Silver Spring itself has no cluster of practical nursing programs. For a resident of the 20906 area, the realistic search radius runs about 40 miles: Montgomery College and Montgomery County career programs in Takoma Park and Rockville, then outward to Wheaton, Washington DC, and LPN programs in Baltimore-area schools.
That geography drives the rest of the decision. Seats are limited and admission is competitive, clinical rotations happen in person no matter how much coursework sits online, and tuition swings hard between county-funded and private programs.
Maryland's first-time NCLEX-PN pass rate topped 96% in fiscal 2024, which tells you the harder gate is getting admitted, not getting licensed.
Where LPNs Actually Work in Silver Spring and Montgomery County
The practical question for a Silver Spring LPN is not whether work exists; it is where the openings actually concentrate. Maryland hospitals hire relatively few LPNs compared with long term care and home health, so new graduates should expect their first job search to skew heavily toward skilled nursing, assisted living, and home-based care. The county's large hospital systems do hire LPNs in selected roles, but acute-care openings are thinner than students often assume.
Where local openings cluster
- Skilled nursing and rehab: Autumn Lake Healthcare,1 including its Oakview facility in Silver Spring, plus Fairland Nursing and Rehab, Regency Care, Layhill, Fox Chase, and Althea Woodland are among the names that show up in local postings.2
- Assisted and senior living: Riderwood Village in Silver Spring is a visible LPN employer; Kisco in Rockville and Brookdale in Potomac also appear in county-level listings.
- Home health: Trinity Health3 and CenterWell Home Health4 post LPN roles serving Silver Spring under RN assignment, while BrightStar Care covers Montgomery County from Kensington and Silver Spring.
- Per diem and staffing: IntelyCare and Tiana Survival Agency5 fill shifts or placements in Silver Spring and surrounding facilities. Physician offices and clinic groups along the Georgia Avenue and Colesville Road corridors account for a smaller but steady share of openings, and correctional or lpn school nurse jobs appear less frequently.
What the Maryland LPN role allows
Maryland LPNs must practice in a team relationship with at least one other licensed nurse who is not an LPN; independent practice is not permitted.6 You may supervise or teach only within your demonstrated competencies,6 and you can delegate tasks to CNAs, medication technicians, or unlicensed staff if client welfare is not put at risk,7 with assessment, instruction, and regular evaluation.8 That legal structure is why most visible Silver Spring openings sit inside facilities with built-in RN oversight rather than autonomous roles, and why high-risk procedures follow employer policy under RN direction.
Commuting across the line
Silver Spring sits on the DC border, so some LPNs weigh jobs in the District or Northern Virginia. Those positions require separate licensure; we walk through that process in the licensure section. For most new LPNs, though, the faster path is the Montgomery County and Silver Spring job market described above.
Online and Hybrid LPN Coursework Near Silver Spring, and How Clinicals Work
Can you actually complete one of the accredited lpn programs in maryland online? Not entirely, and anyone telling you otherwise is selling something. Maryland's board requires supervised, in-person clinical hours for every practical nursing candidate, so "online" in this market really means hybrid: lecture and theory delivered on a screen, with hands-on skills practice and lpn clinicals still happening on-site, on a schedule.
How Area Programs Structure Hybrid Delivery
Anne Arundel Community College describes its coursework as web-enhanced, a common pattern among hybrid lpn programs online, meaning much of the lecture content moves online while labs and clinical placements in long-term care and community settings stay in person. Baltimore City Community College follows a similar hybrid pattern. Wor-Wic, further out on the Eastern Shore, also uses web-enhanced instruction with both full-time and part-time pacing. CCBC's Dundalk program, by contrast, is straightforward in-person, though its spring cohort runs evening and weekend hours for those who cannot attend daytime classes. None of these substitute video lectures for supervised clinical time. That hour requirement does not bend.
