LVN Programs in Pasadena, TX 2027

LVN Programs in Pasadena, TX 2027
Updated September 21, 202621 min read

LVN Programs in Pasadena, Texas 2027

Compare vocational nursing programs within commuting distance of Pasadena — tuition, NCLEX-PN pass rates, clinical placements, and LVN-to-RN pathways.

One versus nine: that's roughly the split between vocational nursing programs headquartered inside Pasadena's city limits and the Texas Board of Nursing-approved options in the surrounding Houston metro, including nearby LVN programs in Houston, Texas. Pasadena itself trains almost no LVNs directly, but Harris County and the surrounding Houston metro make up for it.

One clarification before you go further: this covers Pasadena, Texas, in Harris County, not the California city of the same name. Wrong coast, wrong program list, wrong clinical sites.

The figures cover real total cost, NCLEX-PN pass rates, admission competitiveness, clinical placements, class schedules, and the licensure steps, How to become an LVN, that actually apply here.

Demand for LVNs in this corridor keeps outpacing seat counts at the two nearest public programs.

Jump straight to the program list →

What the LVN Job Market Looks Like From Pasadena

Where do LVNs actually work once they finish one of the LVN programs in Texas near Pasadena, and does the credential hold up in a metro built on shift work? Pasadena runs on refinery, port, and service-industry schedules, which is exactly why a program that pays off in twelve to eighteen months, not four years, has real pull here.

What an LVN is licensed to do

Under the Texas Board of Nursing, an LVN works under the direction of an RN or physician. That means the licensed practical nurse duties: administering medications, monitoring vitals, dressing wounds, and executing a care plan someone else has written. It does not mean independent nursing assessment, care-plan authorship, or unsupervised triage. Knowing that boundary before enrolling saves a lot of frustration later.

Where the jobs actually sit

Acute-care hospital floors in this corner of Houston skew toward RN staffing. LVN demand clusters instead in long-term care and skilled nursing facilities, home health agencies, outpatient clinics, and dialysis centers, where supervised, task-focused nursing care is the norm and turnover keeps hiring steady.

The commuting map

A Pasadena-based student rarely limits a job search, or a school search, to city limits. Realistic commuting range includes Deer Park, La Porte, South Houston, Webster and Clear Lake, Baytown, Alvin, and downtown Houston. That radius matters twice: it widens the pool of clinical sites during training and widens the employer pool once you're licensed.

Online and 'Free' LVN Options Near Pasadena, What's Real

The real trade-off is flexibility versus clinical credibility. Online coursework can save you drive time, but Texas requires in-person skills labs and supervised patient care, so no online LPN schools can license you as an LVN entirely from a laptop.

What hybrid actually means week to week

No fully online initial vocational nursing program leads to Texas LVN licensure. In 2025, 43 of 83 Texas VN programs used some online technology, but zero delivered the full curriculum online. A smaller group used a true hybrid format for didactic coursework, and those hybrid LPN programs still anchor the week around fixed campus lab days and scheduled clinical rotations. For a working student, hybrid usually looks like online lectures during the week, one or more on-campus skills days for checkoffs, and clinical shifts at approved facilities. The online piece lightens lecture commuting; it does not soften the hands-on requirement.

How free really works near Pasadena

The closest you will get to free is a combination of funding sources, not a zero-tuition LVN program; nearby free LVN programs in Houston TX work the same way. HCC's Texas Public Educational Grant (TPEG) has run in the $500 to $1,000 range, but depends on unmet need, credit load, and program eligibility, so VN applicants should confirm their track qualifies. Workforce Solutions Gulf Coast can issue WIOA vouchers for eligible training in Harris County. Hospital and nursing-home employers sometimes cover tuition in exchange for a work commitment, and federal Pell grants can help eligible certificate students.

Out-of-state online LPN offers are a licensing risk

If an out-of-state program markets a fully online LPN and promises Texas licensure, treat that as a red flag. Unless the program is approved by the Texas Board of Nursing and arranges in-person clinical placement, it cannot produce a Texas BON-eligible credential.

Vocational Nursing Programs Within Commuting Distance of Pasadena

Pasadena sits in one of the densest nursing education markets in Texas, but the practical shortlist for a vocational nursing certificate is shorter than the Houston metro's size suggests. San Jacinto College runs the most accessible Board-approved VN certificate option for Pasadena residents, with Central Campus located in the city itself. The details below come from each school's published catalog and program materials plus Texas Board of Nursing records; drive times are not stated in those sources, so verify commute and current schedule directly with each program before you apply.

