Homestead Schools is the only BVNPT-approved vocational nursing program sitting inside Torrance city limits. Widen the search to a 30-mile ring around 90503, though, and the field opens considerably: Gardena, Lawndale, Long Beach, Cerritos, and Artesia all host approved programs, giving South Bay residents real choice beyond a single campus.
That choice narrows to three questions: is the program actually on the state board's approved list, what will it cost once fees and supplies are added in, and how quickly can it get you to a paycheck. Vocational nursing training runs roughly 12 to 18 months and ends in the NCLEX-PN exam, not a degree, which is the tradeoff that separates it from an associate or bachelor's nursing track.
Cost and timeline vary more between these programs than most applicants expect. Jump straight to the program list →
Where Torrance LVNs Work: South Bay Employers and Clinical Rotation Sites
California's LVN job market has drifted steadily away from acute-care hospital floors and toward long-term care, clinics, home health, and physician offices, and the South Bay follows that pattern closely. Current job postings in and around Torrance reflect it: skilled nursing and behavioral health facilities, home health and hospice agencies, school districts, and outpatient practices dominate the openings, while hospital LVN roles appear less often and tend to sit in specific units rather than general med-surg.
Who Is Hiring Around 90503
Recent listings give a partial but useful picture of the local employer mix:
- Torrance: The Earlwood, a skilled nursing facility, has posted treatment LVN work in the $38 to $42 per hour range;1 Del Amo Behavioral Health System has advertised LVN roles roughly $30.86 to $46.28 hourly;2 RO Health recruits school-based nurses for the 2025-2026 school year.3
- Long Beach, CA: MemorialCare Long Beach Memorial Medical Center and Miller Children's Hospital have listed LVN positions around $32.19 to $46.68 per hour;45 the Long Beach VA Medical Center has run multiple LVN openings.6 Ocean View Psychiatric Hospital has posted hospital-based LVN work near $32 to $38.7
- Carson, Gardena, and Harbor City: coverage is thinner in the postings, though home health agencies serving those cities actively recruit LVNs;9 and hospice and registry work can pay considerably more per hour.8
- Non-clinical settings: Torrance Unified School District has posted LVN salaries in the $5,051 to $6,138 monthly range;3 a reminder that school nursing is a real option here.
Why Clinical Sites Should Shape Your School Choice
Ask every program where students actually rotate. A school that places you in South Bay nursing homes, clinics, or behavioral health units is functionally running a hiring pipeline: charge nurses see your work, and graduates often get called back. Programs that bus students far outside the area give you the hours but not the relationships.
With hundreds of LVN listings open across the Torrance area this year,10 starting one of the LVN programs in California in 2026 means entering a market with steady, if unglamorous, demand.
BVNPT-Approved LVN Programs Within Driving Distance of 90503
Every vocational nursing program below appears on the California Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians (BVNPT) approved list, which is the single non-negotiable requirement for sitting the NCLEX-PN in California. Only Homestead Schools sits inside Torrance city limits; the rest are commutable options across greater Los Angeles, and drive times from 90503 vary widely depending on the hour you leave. Note that BVNPT draws a line between full approval and provisional approval, so verify a program's current standing with the Board's Education Division before you pay a deposit.
