LVN Programs in Pomona, CA 2027

LVN Programs in Pomona, CA 2027
Updated September 21, 202615 min read

LVN Programs in Pomona, California 2027

Compare BVNPT-approved vocational nursing schools near Pomona on cost, length, pass rates and pay

Pomona sits on the seam between Los Angeles County , home to many LVN programs in Los Angeles , and the Inland Empire, a position that matters more for LVN training than most students expect. A commuter centered on the 91766 ZIP code can reach roughly two dozen BVNPT-approved vocational nursing programs within 30 minutes, far outpacing the one or two schools inside the city limits themselves.

The result is a crowded field where programs with sharply different tuition, completion timelines, program formats, and NCLEX-PN pass rates, including accelerated LPN programs, compete for the same applicant. Cost, length, BVNPT approval, and first-attempt pass rates are the four variables that separate a workable option from an expensive detour.

Jump straight to the program list →

Where Pomona LVNs Actually Work, and What Clinical Rotations Look Like

Most people enroll picturing a hospital badge, and most Pomona-area graduates start somewhere else. That gap between the imagined first job and the actual one is worth closing before you sign a tuition agreement, because it shapes which program features matter and which are just brochure copy.

The Employers You'll Actually Apply To

Pomona sits inside a dense healthcare corridor. Pomona Valley Hospital Medical Center and Casa Colina anchor the city itself, San Antonio Regional Hospital in Upland is a short drive west, and Kaiser Permanente's Fontana and Ontario facilities pull applicants from across the Inland Empire. Alongside those names sits the far larger pool: skilled nursing, transitional care, and long-term care nursing facilities stacked along the 10 and 60 freeways. A current long-term care LVN opening on North Garey Avenue in Pomona is the more representative listing, not the outlier.1

In California, new LVN hires cluster in skilled nursing, long-term care, clinics, home health, and correctional or occupational health settings rather than acute-care med-surg floors. Hospitals in this region lean heavily on RNs for inpatient bedside roles. That is not a knock on the credential; it means your first job search should target post-acute and outpatient employers deliberately instead of treating them as a consolation prize.

How Clinical Placement Works Here

LVN clinicals are arranged by the school, not chosen by the student. Lotus Medical Career College, which operates a campus on West Willow Street in Pomona, lists approved clinical sites including Claremont Care Center, Community Extended Care Hospital in Montclair, Glendora Canyon Transitional Care, and Landmark Medical Center. Expect a similar mix elsewhere: substantial skilled nursing and transitional care hours, clinic time, and some acute-care exposure. Ask LVN programs in California for their current site lists and how far students commute.

Scope of Practice Before You Start

California LVNs deliver basic bedside nursing under physician or RN direction.2 IV therapy and blood withdrawal require separate Board certification,3 typically around 36 hours (roughly 27 theory plus 9 supervised lab),4 and ventilator manipulation is outside LVN scope entirely.2 Many employers expect IV certification, so plan on it.

Are There Online or Hybrid LVN Programs Near Pomona?

Can you earn an LVN degree fully online from Pomona? No. No approved vocational nursing program in the state is 100% online: California's Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians (BVNPT) requires supervised skills labs and hundreds of hours of patient-care clinicals. That said, some approved schools near Pomona do offer hybrid LPN programs: the didactic theory moves online, while labs and clinicals stay in person.

What Hybrid Actually Means

In practice, hybrid does not mean you skip the bedside. A clock-hour LVN program still requires roughly 1,530 total hours, including about 954 hours of clinical training and 576 hours of theory under current California standards.1 In a hybrid format, you may attend live online lectures, complete reading and assignments on your own schedule, then report to campus for skills check-offs and to assigned clinical sites for direct patient care. Lotus Medical Career College in Pomona is the clearest documented local example: its 2024 catalog describes online synchronous theory via Zoom and some introductory clinical instruction online, with the remainder of clinical training completed in person at approved sites.

Schedule Formats and Timelines

Full-time day cohorts are the most commonly advertised option, often running about 12 to 18 months. Lotus Medical Career College's full-time program is listed at about 11 months. North-West College's Pomona-area vocational nursing program exceeds the state's 1,530-hour minimum2; since it does not clearly advertise hybrid didactic delivery, treat it as campus based unless the school confirms otherwise. Nearby Citrus College and Chaffey College are BVNPT-approved and generally campus based. Part-time evening or weekend tracks may be available at some regional schools, and these can stretch closer to two years, though you should confirm the current schedule before applying.

Verify Before You Pay a Deposit

Any "online LVN" advertisement deserves a check. Search the BVNPT approved-school list1 by campus and confirm that the delivery format, clinical hours, and schedule match what the recruiter told you. If a school cannot show you a current BVNPT approval for the Pomona-area location, do not pay a deposit.