Watch for Out-of-State Marketing
You'll see ads for fully online LPN credentials aimed at a national audience. Most won't satisfy Maryland's board-approval standard, which means the credential could be worthless here regardless of price or accreditation claims elsewhere. Before paying a deposit, confirm the program appears on Maryland's approved list. Skip that step and you risk finishing a program that leaves you ineligible for the NCLEX-PN in this state.
Who Hybrid Formats Actually Suit
Hybrid and evening/weekend cohorts tend to work best for CNAs already logging hours on a unit, parents juggling childcare, and career changers who can't walk away from a paycheck. The trade-off is real: part-time and evening tracks often mean smaller cohorts and less say in where your clinical rotation lands, since sites fill around the daytime students first.
Board-Approved Practical Nursing Programs Within Commuting Distance
Every candidate who sits for the NCLEX-PN in Maryland has to graduate from a program the Maryland Board of Nursing recognizes on its approved practical nursing list, which was last refreshed in June 2026. Programs carrying full approval have met the Board's standards without open deficiencies; a program placed on conditional or provisional status is still operating and its graduates are still eligible to test, but the Board is actively monitoring something (usually NCLEX-PN performance, faculty vacancies, or clinical site capacity), so ask the director directly what triggered it and when the review closes. A program that appears nowhere on the Board's roster, or a Washington DC program not on the DC Health Board of Nursing's approved list, will not get you a seat for the exam no matter how polished the marketing looks. The table below reflects Board listings only, and the Board does not publish delivery format, so treat the format column as general guidance and confirm with each school.
| Program / School | City (Approx. Distance from Silver Spring) | Program Type | Format | Approval Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Montgomery Community College Practical Nursing Program | Montgomery County, MD (roughly 10 to 15 miles, Rockville corridor) | Community college | Format not stated by the Board; generally campus-based certificate coursework with in-person clinicals | Listed on the Maryland Board of Nursing approved practical nursing programs page |
| Prince Georges Community College Practical Nursing Program | Largo, MD (roughly 20 miles via the Beltway) | Community college | Format not stated by the Board; typically on-campus certificate coursework with in-person clinicals | Listed on the Maryland Board of Nursing approved practical nursing programs page |
| Howard Community College Practical Nursing Program | Columbia, MD (roughly 20 to 25 miles north on I-95) | Community college | Format not stated by the Board; likely in-person | Listed on the Maryland Board of Nursing approved practical nursing programs page |
| Baltimore City Community College Practical Nursing Program | Baltimore, MD (roughly 35 to 40 miles) | Community college | Format not stated by the Board; likely in-person | Listed on the Maryland Board of Nursing approved practical nursing programs page |
| Anne Arundel Community College Practical Nursing Program | Arnold, MD (roughly 35 to 40 miles) | Community college | Format not stated by the Board; generally campus-based certificate coursework | Listed on the Maryland Board of Nursing approved practical nursing programs page |
| Saint Michael College of Allied Health Practical Nursing Program | Washington, DC (roughly 10 to 15 miles down the Red Line corridor) | Private allied health college | Practical nursing certificate; delivery mode not stated by the Board, commonly campus-based with some hybrid elements | Listed as a practical nursing program on the DC Health Board of Nursing approved nursing schools roster (updated September 2025) |
| Strayer University Practical Nursing Program | Washington, DC (roughly 10 to 15 miles) | Private university | Format not stated by the Board; Strayer commonly offers on-campus and online coursework, with clinicals required in person | Listed as a practical nursing program on the DC Health Board of Nursing approved nursing schools roster (updated September 2025) |
| Allegany College of Maryland Practical Nursing Program | Cumberland, MD (well outside a daily commute from Silver Spring) | Community college | Format not stated by the Board; typically on-campus certificate program | Listed on the Maryland Board of Nursing approved practical nursing programs page |
From Prerequisites to Maryland LPN License: The Full Timeline
Every LPN licensed in Maryland walks the same path: coursework first, then the Board of Nursing, then the NCLEX-PN. Knowing where the fees and waiting periods fall helps you budget both money and time before you ever set foot in a clinical rotation.