| Program | City | BVNPT Approval Status | Accreditation | Program Length |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Homestead Schools, Inc. Vocational Nursing Program | Torrance, CA | Approved (listed on BVNPT approved vocational nursing program list; graduates eligible for NCLEX-PN) | Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools (ABHES) | 1,632 clock hours; full-time schedule listed as 12 months (48 weeks) |
| Angeles Institute Vocational Nursing Program | Not specified in the program's published materials | Approved by the California BVNPT | Council on Occupational Education (COE); education agency member of the National League for Nursing | 11 months |
| Downey Adult School Vocational Nursing Program | Downey, CA | Included in BVNPT requests-approved list dated February 6, 2026 | Not reported | Not reported |
| LAUSD Maxine Waters Employment Preparation Center Vocational Nursing Program | Not stated in the BVNPT listing | Included in BVNPT requests-approved list dated February 6, 2026 | Not reported | Not reported |
| LAUSD North Valley Occupational Center Vocational Nursing Program | Not stated in the BVNPT listing | Included in BVNPT requests-approved list dated February 6, 2026 | Not reported | Not reported |
| North-West College Pomona Vocational Nursing Program | Pomona, CA | Included in BVNPT requests-approved list dated February 6, 2026 | Not reported | Not reported |
What an LVN Program Near Torrance Actually Costs
There are two ways to read an LVN price tag: the advertised program total, and the net amount a typical student actually pays after grants and institutional aid. In Torrance, Homestead Schools shows why both numbers matter.
Homestead Schools: the published number
Homestead Schools' catalog lists a total program charge of $35,750 for its Vocational Nursing program. That figure bundles $35,510 in tuition with the fees the school itemizes: a $150 application fee, $350 lab fee, $800 for books, $50 for a uniform, and a $90 Student Tuition Recovery Fund charge. Because the catalog's line items do not always reconcile perfectly with the school's other published cost-of-attendance documents, treat $35,750 as the advertised total rather than a fixed personal quote. No other Torrance-based LVN program published a detailed fee schedule in the sources reviewed, so Homestead is the clearest local benchmark.
A separate 1,632-hour cost-of-attendance estimate reaches $46,452 once room and board ($12,150), transportation ($2,164), and a student loan fee ($188) are added. A 2024-2025 snapshot puts Homestead's off-campus cost of attendance at roughly $51,275.2 Those are planning numbers, not invoices. Public community college routes within driving distance sit among the affordable LPN programs, with in-state tuition under $2,000 per year, though that is tuition before nursing-specific fees and prerequisites.
The extras schools don't headline
- Books and supplies: Homestead lists $800 for books and $50 for a uniform; a stethoscope is typically extra.
- Clinical clearance: Budget for a background check and LiveScan, drug screening, physical exam, immunizations, and CPR card.
- Licensing fees: The NCLEX-PN exam fee and California BVNPT licensure application fee are not itemized in Homestead's published materials, so confirm current amounts directly with the California LVN Licensure and Challenging the Boards guide before enrolling.
Sticker price vs. net price
Federal data put Homestead's estimated net price at about $15,962.3 That is an institution-wide average across all students who receive aid, not a quote for one applicant. Still, it is the more realistic starting point for a South Bay resident who qualifies for grants or federal aid, while the $35,750 sticker is what you plan around before aid is applied. Median debt figures for similar programs tend to run below the sticker total, another reason to ask the financial aid office for a net-price estimate before comparing schools.
Where Your LVN Program Dollars Go
Tuition is the headline number, but it is rarely the whole bill. Once you add institutional fees, books, uniforms, clinical clearances, and the two end of program fees every California candidate pays, the real figure climbs. Here is how a representative Torrance-area private program total splits apart.

Free, Low-Cost, and Community College LVN Routes for South Bay Residents
The real tradeoff in South Bay vocational nursing is speed versus price: private programs in and around Torrance can start you within weeks, while the cheapest public seats may cost a fraction as much but keep you waiting a year or more to begin.
Is there a truly free LVN program?
Honestly, no. Fully tuition-free vocational nursing is rare in Los Angeles County, and free LVN programs in Los Angeles usually mean a stack of discounts that can get close. California community college fees run roughly $46 per unit in the LACCD system, and the California College Promise Grant can waive those fees entirely for students who meet need requirements, leaving books, uniforms, background checks, and licensing exam fees as your remaining out-of-pocket costs.
The savings are real. Public vocational nursing programs in California have reported total program costs in the low thousands, with Rio Hondo College in Whittier around $3,337 and comparable community college LVN programs elsewhere in the state between roughly $2,700 and $3,600. Statewide, BVNPT-listed programs have ranged from about $4,643 to more than $32,000. Expect competitive admission at the low end: public and adult school programs frequently rely on waitlists, point systems, or lotteries, so apply to more than one.
