No practical nursing program operates inside Boulder city limits in 2026. Students who want an LPN credential commute north to Front Range Community College's Larimer Campus in Fort Collins, south to the Denver LPN programs at Community College of Denver, and to private-sector options like Pima Medical Institute in Denver and its Aurora LPN programs.
That geography shapes almost every other decision: which admission cycle to target, whether the Boulder metro's May 2023 median LPN wage of $68,500 justifies the drive, and how a three-semester certificate at roughly $6,000 to $19,000 in tuition fits against Colorado Board of Nursing approval status and NCLEX-PN pass rates that run slightly below the national average.
Where Boulder County LPNs Actually Work
The biggest tradeoff Boulder grads face isn't finding a job, it's accepting that the job probably won't be in a hospital. Boulder Community Health, UCHealth's Longs Peak and Broomfield campuses, Avista Adventist, and Good Samaritan Medical Center anchor the region's acute care landscape, but Colorado hospitals lean heavily on RNs for bedside inpatient work and hire LPNs sparingly. The realistic new-grad landscape sits elsewhere: skilled nursing, rehab, home health, correctional facilities, and primary care clinics.
Skilled nursing operators like Boulder Post Acute have recruited LPNs for PRN shifts1, and home health agencies including Enhabit (based in Thornton) round out the north-metro employer base. Assisted living and long-term care campuses in Boulder, Longmont, and Louisville also post steady openings, often with more predictable scheduling than acute settings.
What Colorado LPNs Can Actually Do
Colorado's scope of practice keeps LPNs working under a physician, dentist, podiatrist, or RN's supervision rather than independently.3 Within that structure, LPN duties include medication administration, wound care, tracheostomy care, blood draws, and can administer certain Schedule II-V controlled substances under supervision. IV therapy is now within scope with appropriate training and certification, though the specifics can vary by employer and setting.4 What LPNs cannot do: diagnose, prescribe, or independently direct care without oversight.5 That supervision requirement is exactly why so many jobs cluster in long term care nursing and clinics, settings built around delegated, protocol-driven nursing rather than autonomous acute decision-making.
Why Longmont and Westminster Fill Up First
Entry-level LPN roles skew toward 12-hour shifts in skilled nursing, PRN and per-diem slots, and contract home health work, sometimes paying $32 to $40 an hour with sign-on incentives.2 Because Boulder proper has limited capacity, new grads often land their first jobs in Longmont or Westminster, where facility density and staffing turnover create more frequent openings than the city core.
LPN Pay in the Boulder and Denver Metro Areas
Boulder is one of the better-paying markets in the country for practical nurses. The May 2023 federal wage data puts the Boulder metro median at $68,500 a year, about $2,000 above the Denver-Aurora-Lakewood metro and nearly $9,000 above the national median of $59,730. The tradeoff is scale: Boulder reported roughly 370 LPN jobs compared with 2,630 across the Denver metro, so openings turn over less often and many Boulder-trained graduates commute south or east for their first position.
| Area | Median Annual Wage | 10th Percentile | 25th Percentile | 75th Percentile | 90th Percentile | Employment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boulder, CO Metro | $68,500 | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | 370 |
| Denver-Aurora-Lakewood, CO Metro | $66,430 | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | 2,630 |
| United States | $59,730 | $45,670 | $50,640 | $67,140 | $77,870 | N/A |
| Colorado (statewide, 2011 survey) | $44,458 | $33,004 | $38,854 | $50,336 | $54,944 | 6,230 |
Online and Hybrid LPN Options for Boulder Students
No Colorado LPN programs are fully online, in Boulder or anywhere else in Colorado. Practical nursing requires hands-on skills training and supervised patient care, and the Colorado Board of Nursing will not approve a program, or recognize one for licensure, without in-person labs and clinical hours. Anyone searching for online LPN schools should treat a 100% remote LPN option as a red flag.
What can move online, and what can't
Theory-heavy coursework translates reasonably well to remote formats. Pharmacology, dosage calculation, anatomy and physiology, and general lecture blocks are commonly delivered through real-time remote classes or recorded modules. What cannot be replicated remotely is anything involving physical skill or patient contact:
- Skills lab: Practicing injections, wound care, and vital signs on manikins or classmates requires an on-campus lab.
- Simulation: High-fidelity scenarios happen in dedicated simulation suites, not on a laptop.
- Clinical rotations: Supervised hours in hospitals, long-term care facilities, or clinics are non-negotiable and scheduled around partner-site availability.
