Seven Colorado State Board of Nursing approved practical nursing programs sit within a 40-mile commute of the 80017 zip code, from downtown Denver community colleges to LPN programs in Aurora.
Program length runs from 10 months to nearly two years depending on schedule format, and tuition spreads from under $5,000 at public technical colleges to well over $20,000 at private institutions. NCLEX-PN pass rates differ by several percentage points between schools, which matters more than sticker price once you're job hunting.
Denver's hospital systems and long-term care networks are hiring LPNs faster than some programs can graduate them, which puts real pressure on choosing a school with strong clinical placement relationships rather than just a short timeline.
Jump straight to the program list →
Why Denver Is a Strong Market for New LPNs
Denver graduates enter one of the healthiest LPN hiring markets in the Mountain West, and the region's major health systems are the reason.
UCHealth, SCL Health (now part of Intermountain), Denver Health, Centura Health, and Kaiser Permanente Colorado all operate multiple facilities across the metro and routinely pull new LPNs directly from local program pipelines, including the Best LPN Programs in Colorado 2026. These systems staff everything from acute rehab units to outpatient clinics, and clinical rotations at partner schools often double as informal auditions for post-licensure hiring.
Scope of Practice in Colorado
Colorado LPNs work under the supervision of an RN or physician, consistent with most surrounding states, but the state allows LPNs to pursue Specialty Certification for LPNs, including IV therapy certification as an add-on credential. That extra scope makes Colorado-trained LPNs more competitive for skilled nursing and med-surg roles than counterparts in states with tighter restrictions, and it's worth asking any program you're considering whether IV certification is built into the curriculum or offered separately.
Where the Jobs Are
Demand isn't confined to downtown Denver. Aurora, Lakewood, Arvada, Thornton, and Centennial all show consistent LPN hiring activity, driven by skilled nursing facilities, long-term care, and outpatient clinics spread across the suburbs. If you're commuting, proximity to these employment hubs matters as much as proximity to the school itself, since many clinical placements and first jobs land closer to home than to campus.
The Demand Driver
Colorado's aging population is expanding faster than its long-term care workforce, and employers report it now takes close to a month, on average, to fill an open LPN position in the Denver area. That time-to-fill pressure is already pushing some employers, particularly in skilled nursing, to offer above-market pay and sign-on incentives just to keep positions staffed. For new graduates, that translates into leverage during your job search that LPNs in slower-growth metros simply don't have.
LPN Salary and Job Outlook in the Denver Metro
Licensed practical nurses in the Denver metro area earn considerably more than the national median, which sits near $59,730 according to the latest Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2025). With a local median above $75,000, Denver LPNs enjoy a significant premium, though the cost of living in the Front Range should be factored into any comparison. Denver metro LPN wages also run slightly above the Colorado statewide figure, reflecting strong demand from hospitals, long term care facilities, and outpatient clinics concentrated along the I-25 corridor.
| Wage Percentile | Annual Wage | Approximate Hourly Wage |
|---|---|---|
| 25th Percentile | $63,500 | $30.53 |
| Median (50th Percentile) | $75,810 | $36.45 |
| Mean (Average) | $73,050 | $35.12 |
| 75th Percentile | $81,300 | $39.09 |
| National Median (All U.S.) | $59,730 | $28.72 |
Can You Complete an LPN Program Online in Colorado?
An online LPN program is one where you complete part of your coursework through a computer instead of sitting in a classroom, but a fully remote path to licensure doesn't exist anywhere in the country. Practical nursing is a hands-on profession, and the Colorado State Board of Nursing (CSBN) requires a set number of supervised clinical hours performed in person at an approved facility. No amount of video lecture substitutes for starting an IV or documenting a real patient assessment under a preceptor's watch.
What online actually means here
When a Denver-area program calls itself online or hybrid, the didactic portion, anatomy, pharmacology, nursing theory, is usually delivered through recorded lectures, discussion boards, and virtual quizzes. Clinical rotations and skills labs still take place in person at a campus lab or partner hospital and clinic sites around the metro. This model can shave commute time off a student's week and offer more flexibility for parents or those working while in school, but it's not a shortcut around the clinical requirement, even the Fastest LPN/LVN Programs of 2026 keep those supervised hours in person.
What we found among Denver programs
None of the programs we reviewed currently offers a hybrid didactic track. All are primarily campus-based, with lecture and lab held on-site. That could shift as more schools adopt blended formats, so it's worth asking directly during a program visit.