WIOA funding through the South Bay Workforce Investment Board
Torrance residents fall under the South Bay Workforce Investment Board, which delivers federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act training dollars through America's Job Center of California at 1220 Engracia Ave, Torrance, CA 90501 (310-680-3830). Typical candidates are dislocated workers, low-income adults, and career changers. Funding is capped per participant and generally limited to approved providers on the state eligible training provider list, so confirm your target school qualifies before enrolling.
Aid, scholarships, and employer help
- Federal Pell Grants: Available at accredited, Title IV-eligible schools. Ask admissions directly, since not every private LVN program participates.
- State programs: California's Vocational Nurse Education Program supports service in shortage-area and county facilities.
- Loan repayment after licensure: The state's LVN loan repayment program has offered awards in the $6,000 to $8,000 range per 12-month service commitment, up to three awards, for licensed LVNs working 32-plus hours weekly in designated shortage settings.
- Employers: South Bay skilled nursing facilities sometimes fund tuition in exchange for a work commitment.
Related Articles
Admission Requirements and Schedules That Fit a Working Adult
Getting into an LVN program near Torrance means clearing a fairly standard set of hurdles before you ever set foot in clinical scrubs: a high school diploma or GED, a passing score on an LPN/LVN Program Entrance Exam, a clean background check, and up-to-date immunizations. Beyond that baseline, LPN/LVN Program Admissions requirements diverge by school.
Entrance Exams and Prerequisites
Most private schools use the TEAS or HESI, though Homestead Schools relies on its own entrance test with a 76% minimum. Trinity School of Health and Allied Sciences also uses the TEAS but waives it for applicants who already hold a bachelor's degree or an active LPN license. Community college routes add more structure: Long Beach City College's vocational nursing certificate requires a current California CNA credential and a 2.0 GPA, while El Camino College's associate degree track requires a 2.5 GPA and specific prerequisite coursework in medical terminology, psychology, and nursing fundamentals before you're even eligible to apply.
Day, Evening, and Weekend Formats
Schedule flexibility is limited across the region. Angeles Institute and El Camino run full-time weekday classroom hours, typically 7am to 3pm, with clinical shifts layered in at 8, 10, or 12 hours. Homestead's own materials describe a full-time schedule that runs across roughly 12 months, with 1,632 total hours of clinical and theory instruction. None of the researched Torrance-area programs currently publish a dedicated evening or weekend cohort, so working adults should plan around daytime commitments rather than count on a night track materializing.
Why "Fully Online" Isn't Realistic
Some theory coursework can be delivered through blended or hybrid formats, but licensing rules require hands-on clinical hours to happen in person, supervised, on a real unit. If a program markets itself as fully online, that's a red flag worth questioning before you enroll.
Planning Your Start Date
Cohort timing varies widely. Angeles Institute's next confirmed start is July 20, 2026, with applications due July 17. Long Beach City College's fall 2026 application window runs May 11 through 14, while El Camino accepts applications only during a three-week window each fall and spring term. Build in several months of lead time regardless of which program you target.
What LVNs Earn Around Torrance
Torrance sits inside the Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim metro, where licensed vocational nurses earn a median annual wage of $79,310.
LVN Pay and Job Outlook in the Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim Metro
Torrance sits inside the Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim metro area, home to LVN programs in Los Angeles and one of the strongest LVN wage markets in the country. Federal wage data released in 2026 (covering May 2025) puts the metro median for licensed practical and vocational nurses at $79,310 a year.1 That is roughly $15,000 above the national median of $64,4001, and it reflects both California's higher cost of living and the sheer density of hospitals, skilled nursing facilities, and clinics across the South Bay.