Related Articles
Admission Requirements for Area Practical Nursing Programs
Practical nursing admission around Silver Spring is selective, not first-come. Work through the checklist below, and confirm each item directly with the program, requirements differ meaningfully from one campus to the next.
- High school diploma or equivalentStandard across area programs. Expect to submit official transcripts or GED documentation with your college application, which is separate from the nursing program application.
- Minimum GPAMontgomery College's nursing admissions use a 2.5 minimum; Prince George's Community College requires a 2.50 average across its qualifying prerequisite courses with no grade below C, and excludes PAS-1000 from that calculation.
- Prerequisite courseworkMontgomery College's nursing prerequisites include ENGL 102, MATH 117 or higher, and BIOL 212 and 213. PGCC requires placement testing and its own qualifying course set, confirm the exact list with an advisor.
- TEAS entrance examMontgomery College looks for roughly 70% reading and a 66% adjusted total. CCBC's published benchmarks sit near 69.0% reading and 58.7% overall; applicants below them may not be reviewed. PGCC requires the TEAS without publishing a numeric cutoff.
- Health and immunization documentationAfter acceptance, Montgomery College requires CPR certification, a TB test, and titers or proof of immunity for measles, mumps, rubella, hepatitis B (series may be in progress), and varicella.
- Background check and drug screenClinical partners in Maryland commonly require both. Official program materials don't uniformly spell this out, so ask admissions what's required before your clinical rotation begins.
- CNA certificationNo area program reviewed here documents a CNA or nurse aide requirement for admission, unlike some out-of-state programs. Prior health-occupations experience still strengthens a competitive file.
- Deadlines and cohort startsMontgomery College's practical nursing application is due April 1 for a fall start, with no spring cohort. Plan roughly 12 months ahead so prerequisites and TEAS scores are finished before the deadline.
Board Approval Vs. Accreditation, and What NCLEX-PN Pass Rates Tell You
Maryland's practical nursing programs posted a combined 96.15% first-time NCLEX-PN pass rate in fiscal year 2024, with 225 of 234 first-time testers passing, according to the Maryland Board of Nursing. The national comparison for U.S.-educated first-time candidates that year was 88.4%, based on NCSBN's 2024 examination statistics (50,570 tested, 44,693 passed).1
Approval Is Mandatory, Accreditation Is Optional
These two words get used interchangeably in school marketing, and they should not be. Maryland Board of Nursing approval is the non-negotiable one: without it, you cannot be cleared to take the NCLEX-PN, no matter how good the curriculum looks. Verify approval status directly on the Board's program list before paying anything.
National accreditation, most commonly from ACEN in the practical nursing space, is voluntary. It rarely affects your ability to get licensed or hired as an LPN in Maryland. Where it earns its keep is downstream: accredited coursework transfers more cleanly, and some LPN-to-RN bridge programs give preference (or credit) to graduates of accredited PN programs. If an LPN to RN in Maryland bridge is in your five-year plan, ask about accreditation early.
Reading a Pass Rate Without Fooling Yourself
Maryland's fiscal 2024 program-level results ranged from 81.82% to 100%. That spread is less dramatic than it looks, because cohort sizes vary enormously. The Community College of Baltimore County's Dundalk campus tested 75 candidates and passed 96.00%; several programs reported 100% on cohorts of a few dozen or fewer. One additional failure in a class of ten moves the number ten points. Judge a program on two or three consecutive years, not a single headline figure.
Ask the program director directly for its recent pass rates and cohort sizes. A confident program answers in one email.
Red Flags Worth Walking Away From
- Conditional or provisional approval: the Board has flagged something. Ask what, and what the remediation timeline is.