A few out-of-state online LPN programs claim they can place Colorado students in local clinical sites. Treat these carefully. Verify CSBN approval status before paying any deposit, since a program without state board recognition won't qualify you to sit for the NCLEX-PN in Colorado.
Accelerated Vs. Standard LPN Timelines in Denver
Denver-area LPN programs generally offer two scheduling tracks: a full-time day option that compresses coursework into roughly 10 to 12 months, and a part-time evening or weekend option that stretches to 16 to 18 months or longer. Schools use different labels, but the practical distinction is the same: intensive daytime hours for career changers who can commit full days, versus a slower pace designed around a work schedule.

Admission Requirements for Denver LPN Programs
Entry requirements vary significantly across Denver-area practical nursing programs. Some schools ask for prior healthcare credentials, specific prerequisite coursework, and competitive GPAs, while others keep the door open to career changers with no clinical background. The table below compares key admission criteria so you can identify which program fits your current qualifications and timeline.
| School | TEAS Minimum | GPA Minimum | CNA Required? | Key Prerequisites | Application Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Community College of Denver | Not specified | 3.0 on a 4.0 scale | Not stated | Three prerequisite courses completed (or in progress by end of spring semester), CPR/BLS certification, clear background check, negative drug screen | Annual program application, deadline April 15 |
| Emily Griffith Technical College | Required for cohorts starting January 2026 and later (minimum score not published) | Not specified | Yes, active CNA license or completion of a Medical Assistant program | BIO 1006 Anatomy and Physiology (within 7 years), HPR 1040 Comprehensive Medical Terminology (within 2 years), official high school transcript or equivalent | Application through the Practical Nursing program page (deadline not published) |
| Concorde Career College (Denver) | Entrance assessments required (specific TEAS minimum not published) | Not specified | Not stated | High school diploma or GED, application fee (if applicable), interview, physical exam and immunization records may be required | Online application plus interview and entrance assessments (rolling; no published deadline) |
| Pima Medical Institute (Aurora) | Not specified | Not specified | Not stated | High school diploma or GED equivalent | Not specified (no published deadline) |
Related Articles
Denver-Area LPN Programs Compared
Below are the top LPN programs serving Denver students, ranked by completion data, accreditation status, and fit for local commuters. The list spans private career colleges, community college certificates, and a public technical school, with campuses in Denver, Aurora, Westminster, Littleton, and the northern Front Range. Every program listed leads to NCLEX-PN eligibility and Colorado licensure.
How we ranked these
- Median graduate debt after completion
- Graduation and program completion rates
- In-state net price and tuition
- Accreditation and state board approval
- Commuting distance within the metro
- College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, student-faculty ratios and net price — nces.ed.gov
- Internal program database
- Independent editorial research
Concorde Career College-Aurora
Concorde Career College is a private career college that has long served Aurora students and now runs its practical nursing program from a Denver location on Kittredge Street, with the first cohorts at the new site starting in 2026. The diploma takes about 10 months and blends classroom, lab, and clinical training, including IV skills certification and NCLEX-PN review. Federal data put the average net price near $16,666, with median graduate debt around $9,500 and former students earning a median of roughly $42,456 a decade after enrolling.
- 10-month diploma totaling 35.5 credit hours
- 405 clinical hours plus 120 lab hours
- ACEN accredited and approved by the Colorado State Board of Nursing
- Includes IV skills certification and NCLEX-PN review
- Coursework spans pharmacology, anatomy, and medical-surgical nursing
- Denver catalog lists total program tuition of $35,518.50
- Financial aid and scholarships available for qualifying students
- Clinical rotations held in hospitals, clinics, and long-term care
Practical Nursing Diploma Program — On-Campus
Front Range Community College
Front Range Community College is a public two-year college headquartered in Westminster and one of the lowest-cost routes to LPN licensure in the region. Its two-semester certificate is ACEN accredited, admits through a competitive process, and is taught at the Larimer Campus, so students should plan for a longer drive than a Denver city campus would require. In-district tuition and fees run about $4,663 a year, median earnings for former students sit near $45,910 ten years after enrollment, and graduates carry median federal debt of roughly $12,251.