What the Wage Range Actually Looks Like
The spread matters more than the midpoint when you are deciding whether a program pays for itself:
- Entry-level (10th percentile): about $64,200 a year in the metro, which is close to the national median.
- Lower quartile: roughly $73,860.
- Upper quartile: about $92,930.
- Top earners (90th percentile): near $96,630, with California statewide topping $100,450.1
Statewide California figures track closely: a median near $79,750 and a quartile range of roughly $74,840 to $93,720. In practice, a new Torrance LVN should plan on the lower end for the first year or two, with acute care, correctional nursing, night differentials, and charge roles in skilled nursing pushing earnings upward.
Job Volume and Growth
The metro reported approximately 33,590 LVN and LPN jobs, a meaningful share of the roughly 693,300 nationally.2 That volume is the practical takeaway: even in a competitive market, a large employment base means steady turnover and regular postings across Torrance, Carson, Long Beach, and the Harbor area.
On growth, we would rather be honest than precise for its own sake. The federal projection figure for this occupation was not available in the data we reviewed, and national projections for LPN/LVN roles have historically run modest rather than explosive.3 Treat the wage numbers as the reliable part of this picture and check current employer postings for demand signals in your specific setting.
California LVN Licensure at a Glance
Top-Ranked Nursing and LVN Programs Serving the Torrance Area
Below are the top-ranked nursing and LVN programs serving Torrance students, ordered by cost, completion, and graduate outcomes. The list runs from a Torrance-based vocational nursing school to private career colleges across Los Angeles and Orange County, plus one public community college. Each entry gives the institution-wide graduation rate and what the commute from Torrance really looks like.
How we ranked these
- Median graduate debt
- Institution-wide graduation rates
- Net price after aid
- Program accreditation and approvals
- South Bay access and commute
- Internal program database
- IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, student-faculty ratios and net price — nces.ed.gov
- Independent editorial research
Homestead Schools
The only school on this list with a campus inside Torrance, Homestead Schools delivers its vocational nursing program entirely from a single location on Hawthorne Boulevard in the city's central business district. Cohorts run about 12 months, with theory early in the week and clinical rotations Wednesday through Friday at South Bay facilities. The institution-wide graduation rate is roughly 93%, and the program is approved by the state vocational nursing board and accredited by ABHES, with NCLEX-PN review and tutoring built in. Transfer credits from other colleges can be applied, which helps students who started nursing coursework elsewhere.
- Campus-based vocational nursing program taught entirely in Torrance
- Approved by the state vocational nursing board and ABHES accredited
- NCLEX-PN preparation and tutoring built into the program
- Preadmission test score of 76% or higher required for admission
- Transfer credits from other colleges accepted through a credit form
- Clinical rotations Wednesday through Friday at South Bay sites
- Financial aid and scholarships available to qualifying students
- Background check, physical exam, immunizations, and CPR card needed
Vocational Nursing Program, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Concorde Career College-Garden Grove
Concorde's Garden Grove campus offers a state-approved vocational nursing diploma on two tracks: a full-time daytime schedule that finishes in as few as 13 months and a part-time evening and weekend option that stretches to about 20 months. Students complete 66.5 credit hours and 757 clinical hours in hospitals, long-term care facilities, clinics, and home health agencies, with NCLEX-PN review included before graduation. The institution-wide graduation rate is about 84%, and the commute from Torrance runs southeast on the 405 and the 22, roughly 30 to 45 minutes outside peak traffic.
- BVNPT-approved vocational nursing diploma in Garden Grove
- Full-time daytime track finishes in as few as 13 months
- Part-time evening and weekend track runs about 20 months
- 757 clinical hours in hospitals, long-term care, clinics, home health
- 66.5 credit hours of nursing theory and lab instruction
- NCLEX-PN review included before graduation
- Financial aid and scholarships for qualifying students
- On-campus labs plus real-world clinical rotations
Vocational Nursing Diploma Program — On-Campus
Concorde Career College-North Hollywood
The North Hollywood campus runs the same vocational nursing diploma as Concorde's other California sites, pairing a 13-month daytime track with a 20-month evening and weekend option. Coursework covers nursing fundamentals, anatomy, pharmacology, and mental health nursing, backed by 198 lab hours and 757 clinical hours in real care settings. The institution-wide graduation rate is about 78%. From Torrance the campus sits over the hill via the 405 and 101, commonly a 45 to 60 minute drive, so most South Bay students lean toward the part-time evening schedule.