- Sustained results below the state benchmark: Maryland's required pass rate threshold for PN schools was 80.68% in fiscal 2024. A program hovering near or under it for multiple years has a teaching problem, not a bad-luck problem.
- Refusal to share numbers: or vague answers like "most of our students pass."
- No published cohort sizes: a 100% rate on three testers is not evidence of anything.
- Clinical placements described as "student-arranged": that is your problem to solve, not theirs.
Top LPN Programs Serving Silver Spring Students
Below are the top practical nursing and nursing programs serving Silver Spring students, ranked by IPEDS completion data, cost, and program fit. Every entry sits within commuting distance of Silver Spring or offers a schedule that works for students who already hold a job. Each card pairs average net price after aid and the institution-wide graduation rate with the details that matter most to LPN applicants.
How we ranked these
- Graduate debt after completion
- Institution-wide graduation rates
- Average net price after aid
- Program format and clinical access
- Maryland and DC relevance
- College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Internal program database
- Independent editorial research
- IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
Saint Michael College of Allied Health
Saint Michael College of Allied Health runs a campus-based practical nursing certificate built on 1,604 hours of theory and clinical training, offered as a 14-month day program or an 18-month evening option. The private college reports an institution-wide graduation rate near 83%, and its average net price after aid is about $38,751. Its Northeast Washington campus sits roughly 8 to 9 miles from downtown Silver Spring, making it one of the closest options across the DC line for a Maryland reader.
- 1,604 hours of theory and clinical instruction
- 14-month day track or 18-month evening track
- Day classes run 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
- Evening classes run 4:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.
- Entrance exam requires 76% in reading and 70% in math
- $75 application fee due upon acceptance
- Approved by the D.C. Board of Nursing
- No online option available
Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Standard Healthcare Services-College of Nursing
Standard Healthcare Services-College of Nursing awards a practical nursing diploma through a hybrid format that pairs online lectures with on-campus skills labs and clinical rotations in acute, long-term care, and ambulatory settings. Full-time students finish in 14 months, part-time students in 18 months, and the college targets an 80% NCLEX-PN pass rate and an 80% job placement rate. Institution-wide, its graduation rate is about 66% and the average net price after aid is roughly $35,726. Falls Church is inside the Capital Beltway, so Silver Spring students can commute by car, and some clinical placements reach into Maryland and the District.
- Hybrid format: online lectures plus on-campus skills labs
- Full-time track finishes in 14 months
- Part-time track finishes in 18 months
- About 1,350 total contact hours, including 400 clinical hours
- Targets 80% licensure pass rate and 80% job placement
- Clinical rotations in acute, long-term, and ambulatory settings
- 24/7 access to online course resources
- Non-credit vocational diploma rather than a degree
Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Prince George's Community College
Prince George's Community College awards a 47-credit Nursing (LPN) Certificate that mixes general education coursework in anatomy, physiology, and psychology with core nursing classes, and it articulates directly into the college's RN associate degree. The college reports an institution-wide graduation rate of about 18%, with an average net price after aid near $8,672. Largo is a short Beltway drive from Silver Spring, and the college's nursing admissions policy gives Maryland residents priority over out-of-state applicants, which works in Montgomery County students' favor.
- 47-credit LPN certificate
- Prerequisites include Anatomy and Physiology I and II
- General education includes psychology and communication courses
- Core courses include Foundations of Nursing Practice
- Articulates directly into the RN associate degree
- Prepares graduates for the NCLEX-PN exam
- Faculty advising through the Center for Health Studies
Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Carroll Community College
Carroll Community College awards a 60-credit Practical Nursing Certificate, but it is not a standalone program: students qualify only after completing the first year of the college's RN associate degree plus a summer practical nursing concepts course. That structure suits readers who already plan to continue to the RN level rather than stop at the LPN credential. The college reports an institution-wide graduation rate near 39%, and its average net price after aid of roughly $2,725 is the lowest in this list. Westminster sits northwest of Baltimore, well outside the Beltway, so plan on a long commute or a move.