Program / CampusCityApprox. Drive from 77506Program LengthFormatTX BON Approval Status
San Jacinto College, Vocational Nursing, Central CampusPasadena, TexasLocal to Pasadena; exact drive time not stated in source1 year (three terms, 45 credits full-time)Full-time Level II Certificate; day vs. evening track not specified in the program handbookListed as a Vocational Nursing Level 2 Certificate with Texas Board of Nursing contact details published, indicating Board approval
San Jacinto College, Vocational Nursing, South CampusHouston, TexasWithin typical commuting distance; exact drive time not stated in source1 year (three semesters, 45 credits full-time)Three-semester full-time program; day vs. evening track not specified in sourceListed as a Vocational Nursing Level 2 Certificate program preparing graduates for the NCLEX-PN under Texas Board of Nursing oversight
San Jacinto College, Vocational Nursing, North CampusHouston, TexasWithin typical commuting distance; exact drive time not stated in source1 year (three terms, 45 credits full-time)Three-semester full-time program; day vs. evening track not specified in sourceVocational Nursing Level 2 Certificate listed under San Jacinto College with Texas Board of Nursing contact information provided
Houston Community College, Vocational Nursing to Associate Degree Nursing Education ProgramHouston, TexasWithin general commuting distance; exact drive time not stated in sourceNot stated in the Board order; cohorts begin each fall starting August 2025, with smaller January cohortsCohort admissions with enrollment limits; the Board order does not specify a day or evening trackInitial approval granted by the Texas Board of Nursing on July 17, 2025
Grayson College, Vocational Nursing CertificateDenison, TexasFar outside a 40-mile radius of Pasadena; listed only as a reference point for a Board-approved VN certificate12 months (42 credit hours)Classes meet five days a week; not designated as day or evening in the catalogProgram materials publish Texas Board of Nursing contact details, indicating it operates as a Board-approved vocational nursing program

The All-In Price of an LVN Certificate Around Pasadena

The line items schools bury

Published tuition is the opening bid, not the final number. Before you graduate you will pay for the HESI A2 entrance exam, textbooks and testing packages, uniforms and duty shoes, a stethoscope and skills kit, a background check and drug screen, immunizations and titers, CPR certification, malpractice insurance, and finally Texas Board of Nursing licensure plus NCLEX-PN registration. Alvin Community College prices most of these openly: $74 for the HESI A2, $175 for uniforms, $170 in lab supplies, $96 for the private background and drug screening package, $40 for the BON fingerprint background check, $100 for the licensure application, $200 for NCLEX-PN registration, and an optional $68 review course. That transparency is the exception, not the rule.

What nearby colleges actually cost

Alvin publishes an all-inclusive certificate total of roughly $7,100 in-district and $9,300 out-of-district. San Jacinto College lists base tuition at $83 per credit hour in-district but does not publish a complete vocational nursing program total, so you will need to request the current fee schedule directly.

Average net price across the whole institution (all students, all programs, after aid) gives a rough sense of the spread: College of the Mainland sits near $1,342, Houston Community College near $5,737, Galveston College near $8,412, Alvin near $8,525, and Lone Star College System near $11,252. Treat these as campus-wide averages, not quotes for a vocational nursing seat.

Public versus private, and what to budget

Private career schools charge for speed and start-date flexibility. Texas Health School lists a total vocational nursing cost of $31,595, with $27,585 in tuition and a $2,860 lab fee covering kit, books, and specialty exams. Same license, roughly four times the price , a premium that raises the question of whether an LVN degree is worth it.

For affordable LPN programs at a public college, budget $4,000 to $9,000 in-district or $9,000 to $15,000 out-of-district, plus $1,500 to $3,500 in supplies and testing and several hundred more in licensing fees. Then ask each program for its current published fee schedule in writing.

Where Your LVN Tuition Dollars Actually Go

Sticker tuition is only part of what you write checks for. A one-year vocational nursing certificate at an in-district community college near Pasadena breaks out roughly like this, and the shape of it matters more than the exact dollars. The licensure and exam piece plus health clearances are effectively fixed costs every student pays no matter where they enroll, while tuition and the bundled book and testing packages swing the widest between schools and residency status.

Where Your LVN Tuition Dollars Actually Go

Getting in: Prerequisites, Entrance Exams, and Seat Counts

Vocational nursing admission around Pasadena is competitive, not first-come. Both of the nearby community college programs rank applicants, so meeting the minimum only puts you in the pool. Requirements differ sharply between the two, plan for each separately.

