cardiovascular technologists entering nursing wonder whether their cath lab and monitoring experience will translate or whether they will be treated as total beginners. That background is one of the strongest starting points an allied health professional can bring to an RN program.
Skills That Transfer Immediately
- EKG interpretation: You already read rhythms and recognize ischemia, blocks, and ST changes. In nursing school, this turns cardiac content into review rather than new material.
- Hemodynamic monitoring: Familiarity with arterial lines, CVP readings, and pressure waveforms gives you a head start in critical care simulations and clinicals.
- Cath lab familiarity: You understand sterile fields, contrast procedures, and the pacing of interventional cardiology. That comfort reduces anxiety during high-acuity rotations.
- Patient communication under pressure: Explaining procedures and calming anxious patients before, during, and after catheterization translates directly to bedside nursing.
The Clinical and NCLEX Edge
These skills create an advantage in two specific places. During clinical rotations, you can focus earlier on nursing judgment rather than learning basic cardiac physiology, so preceptors often give you more autonomy with telemetry and post-procedure patients. On NCLEX case-study questions, you can quickly identify priority findings like new onset chest pain, hypotension, or rhythm changes because you have seen them in real time, not just in a textbook.
From Bridge Program to Cardiac Nursing
That background makes you a natural fit for cardiac stepdown, telemetry, emergency, and ICU roles after licensure. Many hospitals value new grad RNs who already understand hemodynamics and arrhythmia management. For nurses ready to go deeper, the Cardiovascular Intensive Care Nurse Careers with BSN guide maps the next level of specialization.
Your Path From CVT to RN, Step by Step
Transitioning from cardiovascular technologist to registered nurse follows a clear sequence. Each stage builds on the clinical knowledge you already have, so the timeline is often shorter than it would be for someone without healthcare experience.

What Registered Nurses Earn Nationally
According to the most recent Bureau of Labor Statistics data, registered nurses earn a national median annual salary of approximately $97,550.
RN Salary by State: Where Your New Career Pays Best
The table below highlights states where registered nurses earn the highest median salaries, drawn from 2025 Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. These figures reflect the RN occupation broadly, not bridge program graduates specifically. Alongside median pay, total employment gives you a sense of how deep the job market runs in each state, which matters when you are relocating or weighing where to launch a second career.
| State | Total RN Employment | 25th Percentile Salary | Median Salary | 75th Percentile Salary |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maryland | 52,910 | $83,740 | $99,790 | $107,340 |
| New Hampshire | 15,390 | $82,880 | $99,700 | $108,400 |
| Delaware | 14,290 | $85,900 | $99,520 | $111,720 |
| Arizona | 73,150 | $81,810 | $99,500 | $108,580 |
| Vermont | 7,410 | $82,210 | $97,460 | $105,210 |
| Pennsylvania | 146,520 | $80,610 | $96,430 | $104,730 |
| Illinois | 138,910 | $80,020 | $95,990 | $105,960 |
| Texas | 271,380 | $79,170 | $95,970 | $105,100 |
| Wisconsin | 68,060 | $81,920 | $95,530 | $102,610 |
| New Mexico | 17,980 | $80,960 | $94,340 | $102,750 |
| Michigan | 104,950 | $82,080 | $94,300 | $103,450 |
| Virginia | 77,490 | $80,090 | $93,600 | $103,030 |
| Georgia | 100,950 | $79,090 | $93,550 | $106,330 |
| Idaho | 16,880 | $80,900 | $92,460 | $102,320 |
| Maine | 16,540 | $79,890 | $86,990 | $101,460 |