Who actually runs hybrid cohorts near Boulder
Front Range Community College's Larimer Campus in Fort Collins runs its Practical Nursing Certificate as a genuine hybrid LPN program: real-time remote classes paired with scheduled on-campus lab dates, spread across three semesters and 43 credits. It's ACEN-accredited and remains the clearest hybrid option within reasonable driving distance of Boulder. Aims Community College in Greeley offers a comparable 49-credit certificate, though its delivery format isn't spelled out the way FRCC's is. Neither school publishes an exact percentage of online versus on-campus hours, so students should confirm the current semester's schedule directly with admissions before enrolling.
Watch for out-of-state claims
If a program advertises itself as "online LPN" and isn't based in Colorado, verify it leads to a license Colorado will actually endorse, or steer clear.
How Long a Practical Nursing Program Takes Near Boulder
Three semesters is the standard answer in this market. Front Range Community College's Practical Nursing Certificate totals 43 credits across three semesters, and Community College of Denver, one of the LPN programs in Denver, runs a 51-credit certificate over three semesters in the full-time day track. Pima Medical Institute's Aurora campus, one of the LPN programs in Aurora, advertises its practical nursing certificate as a 12-month program. Regionally, full-time cohorts cluster around a year, while part-time and evening routes commonly stretch to 18 to 24 months.
Prerequisites Are the Hidden Semester
The nursing core is not where most applicants lose time. At FRCC, 7 of the 43 credits are prerequisites, with the remaining 36 credits making up the practical nursing sequence itself, and students are expected to finish that prerequisite work before moving into full-time nursing study from Semester 2 onward. CCD requires prerequisites completed with a grade of C or higher, and the deadline is tied to your start term: end of Spring for the August day cohort, end of Fall for the January evening and weekend cohort. If you are starting from scratch on science and math coursework, or need a nursing assistant credential your target program lists, budget one to two additional semesters before the clock on the certificate even begins.
Day Cohorts Versus Evening and Weekend
FRCC's published format is full-time, and the program is explicit that nursing study is full-time from the second semester forward. That means clinical days are scheduled for you, not around you. CCD is the clearer option for people holding a job: it lists a full-time day program alongside a part-time evening and weekend program, with the part-time route spread across four semesters (Spring, Summer, Fall, Spring).
Realistic Total Timeline
From your first prerequisite class to sitting for the NCLEX-PN exam, plan on roughly 18 months if prerequisites are light and you go full-time, and closer to two to two and a half years on a part-time evening track. Licensure testing follows graduation, so add several weeks for application processing and scheduling.
What LPN Training Near Boulder Actually Costs
Published tuition is where every cost conversation starts, but it is rarely where it ends. The figures below are institution-level annual tuition and the average net price students actually pay after grant aid, drawn from federal data reported in 2024, alongside median debt at graduation where programs report it. Treat these as school-level benchmarks rather than exact quotes for a practical nursing cohort, then budget separately for the program-specific add-ons that follow.
| School | Sector | In-State Tuition & Fees (Annual) | Out-of-State Tuition & Fees | Average Net Price | Median Debt at Graduation | Share Receiving Pell Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pickens Technical College (Aurora) | Public technical college | $5,140 | $9,250 | $6,600 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Emily Griffith Technical College (Denver) | Public technical college | Per clock hour by course; total practical nursing program cost $15,970 for 2025-2026 | Per clock hour by course | $7,197 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Community College of Denver | Public community college | $4,902 | $17,136 | $9,450 | $12,495 | 80% |
| Aims Community College (Greeley) | Public community college | $2,258 | $11,786 | $11,463 | $6,844 | 79% |
| Arapahoe Community College (Littleton) | Public community college | $4,434 | $17,034 | $11,571 | $11,884 | 65% |
| Front Range Community College (Westminster) | Public community college | $4,663 | $17,263 | $13,031 | $12,251 | 68% |
| Concorde Career College, Aurora | Private, for-profit | Not published | Not published | $16,666 | $9,500 | 74% |
| Pima Medical Institute, Denver | Private, for-profit | Not published | Not published | $22,034 | $9,500 | 75% |
| Pima Medical Institute, Aurora | Private, for-profit | Total practical nursing program cost $27,480 (including $25,960 tuition) | Same as in-state | $23,255 | $8,521 | 80% |
The Full Price Tag: Tuition Plus Everything Else

Related Articles
Admission Requirements for the Front Range Community College Practical Nursing Program
Front Range Community College runs its Practical Nursing Certificate out of the Larimer Campus, and it is a selective program, getting accepted to FRCC as a college does not get you a seat in the nursing cohort. The certificate totals 43 credits: 7 in prerequisites and 36 in practical nursing coursework, with classes starting in the fall. Here is what the current cycle asks for.