BVNPT-Approved LVN Programs Within Commuting Distance of Pomona

Three different credentials get mixed up constantly, and only one of them determines whether you can test for licensure. Approval by the California Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians (BVNPT) is the credential that makes you eligible to sit for the NCLEX-PN in California, and no other approval substitutes for it. Approval to operate from the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE) is a separate state requirement that applies to private career colleges, while national or regional institutional accreditation matters mainly for federal financial aid eligibility and for transferring credit later into an LVN-to-RN bridge. The table below lists vocational nursing programs in Pomona and the surrounding commuting corridor, with approval details drawn from BVNPT board actions. Where a school appears on aggregator sites but is not currently listed among approved programs, treat that listing as unverified until you confirm it directly, and note that several older Pomona-area listings circulating online point to campuses that no longer run an approved vocational nursing cohort. Before you pay a deposit anywhere, look the school up in the BVNPT's approved vocational nursing program directory at bvnpt.ca.gov and confirm it is currently approved, not merely listed.

SchoolCity (Distance from Pomona)BVNPT Approval StatusInstitutional Accreditation / BPPEFormat & Length
Lotus Medical Career CollegePomona (0 miles, 1460 E Holt Ave, Bldg 3, Ste 176A)Approved vocational nursing programApproved to operate by the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE)Full-time LVN licensure program, 1,736 clock hours over 52 weeks (about 12 months)
North-West College, Pomona campusPomona (0 miles)Listed among vocational nursing program requests approved by BVNPT (February 2026 board agenda)Private career college; specific approval details not stated in BVNPT board records reviewedVocational Nursing Program; program length not stated in the records reviewed
North-West College, West Covina campusWest Covina (about 8 to 10 miles northwest)BVNPT approval to admit a full-time day class of 45 students, granted May 16, 2025Private career college; specific approval details not stated in BVNPT board records reviewedFull-time day cohort, 45 students; program length not stated in the records reviewed
Platt College, Riverside campusRiverside (about 35 to 40 miles southeast)Listed among vocational nursing program requests approved by BVNPT (February 2026 board agenda)Private career college; specific approval details not stated in BVNPT board records reviewedVocational Nursing Program; format not stated in the records reviewed
Stanbridge University, Riverside campusRiverside (about 35 to 40 miles southeast)Listed among vocational nursing program requests approved by BVNPT (February 2026 board agenda)Private institution; specific approval details not stated in BVNPT board records reviewedVocational Nursing Program; format not stated in the records reviewed
Summit College, San Bernardino campusSan Bernardino (about 30 to 35 miles east by freeway)BVNPT approval for multiple replacement classes (two full-time 30-student cohorts, one part-time 25-student cohort); removal from provisional status recommended contingent on continued improvementPrivate career college; specific approval details not stated in BVNPT board records reviewedFull-time and part-time cohort options; program length not stated in the records reviewed
Southeast College, San Bernardino campusSan Bernardino (about 30 to 35 miles east)Listed among vocational nursing program requests approved by BVNPT (February 2026 board agenda)Private career college; specific approval details not stated in BVNPT board records reviewedVocational Nursing Program; format not stated in the records reviewed
Medical Career CollegeSouthern California; city not specified in BVNPT records reviewedBVNPT approval to admit a full-time class of 20 students beginning June 2, 2025 (graduation 05/29/2026)Private career college; specific approval details not stated in BVNPT board records reviewedFull-time cohort of 20 students, roughly 12 months based on the approved start and graduation dates
Regan Career InstituteSouthern California; city not specified in BVNPT records reviewedListed among vocational nursing program requests approved by BVNPT (February 2026 board agenda)Private career college; specific approval details not stated in BVNPT board records reviewedVocational Nursing Program; format not stated in the records reviewed
Aberdeen InstituteCalifornia; distance from Pomona not stated in BVNPT records reviewedListed among vocational nursing program requests approved by BVNPT (February 2026 board agenda)Private institution; specific approval details not stated in BVNPT board records reviewedVocational Nursing Program; format not stated in the records reviewed

The Full Price Tag of Becoming an LVN in Pomona

Tuition is the number schools advertise, and it swings hardest: the community college route and the private career college route sit far apart, as covered earlier on this page. What almost nobody quotes you upfront is everything stacked on top of tuition. These are the costs that show up as separate line items on a cost sheet or as out-of-pocket payments you make directly to a vendor, a clinic, or the state.

Beyond tuition, Pomona LVN students pay roughly $2,150 for fees, supplies, clearances, the NCLEX-PN, and California licensure
A program's next start date tells you nothing about whether you will pass the NCLEX-PN. Its BVNPT approval status and its recent pass rate tell you almost everything.
From our pass-rate analysis of LVN programs serving Pomona

What Pomona-Area LVNs Earn

Pomona sits inside the Los Angeles metro wage area, so that is the benchmark to use when you weigh tuition against your first paycheck.

Ranked: LVN Programs Serving Pomona Students

Below are the vocational nursing programs that serve Pomona students, ranked in order. Every card opens with the published figures that matter most when comparing schools, including net price after aid, completions, and graduate debt or earnings where those numbers exist. Distance from Pomona and whether instruction is campus-based or hybrid is noted for each one, since commuting is part of the decision.