- Two-semester certificate totaling 43 credit hours
- Offered at the Larimer Campus
- Reported 95.24% NCLEX-PN pass rate and 100% on-time completion
- Simulation labs plus clinical partnerships with local health agencies
- Competitive admission; Spring 2026 applications ran April 1 to 15
- HESI A-2 entrance exam required for applicants
- Extra ranking points for patient-care experience, prior degrees, or military service
- ACEN-accredited curriculum with NCLEX-PN preparation
Practical Nursing Certificate — On-Campus
Arapahoe Community College
Arapahoe Community College in Littleton runs its practical nursing certificate as an alternative exit for students already admitted to the registered nursing program, so it works best as a planned step rather than a standalone entry point. The 47-credit certificate includes a summer transition course and prepares graduates for the NCLEX-PN. In-district tuition and fees are about $4,434 a year, median earnings for former students sit near $48,341 a decade after entry, and median graduate debt is about $11,884.
- 47-credit certificate with a 3.0 GPA minimum
- Open only to students already accepted into the RN program
- Summer transition course NUR 169 bridges general and nursing coursework
- Prerequisites in anatomy, physiology, microbiology, and psychology
- Prepares graduates for NCLEX-PN and LPN licensure
- Financial aid available for qualifying students
Practical Nursing Certificate — On-Campus
Pickens Technical College
Pickens Technical College is a public technical school in Aurora with strong reported completion and employment figures for its nursing graduates. The practical nursing program runs two semesters across 38.5 credits with fall and January starts, an on-site simulation lab, and separate admissions steps that include the TEAS exam. Its net price of about $6,600 is the lowest in this comparison, and federal data show median earnings near $39,210 ten years after entry; the campus does not report a median graduate debt figure.
- Two-semester program totaling 38.5 college credits
- ACEN accreditation continued at the most recent review
- Reported 84.4% NCLEX-PN pass rate and 91.2% completion rate
- Fall and January starts through a separate admissions process
- $1,000 non-refundable acceptance fee
- Deadlines: first Monday in April and first Monday in October
- TEAS entrance exam required
- On-site simulation labs with supervised off-site clinical rotations
Practical Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Pima Medical Institute-Aurora
Pima Medical Institute's Aurora campus is a private career college offering a 12-month practical nursing certificate with hands-on lab and clinical training. The program is approved by the Colorado State Board of Nursing and holds initial accreditation from the National League for Nursing Commission for Nursing Education Accreditation, and it is campus-based only. Average net price runs near $23,255 and median federal debt for graduates is about $8,521; program-level earnings for this campus are not yet available.
- 12-month on-campus certificate program
- Roughly 400 clinical hours in acute and long-term care settings
- NLN CNEA initial accreditation and state board approval
- Training includes IV starts, medication administration, and vital signs
- Hands-on simulation labs taught by experienced instructors
- Dedicated career services team supports job placement
- No fully online option for this program
Practical Nursing Certificate Program — On-Campus
Pima Medical Institute-Denver
Pima Medical Institute's Denver campus sits on the north side of the metro and delivers the same 12-month practical nursing certificate as the Aurora location. Coursework covers medication administration, IV starts, catheterizations, and electronic health records, with clinical placements in acute and long-term care. Average net price is about $22,034, median graduate debt is roughly $9,500, and federal data show former students earning a median near $38,673 a decade after entry.
- About 12 months to complete, taught on campus
- State board approved with NLN CNEA accreditation
- Coursework covers pharmacology, maternal child nursing, and elder care
- Skills training in IV starts, catheterizations, and electronic health records
- Clinical rotations in acute care and long-term care
- Career services and financial aid support available
- Fully online delivery is not offered
Practical Nursing Certificate Program — On-Campus
Community College of Denver
Community College of Denver teaches its practical nursing certificate at the Lowry Campus on the east side of the city. The 51-credit, full-time program requires anatomy, physiology, and medical terminology prerequisites and changed its prerequisite requirements for Spring 2026, so applicants should confirm current rules before applying. In-district tuition and fees run about $4,902 a year, median graduate debt is about $12,495, and median earnings for former students are near $39,095 a decade after entry.
- 51-credit, full-time certificate program
- Taught at the Lowry Campus in Denver
- Prerequisites include anatomy, physiology, math, English, and medical terminology
- Prerequisite requirements changed for the Spring 2026 term
- CPR certification, background check, and drug screen required
- Clinical hours completed in simulation and real health care settings
- Pathway agreement with MSU Denver for progression to a BSN
- Information sessions offered remotely for prospective students