- Minimum GPA of 3.0Applicants need at least a 3.0 in the required prerequisite coursework. This is a competitive pool, so treat 3.0 as the floor rather than the target.
- Prerequisite courses (7 credits)ENG 1021 and ENG 1022 plus BIO 1006. Note that FRCC's published materials have carried slightly different course numbering in older catalog listings, so confirm the exact course codes with a nursing advisor before you register.
- Science recency limitYour science prerequisite must have been completed within 10 years of entering the program. Older catalog language cites a shorter window, which is another item worth verifying directly with the campus.
- HESI A-2 entrance examA 65% average across Reading Comprehension, Biology, Anatomy and Physiology, and Math. It is an average across the listed subjects, not a published per-section cutoff.
- No CNA certificate requiredUnlike some Colorado practical nursing programs, FRCC's entry-level PN certificate does not require a CNA credential or prior healthcare employment. An LPN license is only relevant if you are applying to the separate LPN-to-ADN bridge at Westminster.
- Transfer credit evaluationIf you're bringing in coursework from another college, it has to be evaluated before you submit your practical nursing application, not after.
- Prerequisite completion timingPrerequisites may be finished any time before fall practical nursing courses begin, including over the summer, so you can apply while a course is still in progress.
- Background check and drug screenRequired after admission, completed within 90 days prior to starting clinical coursework. Clinical partners, not the college, drive these deadlines.
- CPR certificationA current American Heart Association BLS provider card. Online-only certifications without a hands-on skills check typically won't be accepted by clinical sites.
- Immunizations and health documentationA completed health summary, required immunizations, and signed acknowledgment of the program's technical standards, all submitted post-admission.
- Application window and cohort startFRCC admits to a fall start for the practical nursing certificate. Specific application deadlines are not published in the materials we reviewed, so contact the Larimer Campus nursing department directly for the current cycle's dates, selective programs close applications well ahead of the term.
- How other area programs differEmily Griffith Technical College and private career colleges in the Denver metro often use different entrance exams, may accept lower GPAs, and sometimes run multiple cohort starts per year rather than a single fall intake, so if FRCC's fall timeline doesn't work, it's worth comparing requirements across the corridor.
Colorado LPN Licensure: Board Approval, NCLEX-PN, and DORA
A program can have a beautiful campus, a convenient schedule, and a payment plan you can actually afford, and still be worthless to you if the Colorado State Board of Nursing has not approved it. Approval status is the one thing worth confirming before any deposit changes hands, because graduates of an unapproved practical nursing program are not eligible to sit for the NCLEX-PN. No exam, no license, no LPN job.
Verify approval yourself
Among schools serving Boulder County, Front Range Community College's Practical Nursing Certificate is the clearest case: FRCC reports Full Approval from the Colorado State Board of Nursing, along with ACEN accreditation, for its 43-credit certificate based at the Larimer Campus. Other Front Range providers may hold approval as well, but approval status changes, and a school's marketing page is not a substitute for the board's own records. Check with the Colorado Board of Nursing directly through the DORA division of professions website, or call 303-894-7800 or email [email protected] to confirm a specific program's standing before you enroll.
The licensure sequence
Colorado's path to an LPN license by examination follows a predictable order:
- Finish an approved program: Current requirements include roughly 300 clock hours of theory and 400 clock hours of clinical, spanning medical-surgical, pediatric, obstetric, psychiatric/mental health nursing, and IV therapy.
- Apply through DORA: Submit your application in the manner the board specifies and pay the application fee.
- Clear a fingerprint-based background check: Budget time for this; it is commonly the slowest piece.
- Register with Pearson VUE: Your NCLEX-PN registration stays open for 365 days while you wait on board eligibility. If eligibility is not granted in that window, the registration and fee are forfeited.
- Receive your Authorization to Test and schedule: Then sit for the NCLEX-PN.
Compact licensure
Colorado participates in the Nurse Licensure Compact, so a multistate license issued here generally lets you practice in other compact states through LPN Reciprocity without a second license. That matters if you live near the Wyoming or Nebraska line, or pick up LPN travel nursing and agency shifts. Eligibility depends on your primary state of residence, so confirm the details with the board.