- 60 total credit hours
- No standalone admission; students enter through the RN A.S. program
- Summer Practical Nursing Concepts course required
- 2.5 GPA minimum for admission
- Science courses stay valid for five years
- Approved by the Maryland Board of Nursing
- Must earn a C or better in every course
- Prepares students for the NCLEX-PN
Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
College of Southern Maryland
The College of Southern Maryland offers a three-semester Practical Nursing Certificate at the Center for Health Sciences on its Regional Hughesville Campus, with full-time and part-time tracks and a fall start. The certificate holds ACEN accreditation and Maryland Board of Nursing approval, and clinical rotations span long-term care and community settings, including placements in the DC metropolitan area. The college reports an institution-wide graduation rate of about 33% and an average net price after aid near $9,204. Hughesville is a long drive from Silver Spring, so this option fits students willing to relocate or those who want to use the college's LPN-to-ADN transition pathway later.
- Three-semester certificate with a fall start
- Full-time and part-time options
- ACEN accredited and Maryland Board of Nursing approved
- Clinical rotations in long-term care and community settings
- Taught at the Center for Health Sciences in Hughesville
- Scholarships available to admitted students
- Prepares students for the NCLEX-PN exam
- Competitive admissions with a selective review process
Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Anne Arundel Community College
Anne Arundel Community College delivers a 41-credit Practical Nursing certificate in a single academic year, with evening and weekend classes built for working adults. Students practice on simulation equipment and rotate through medical-surgical, obstetric, and pediatric units, and the college also runs an advanced placement track that moves LPNs, paramedics, and veterans into the second year of the RN program. Institution-wide, the graduation rate is about 31% and the average net price after aid is roughly $14,915, with program tuition listed at about $6,500. Arnold is a Beltway drive from Silver Spring, and the evening schedule helps students who hold daytime jobs.
- 41 total credit hours
- Finishes in one academic year
- Evening and weekend classes for working adults
- About $6,500 in total program tuition
- Clinical rotations in medical-surgical, obstetric, and pediatric units
- Practice on state-of-the-art simulation equipment
- Approved by the Maryland Board of Nursing
- Financial aid and scholarships available
Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN), Certificate or Diploma — Hybrid
Community College of Baltimore County
The Community College of Baltimore County's 12-month, 46-credit practical nursing certificate runs at the Dundalk campus with three cohort starts each year: fall day, summer day, and spring evening and weekend. Admission is competitive and requires prerequisites, a 2.0 GPA minimum, and a TEAS entrance exam, and graduates can continue into the college's RN program. The college reports an institution-wide graduation rate of about 19% and an average net price after aid near $9,844. Dundalk is on the far side of Baltimore from Silver Spring, so this is realistic mainly for students who can commit to a long commute or relocate.
- 12-month program, 46 credit hours
- Three cohort starts: fall day, summer day, spring evening and weekend
- 2.0 GPA minimum plus prerequisites
- TEAS entrance exam required
- $50 application fee
- Option to continue into the RN program
- Background check, drug screen, and CPR certification required
- Cohorts meet at the Dundalk campus
Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Baltimore City Community College
Baltimore City Community College offers a 45-credit Practical Nursing Certificate that can be completed in a single year across three semesters, covering adult health nursing, maternal-child nursing, and medication calculation. The program is approved by the Maryland Board of Nursing and requires 13 prerequisite credits, including a biology placement exam and a computer literacy course. Institution-wide, the graduation rate is about 17% and the average net price after aid is roughly $15,987. Baltimore is a substantial commute from Silver Spring, so this program fits students who are willing to relocate or plan their week around travel.