How we ranked these

Factors considered
  1. Median graduate debt
  2. Graduation rates
  3. Net price after aid
  4. Program-level costs
  5. Approval status
Data sources
  • College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Internal program database
  • Independent editorial research
  • IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
CO

Concorde Career College-Garden Grove

Garden Grove, CA · $20,000 – $25,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Working adults needing evening and weekend classes

Concorde Career College's Garden Grove campus runs a vocational nursing diploma approved by the California BVNPT, with a 13-month daytime track and a 20-month evening and weekend option for students who keep working. Training pairs on-campus labs with clinical rotations in hospitals, long-term care facilities, clinics, and home health agencies. NCLEX-PN review is built in, and financial aid and scholarships are available for those who qualify.

  • Practical / Vocational Nursing Diploma Program — On-Campus
    Concorde Career College-Garden Grove
    Visit Website
SU

Summit College

San Bernardino, CA · ~$30,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Transit commuters heading into the Inland Empire

Summit College has trained allied health students since 1991 and gears its vocational nursing program toward Inland Empire employers, which suits Pomona students willing to work east of home after licensure. The San Bernardino campus sits near the Tippecanoe Metrolink Station, so it is reachable by rail as well as by car. Instruction mixes lecture and lab work with 954 hours of supervised clinical practice, and free tutoring and career services run from enrollment through the job search.

  • Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Summit College
    Visit Website
CO

Concorde Career College-San Bernardino

San Bernardino, CA · ~$26,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Career changers who want hands-on skills training

Concorde's San Bernardino campus offers a daytime vocational nursing diploma that finishes in about 13 months. Students learn foundational skills such as taking vital signs and inserting catheters in campus labs, then apply them during clinical placements in real care settings. The curriculum is approved by the California Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians and includes NCLEX-PN review.

  • Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Concorde Career College-San Bernardino
    Visit Website
PA

Pasadena City College

Pasadena, CA · under $5,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Pasadena City College is a public community college, so California residents pay community college rates rather than private-school tuition. Its vocational nursing certificate takes two semesters plus a summer intersession and includes supervised clinical practice in community settings. Because the coursework carries college credit, students can build toward an associate degree or a later RN bridge.

  • Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Pasadena City College
    Visit Website
PL

Platt College-Anaheim

Anaheim, CA · ~$23,000/yr (est.)

Platt College offers its vocational nursing program at several Southern California campuses and awards either a diploma or an associate degree, depending on the track a student chooses. The program runs about 18 months with full-time and part-time schedules and requires an entrance exam. Cohort-based instruction covers theory and lab skills, with clinical hours completed at area healthcare facilities.

  • Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Platt College-Anaheim
    Visit Website
AM

American Career College-Anaheim

Anaheim, CA · ~$31,000/yr (est.)

American Career College's Anaheim campus runs a BVNPT-approved vocational nursing diploma that day students finish in about 12 months, with an 18-month evening and weekend track for those who work. Learners log more than 800 clinical hours at hospitals, skilled nursing centers, and clinics across Orange County. High-fidelity simulation labs support the medication administration, wound care, and charting skills taught in class.

  • Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    American Career College-Anaheim
    Visit Website
AN

Angeles Institute

ARTESIA, CA · ~$24,000/yr (est.)

Angeles Institute is a small Artesia campus that completes its vocational nursing program in about 11 months across four terms. Tuition bundles books and uniforms, and the final term shifts to licensure preparation, resume building, and interview practice. Applicants must pass an entrance exam, and the program is approved by the Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians.

  • Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Angeles Institute
    Visit Website
CI

Citrus College

Glendora, CA · $4,000/yr (est. net price)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Citrus College in Glendora is a public community college and one of the closest low-cost vocational nursing options to Pomona. The certificate of achievement combines classroom theory in medical-surgical, pediatric, obstetric, and pharmacology content with clinical rotations at local hospitals and clinics. Credits can be applied toward an associate degree, and graduates are prepared for the NCLEX-VN.

  • Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Citrus College
    Visit Website
NO

North-West College-West Covina

West Covina, CA · ~$30,000/yr (est.)

North-West College's West Covina campus sits in the city next door to Pomona, making it one of the shortest commutes on this list. The vocational nursing program is campus-based with day and evening class options and hands-on clinical experience. Instruction emphasizes direct patient care skills such as injections, vital sign monitoring, and specimen preparation.

  • Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    North-West College-West Covina
    Visit Website
AM

American Career College-Ontario

Ontario, CA · $33,000/yr (est. net price)

American Career College's Ontario campus is among the closest LVN campuses to Pomona, reachable by the freeways that link the two cities. The BVNPT-approved diploma takes about 12 months on the day schedule or roughly 18 months with the evening and weekend option. Students train in an on-campus skills lab and complete 800 hours of clinical rotations at hospitals, skilled nursing facilities, and clinics.

  • Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    American Career College-Ontario
    Visit Website

Recent Articles

See all articles

In this article

Follow us