NCLEX-PN Pass Rates at Colorado Practical Nursing Programs
The NCLEX-PN is the single gate between finishing a practical nursing program and working as an LPN in Colorado, so first-time pass rates are worth checking before you enroll. Colorado's numbers for 2024 sit modestly below the national figure, and program-by-program rates are not published in a consistent public format by every Colorado school, so the statewide and jurisdictional benchmarks below are the most reliable comparison points available. A pass rate that falls well under the state average is a signal to ask the program directly about remediation support, NCLEX review resources, and how many students in the cohort finished on time. Also weigh cohort size: a program graduating eight students can swing 12 percentage points on a single test result, so one weak year in a small program means far less than a multi-year pattern.
| Program | Location | First-Time NCLEX-PN Pass Rate | Reporting Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Colorado practical nursing programs (statewide) | Colorado | 83.3% | 2024 |
| First-time NCLEX-PN candidates under the Colorado Board of Nursing | Colorado | 86.0% | 2024 |
| NCLEX-PN candidates tested for Colorado licensure (all candidate types) | Colorado | 83.3% | 2024 |
| U.S.-educated first-time NCLEX-PN candidates (national benchmark) | United States | 88.09% | 2024 |
LPN Programs Serving Boulder Students, Ranked
Below are the top LPN programs serving Boulder students, ranked by cost, institutional outcomes data, and program fit. There is no practical nursing program inside Boulder city limits, so every option here means a commute: the shortest runs south to Westminster along US-36 and the longest runs north to Greeley. Drive times below assume normal traffic from central Boulder.
How we ranked these
- Median graduate debt
- Graduation and completion rates
- Net price after aid
- Reported licensure and job outcomes
- Commute distance from Boulder
- College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Internal program database
- Independent editorial research
- IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
Pima Medical Institute-Denver
Pima Medical Institute's Denver campus is a private career school that runs its practical nursing certificate in about 12 months, mixing classroom instruction, hands-on labs, and clinical rotations in long-term care, clinics, and home health. Average net price after aid for the institution is roughly $22,034, and the campus sits 30 to 40 minutes from Boulder via US-36 and I-25.
Practical Nursing Certificate Program — On-Campus
Pima Medical Institute-Aurora
The Aurora campus of Pima Medical Institute offers the same 12-month practical nursing certificate as an on-ground program open to Colorado residents, with lab exercises and supervised clinical training built in. It carries the highest average net price after aid in this group, about $23,255, and adds roughly 40 to 55 minutes of drive time from Boulder depending on traffic.
Practical Nursing Certificate Program — On-Campus
Pickens Technical College
Pickens Technical College, a public technical college in Aurora, packs its practical nursing program into two semesters and 38.5 college credits with simulation labs and supervised clinical rotations. Reported outcomes are strong, including an 84.4% NCLEX-PN pass rate and a 91.2% completion rate, while average net price after aid is about $6,600, the lowest among the schools here.
Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Concorde Career College-Aurora
Concorde Career College's Aurora campus delivers a 10-month practical nursing diploma with 120 lab hours and 405 clinical hours in hospitals, clinics, and long-term care. It is a private option with an average net price after aid near $16,666 and a commute from Boulder of roughly 45 to 60 minutes.
Practical Nursing Diploma Program — On-Campus
Aims Community College
Aims Community College in Greeley offers a 49-credit practical nursing certificate that also serves as an early exit point from its ADN program, with an LPN to RN track for graduates who want to keep advancing. Average net price after aid is about $11,463, but the drive north on I-25 runs close to an hour each way, and transit options from Boulder are limited.
Practical Nursing Certificate — On-Campus
Front Range Community College
Front Range Community College serves the north metro and runs its practical nursing certificate at the Larimer Campus, a 43-credit curriculum covering fundamentals, pharmacology, and medical-surgical nursing. Colorado residents pay the in-state nursing rate, average net price after aid is about $13,031, and the Westminster location is reachable from Boulder on US-36 bus routes.
Practical Nursing Certificate — On-Campus
Arapahoe Community College
Arapahoe Community College in Littleton offers a 47-credit practical nursing certificate designed as an early exit from its registered nursing program, so admission runs through acceptance into the RN track. Average net price after aid is about $11,571, and the commute from Boulder runs 45 to 60 minutes south on US-36 and C-470.
Practical Nursing Certificate — On-Campus
Emily Griffith Technical College
Emily Griffith Technical College, a Denver public technical college, runs its ACEN-accredited practical nursing program in 12 months full-time or 18 months part-time, with four clinical internships totaling 405 hours. Average net price after aid is about $7,197, listed program tuition is $15,970, and heavy scholarship funding aims to send students out debt-free.
Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Community College of Denver
Community College of Denver offers a 51-credit practical nursing certificate with prerequisites in anatomy, physiology, and medical terminology, plus clinical work in simulation and real care settings. Average net price after aid is about $9,450, and the college also hosts an LPN to BSN bridge through the Colorado Community College System for graduates who want to keep advancing.
Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Moving up: LPN-to-ADN and LPN-to-BSN Bridges From Boulder
Advancement for an LPN to RN in Colorado follows a specific ladder: hold an LPN license, enter an LPN to ADN bridge at a community college, pass the NCLEX-RN, then finish a BSN online while you work as an RN. No step is skipped, but each one is shorter than starting nursing school from scratch.
The Colorado bridge routes
Arapahoe Community College's Nursing AAS (LPN to ADN Bridge) in Littleton is the most clearly documented route for a Front Range LPN, with a Summer/Fall 2026 application window running March 27 through April 10, 2026. Front Range Community College's own ADN program grants LPN license holders advanced placement worth 21 credits, though its published materials don't itemize exactly which courses those credits replace. Both programs sit inside the Colorado Community College System's shared statewide nursing curriculum, so coursework and prerequisites are built to align across CCCS campuses.
How the credit actually works
Arapahoe's mechanics are the most transparent. Rather than an Excelsior-style challenge exam, the college awards prior learning credit once you've completed four gateway nursing courses; holding a Colorado LPN license then earns credit for four additional required courses. Provisional admission is available while you're still finishing those gateway courses, but full acceptance requires at least a 2.0 in two of them. Plan on roughly three to four added semesters, though your actual timeline depends on what prerequisites you're bringing in.
Finishing with a BSN
No Colorado school markets a direct LPN to BSN program. Once you're an RN, though, online completion programs open up: Colorado Christian University (14 months, 30 credits), CSU Pueblo (12 months, 27 credits at $400 per credit), Colorado Mesa University (18 months), Front Range Community College, and MSU Denver all accept licensed RNs or dual-enrolled ADN students.
Why bother
Colorado RN pay runs well above the LPN wages cited earlier, often clearing six figures in the Boulder-Denver corridor. That gap is what makes the added semesters and tuition worth weighing seriously.
Boulder LPN Program Questions, Answered
These are the questions Boulder-area students ask most often before committing to a practical nursing program. The answers below reflect what current program materials and Colorado licensure rules actually say, including where the honest answer is that the information is not published.
Are there online LPN programs in Boulder, CO?
Not in the fully online sense. Practical nursing in Colorado is delivered on campus or in hybrid format, and no fully online LPN program based in Boulder shows up in current program listings. Some theory coursework may run online in a hybrid setup, but skills labs and clinical rotations require in-person attendance. Plan on commuting for the hands-on portions of any program you enroll in.
Which LPN programs are closest to Boulder, Colorado?
Boulder itself does not host a practical nursing program, so the nearest documented options sit in the Denver metro area and along the Front Range, including LPN programs in Denver. Emily Griffith Technical College in Denver is the closest well-documented program for most Boulder residents. Other Colorado community college practical nursing programs, including Pikes Peak State College in Colorado Springs, CO and Pueblo Community College, are farther south and involve a substantially longer commute.
Do I need to be a CNA before applying to a Colorado practical nursing program?
Often, yes, though it is not a universal statewide rule. Emily Griffith requires an active CNA license or completion of a Medical Assistant program. Pikes Peak State College requires an active Colorado CNA certificate plus NUA 1001 and NUA 1070. Pueblo Community College accepts Colorado CNA certification or NUA 1001. Check each program directly, since LPN/LVN Program Admissions requirements are set program by program.
Can I work as an LPN in a Boulder hospital, or is long-term care the realistic starting point?
Boulder-specific hiring data for new LPN graduates is not published, so we cannot promise hospital placement. What is consistent across the field is that long-term care and skilled nursing settings hire LPNs predictably and in volume, while hospital LPN roles vary widely by employer and unit. Treat post-acute care as the dependable entry point and hospital work as employer-dependent.
Does a Colorado LPN license let me work in other states?
It can. Colorado is a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact, which covers RN and LPN licenses and spans 43 jurisdictions as of April 2026. If Colorado is your primary state of residence, the Colorado Board of Nursing can issue a multistate license that permits practice in other compact states. If you live elsewhere, you receive a Colorado-only license instead.