- One-year certificate, 45 credit hours across three semesters
- 13 prerequisite credits required
- Includes adult health nursing and maternal-child nursing
- Covers medication calculation and nursing practice
- Biology placement exam required
- Computer literacy prerequisite required
- Approved by the Maryland Board of Nursing
- Prepares students for the NCLEX-PN
Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Northern Virginia Community College
Northern Virginia Community College runs its practical nursing certificate as a workforce credential at the Reston Technology Center, an eight-course, full-time sequence that takes 12 to 14 months with evening and weekend classes. Admission requires a current Virginia CNA license and a proficient ATI TEAS score, and clinical placements sit within 50 miles of campus, with partners that include Northern Virginia hospitals. The college reports an institution-wide graduation rate near 33% and an average net price after aid of about $9,919, though listed program tuition is about $29,655. Reston is a Beltway drive west of Silver Spring, so Maryland students should weigh the commute and the Virginia licensure requirement before applying.
- Eight sequential courses with a capstone
- Completes in 12 to 14 months, full time
- Evening and weekend classes at the Reston Technology Center
- Current Virginia CNA license required for admission
- ATI TEAS proficient score required
- Clinical sites within 50 miles of campus
- $29,655 total program tuition listed
- NCLEX-PN exam fee of $200
Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Fortis College-Landover
Fortis College-Landover offers a diploma-level practical nursing program that blends classroom instruction with hands-on clinical training and career services tied to local employers. The Landover campus sits in Prince George's County, a short Beltway drive from Silver Spring and one of the closest private campuses for Maryland-based readers. The college reports an institution-wide graduation rate of about 47% and an average net price after aid near $26,578.
- Diploma pathway rather than a degree
- Hands-on clinical training
- Career services with local employer connections
- Career-focused classes on flexible schedules
- Financial aid available
- Prepares graduates for the NCLEX-PN licensing exam
Licensed Practical or Vocational Nursing (LPN or LVN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
What LPN Training Actually Costs Around Silver Spring
What LPN training in the Silver Spring area actually costs is two different numbers: the published tuition rate and the net price after grants and scholarships. Among board-approved practical nursing programs within commuting distance, the average net price starts under $3,000 at Carroll Community College and climbs to roughly $36,000 at Standard Healthcare Services College of Nursing. Most Maryland community colleges in this list land between about $8,700 and $16,000 after aid, keeping several of them among the state's more affordable LPN programs.
Sticker price vs. what students actually pay
The tuition number on a website rarely matches the final bill. In-district tuition at area public colleges runs from about $3,300 to $8,400, but that is before fees, course-specific charges, and any aid. Use the net price after grants and scholarships as a closer estimate, not a guarantee. Median federal loan debt at completion is more useful for monthly budgeting: it sits between about $8,250 at Anne Arundel Community College and $14,750 at Standard Healthcare Services College of Nursing, with one outlier near $24,900 at the University of the District of Columbia. On a standard 10-year repayment plan, a $10,500 balance works out to roughly $110 to $130 a month, depending on interest rate. That is the number to compare against a first LPN paycheck, not the published tuition.
Costs that tuition tables hide
Program materials, testing, and clinical readiness add up. Budget for uniforms, a stethoscope and skills kit, textbooks, the TEAS or HESI entrance exam, criminal background checks, immunizations and titers, CPR certification, and the NCLEX-PN and Maryland licensure fees. Transportation to clinical sites across Montgomery, Prince George's, Baltimore, and northern Virginia is one of the largest hidden costs for full-time students, especially when rotations start before 7 a.m.
Public community college vs. private career school
The gap between the public and private routes is often several thousand dollars for the same LPN credential. Community college programs like Carroll, PGCC, CSM, CCBC, AACC, and the BCCC LPN program show net-price averages from about $2,700 to just under $16,000. Private career schools such as Fortis College-Landover and Standard Healthcare Services College of Nursing show net-price averages closer to $26,600 and $35,700. That gap reflects not a higher credential, but different funding structures, program length packaging, and fewer state subsidies. Graduation-rate and net-price figures here are institution-wide averages, not per-program promises; your own cost will shift with Maryland residency, prior credits, aid eligibility, and whether you attend full-time or part-time.