- Approved by the California vocational nursing board
- 13-month daytime track and a 20-month evening and weekend option
- 198 lab hours plus 757 clinical hours
- 66.5 credit hours across the vocational nursing curriculum
- Coursework covers fundamentals, anatomy, pharmacology, and mental health
- NCLEX-PN review and career services support included
- On-campus labs and hands-on simulation training
- Financial aid and scholarships available
Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Pasadena City College
Pasadena City College awards a Certificate of Achievement in vocational nursing after two semesters plus a summer intersession, with supervised clinical practice in community settings. As a public community college its costs sit well below the private career colleges on this list, and the institution-wide graduation rate is about 48%, which is common for open-access colleges and reflects the broad student body rather than the nursing cohort alone. Applications are accepted only from March 1 through April 1 each year, and the drive from Torrance is a cross-town run of roughly 45 minutes off-peak.
- Certificate of Achievement in vocational nursing
- Two semesters plus a summer intersession
- Approved by the California vocational nursing board
- Supervised clinical practice in community settings
- Prepares graduates for the NCLEX-VN licensure exam
- Applications accepted only from March 1 through April 1
- Clinical placements in hospitals, clinics, and doctors' offices
Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
National Career College
National Career College runs a 14-month vocational nursing diploma at its Panorama City campus, with 58.5 semester credit hours and 842 clinical hours spread across hospitals, nursing facilities, and clinics. The program is accredited by ABHES and approved by the state vocational nursing board, and it integrates NCLEX-VN style practice questions into the curriculum. The institution-wide graduation rate is about 74%, and admission requires the TEAS entrance exam plus a personal interview. From Torrance this is a Valley commute of roughly an hour in typical traffic, among the longest on this list.
- 14-month vocational nursing diploma in Panorama City
- 842 clinical hours across hospitals, nursing facilities, and clinics
- ABHES accredited and approved by the state vocational nursing board
- 58.5 semester credit hours
- NCLEX-VN preparation with NCLEX-style practice questions
- Day and evening class schedules with small class sizes
- TEAS entrance exam and personal interview required
- Cal Grants and financial aid for California residents
Vocational Nursing (VN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
American Career College-Los Angeles
This mid-city Los Angeles campus offers a state-approved vocational nursing diploma that finishes in as few as 12 months, with an 18-month evening and weekend path for students who work. More than 800 clinical hours are completed at local hospitals, clinics, skilled nursing facilities, and home health agencies, and skills labs cover medication administration, injections, wound care, and electronic charting. The institution-wide graduation rate is about 75%. The campus sits roughly 30 minutes northeast of Torrance via the 405 and the 10, making it one of the shorter commutes among the out-of-town options.
- BVNPT-approved vocational nursing diploma in mid-city Los Angeles
- About 12 months full-time or 18 months on evenings and weekends
- More than 800 hours of clinical rotations at local facilities
- Skills labs cover medication administration, injections, and wound care
- Training in vital signs monitoring and electronic medical records
- Prepares graduates for the NCLEX-PN licensure exam
- Financial aid and scholarships available
- Clinical sites include hospitals, clinics, and skilled nursing facilities
Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Platt College-Anaheim
Platt College's Anaheim campus offers vocational nursing as either an associate degree or a diploma, completing in about 18 months across 118 credit hours. Cohorts are structured full-time or part-time, with on-campus nursing labs and hands-on clinical training, and admission requires an entrance exam. The institution-wide graduation rate is about 64%, and the program is approved by the state vocational nursing board. The drive from Torrance runs about 30 to 40 minutes east on the 91 and 405 depending on traffic.