LPN Pay in the Washington Metro and Across Maryland
Comparing Maryland's statewide LPN wage to the Washington-Arlington-Alexandria metro number shows why location matters for Silver Spring grads. The metro area covered by the Washington-Arlington-Alexandria OEWS news release spans DC, Maryland, Virginia, and West Virginia, so average pay near Silver Spring can look different from Maryland as a whole. Maryland's statewide median can be pulled down by lower-wage rural counties, while the metro figure captures a higher-cost, higher-demand labor market.1
What the Latest BLS Data Shows
The most recent published wage estimates for licensed practical nurses are for May 2025; May 2026 figures were not yet available as of this writing.2 BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics tables report median hourly and annual wages along with 25th and 75th percentiles, which gives a useful spread between lower and upper earners rather than a single midpoint.3 Metro, state, and national rows are published, but the detailed Silver Spring-Frederick-Rockville division row is not always released if sample sizes are small.4 The state and national rows are useful for context, but they are not the number to anchor a Silver Spring salary negotiation. The metro area includes high-cost jurisdictions, so local pay often sits above the national median, though the premium is not uniform across every facility.
Where the Higher Pay Sits
In this region, skilled nursing facilities, home health agencies, and government employers tend to cluster near the top of the 25th to 75th percentile range. Outpatient clinics and some school-based roles often land closer to the lower end. That spread matters more than a headline median because two new LPNs in the same county can have noticeably different starting pay depending on the setting. Shift differentials for evenings, nights, and weekends can also push LPN pay above the standard hourly base in many facilities.
Payback Relative to Program Cost
If a Silver Spring-area practical nursing program costs between $8,000 and $20,000, the debt is modest relative to metro pay. Using a commonly reported metro median annual wage in the low-to-mid $60,000s to low $70,000s, that tuition represents roughly two to four months of gross median LPN pay. Exact figures should be checked against current BLS May 2025 tables, but the general relationship holds: LPN training in this area is typically a short-term cost against a full-time nursing wage.
Paying for LPN School: Aid, Workforce Grants, and Employer Sponsorship in Maryland
Can you actually get an LPN program for free in Maryland? Rarely, in the literal sense. But a layered combination of federal aid, state or county workforce funding, and employer sponsorship can shrink the out-of-pocket cost close to nothing for the right candidate. The honest starting point is knowing what you actually owe before you go looking for money to cover it.
What Montgomery College Actually Charges
For Fall 2026, county residents pay $138 per credit, plus a consolidated fee (20% of tuition, minimum $50), a facilities fee, technology fee, and transportation fee. A 3-credit course runs $553.80 all in; a 12-credit course load lands around $2,215.20 for county residents, $4,274.40 for other Maryland residents, and $5,872.80 for out-of-state students. Because the practical nursing pathway runs across multiple terms, expect the total to accumulate across several semesters rather than land in one lump sum. That's the gap aid needs to close.
Grants, Workforce Funds, and Employer Deals
Pell Grants and Maryland state financial aid are the first stop for anyone filing a FAFSA. Beyond that, Montgomery County's American Job Center and WIOA-funded training accounts have historically helped eligible dislocated workers and low-income adults cover tuition and mandatory fees at approved programs, though you'll need to confirm current eligibility and whether the LPN track is on the approved list this year. The Maryland Nurse Support Program has traditionally focused on RN pipelines and nursing faculty rather than practical nursing students directly, so don't count on it as a primary PN funding source.
Employer sponsorship is often the most reliable route: nursing homes and home health agencies in the Silver Spring area sometimes cover tuition in return for a service commitment. Before signing, read the payback clause closely: what happens if you leave early, whether the commitment is prorated, and whether it covers books and NCLEX-PN exam fees, not just tuition.