- BVNPT-approved vocational nursing program
- Associate degree or diploma credential awarded
- Completes in about 18 months
- 118 total credit hours
- Full-time and part-time cohort schedules
- Entrance exam required for admission
- On-campus nursing labs and hands-on clinical training
- Federal and state financial aid available
Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
American Career College-Anaheim
American Career College's Anaheim campus delivers a state-approved vocational nursing diploma in about 12 months full-time, or 18 months through an evening and weekend track. Students log more than 800 clinical hours at Orange County hospitals, skilled nursing centers, and clinics, and train in high-fidelity simulation labs on medication administration, injections, vital signs, and electronic charting. The institution-wide graduation rate is about 70%. The commute from Torrance follows the 405 and the 91 east, generally 30 to 45 minutes depending on the time of day.
- BVNPT-approved vocational nursing diploma in Anaheim
- About 12 months full-time or 18 months evenings and weekends
- More than 800 clinical hours at Orange County facilities
- High-fidelity nursing simulation labs on campus
- Medication administration, injections, vital signs, and EMR charting
- Prepares graduates for the NCLEX-PN licensure exam
- Grants, loans, and institutional aid for qualifying students
- Clinicals at hospitals, skilled nursing centers, and clinics
Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Marian Health Careers Center-Van Nuys Campus
Marian's Van Nuys campus runs an on-campus-only vocational nursing program with no online coursework, finishing in about 14 months on a weekday schedule or roughly 18 months on weekends. Clinical experience takes place in hospitals, clinics, and long-term care settings, and students must maintain at least a C in their coursework to continue. The institution-wide graduation rate is not published. The Van Nuys location is the longest haul from Torrance on this list, typically 45 to 60 minutes or more via the 405 and the 101.
- On-campus program with no online coursework
- Weekday schedule completes in about 14 months
- Weekend schedule runs about 18 months
- Prepares graduates for the NCLEX-PN licensure exam
- Minimum grade of C required in program coursework
- Clinical experience in hospitals, clinics, and long-term care
- Diploma awarded on completion of the program
Vocational Nursing Program, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
Angeles Institute
Angeles Institute in Artesia compresses its vocational nursing program into about 11 months across four terms, moving from nursing fundamentals to medical-surgical nursing and specialties. The final term is dedicated to role transition, NCLEX preparation through HESI, resume building, and interview practice, and the program is approved by the state vocational nursing board with an entrance exam required for admission. The institution-wide graduation rate is not published. Artesia is the closest out-of-town campus to Torrance, roughly 20 to 30 minutes east on the 91.
- About 11 months across four terms
- Approved by the California vocational nursing board
- Entrance exam required for admission
- State-of-the-art simulation lab on campus
- NCLEX preparation through HESI
- Small-group learning with tutoring and study coordination
- Tuition includes books and uniforms
- Final term covers resume building and interview skills
Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
California by City
- Anaheim, CA
- Antioch, CA
- Bakersfield, CA
- Canoga Park, CA
- Chula Vista, CA
- Concord, CA
- Corona, CA
- Downey, CA
- Fremont, CA
- Fresno, CA
- Irvine, CA
- La Puente, CA
- Lancaster, CA
- Livermore, CA
- Long Beach, CA
- Los Angeles, CA
- Moreno Valley, CA
- North Hollywood, CA
- Oakland, CA
- Palmdale, CA
- Pasadena, CA
- Pomona, CA
- Rancho Cucamonga, CA
- Richmond, CA
- Riverside, CA
- Sacramento, CA
- San Bernardino, CA
- San Diego, CA
- San Francisco, CA
- San Jose, CA
- San Mateo, CA
- Santa Ana, CA
- Santa Monica, CA
- Stockton, CA
- Thousand Oaks, CA