  • High school diploma or GED
    The baseline credential for any Texas vocational nursing program. Alvin Community College also requires you to be TSI complete or TSI exempt before applying.
  • Prerequisite coursework and GPA
    San Jacinto College's vocational nursing track expects Anatomy & Physiology I (BIOL 2301/2101 or BIOL 2401) completed within the past five years, and its Fall 2024 application listed a 2.25 cumulative GPA across all prior colleges. Alvin takes the opposite approach: no prerequisite courses, and college GPA is not part of the decision.
  • Entrance exam scores
    San Jacinto requires the ATI TEAS, with results sent to the North Campus; the college does not publish a minimum composite or typical qualifying score. Alvin uses the HESI A2, with a Reading minimum of 70 and a cumulative minimum of 65, scores no older than five years at the deadline. Alvin lists a HESI Math score of 85 or above as additional consideration.
  • Background check and drug screen
    Both programs require criminal background clearance tied to Texas Board of Nursing eligibility and clinical affiliate rules. Alvin states that applicants with a felony, deferred adjudication felony, or felony parole are not eligible for its nursing programs.
  • Immunizations, physical, and CPR
    San Jacinto's process includes a physical exam, titers and vaccinations, CPR certification, and liability insurance, some items required before acceptance, others after you have a seat.
  • Cohort size and application timing
    Neither college publishes its per-cohort seat count or exact 2026 deadline dates, but applications close months ahead of the start term. Confirm current deadlines directly with the nursing office and build in time for testing, transcripts (San Jacinto wants them current within 60 days), and health paperwork.
  • Ranked admission, not a waitlist
    San Jacinto and Alvin both select by ranking rather than holding a queue. Alvin ranks primarily on HESI A2 performance, with tax-district residence and recent BIOL 2401/2402 credit with a C or better used as additional consideration. San Jacinto has not published a point rubric, so treat every scored element as competitive.
  • Lee College is not an option for 2026
    Lee College's Baytown vocational nursing program voluntarily closed effective August 1, 2024, with no students enrolled at closure. It is not accepting new LVN applicants.

Clinical Rotations and Class Schedules for Working Students

Picking a program by its brochure is one thing. Living inside the schedule the program hands you is another, and the two rarely match.

Where You'll Actually Work

Alvin Community College names its clinical partners outright, and several sit close to Pasadena: Memorial Hermann Southeast is a short drive, The Courtyard at Pasadena is essentially local, and Memorial Hermann Pearland and UTMB sites push closer to 20-30 miles south. San Jacinto College keeps its list broader, describing rotations across "various healthcare settings" without naming facilities, so expect assignments anywhere across its North and South Houston service area. Houston Community College students rotate through Texas Medical Center heavyweights like Memorial Hermann TMC, Texas Children's, and the DeBakey VA, all a genuine cross-metro haul from Pasadena for students in LVN programs in Houston.

Assigned, Not Chosen

None of these programs let students pick a convenient site. During LPN clinicals, placements come from the school, based on space and rotation needs, and that often means an early call time, a long drive, or both. Alvin's first semester runs Thursday clinicals on campus from 8 to 4, then shifts second and third semester to Tuesday and Wednesday 12-hour days at assigned outside facilities. San Jacinto spreads rotations across day, evening, night, and weekend blocks.

Day, Evening, and the Weekend Catch

San Jacinto and Houston Community College both offer day and evening cohort tracks for classroom work, but the labels apply mainly to lecture time. Clinical hours for either track can still land on weekday mornings or Saturdays, since facilities set their own availability, not the school.

Can a Full-Time Job Survive This?

Realistically, no full-time refinery or retail schedule coexists cleanly with a VN cohort. Most working students shift to part-time hours, negotiate a fixed shift with their employer, or lean on savings for the certificate's duration.

The cheapest program and the best program are rarely the same program, so weigh tuition against pass rates and job placement before you enroll.
PracticalNursing.org editorial team

Top LVN Programs Serving Pasadena and Southeast Houston

Below are the top LVN programs serving Pasadena and southeast Houston, ranked by completion signals, accreditation status, and how well each one fits a working student's schedule and budget. The order weighs what actually changes the experience: what a certificate costs after aid, how long it takes to finish, whether classes run in the evening or in person only, and how far you would drive from Pasadena. Where a school reports numbers for the whole institution rather than the nursing program, that is called out in the card.

How we ranked these

Factors considered
  1. Median graduate debt
  2. Institutional graduation rates
  3. Accreditation and program approval
  4. Cost after grant aid
  5. Drive time and delivery format
Data sources
  • IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Internal program database
  • Independent editorial research
SA

San Jacinto Community College

Pasadena, TX · $2,000 – $7,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution
Best for: Local Pasadena students stacking toward an RN

San Jacinto College is the only school in this group with a campus in Pasadena itself, which makes it the anchor option for anyone searching from the 77506 area. Its Vocational Nursing Level 2 Certificate takes about a year, blends classroom, lab, and supervised clinical work, and is approved by the Texas Board of Nursing. The certificate stacks into a Health Science associate degree and an LVN-to-RN bridge, so you do not have to leave the district to keep advancing. Keep in mind that the college's graduation rate and median graduate debt are reported institution-wide rather than for the nursing certificate alone.

  • Vocational Nursing, Level 2 Certificate — On-Campus
    San Jacinto Community College
    • 45-credit certificate completed in about one year, with 448 clinical hours
    • Offered at the North and South campuses
    • Built-in NCLEX-PN review course before graduation
    • Stacks into a Health Science associate degree or an LVN-to-RN bridge
    • Fall applications open February 1 to April 15
    • Spring applications open July 1 to September 15
    • Transfer credit limited to Anatomy and Physiology I and II
    • 2.25 minimum cumulative college GPA for admission
    Visit Website
TE

Texas Health School

Houston, TX · $30,000 – $35,000/yr

Best for: Evening learners balancing a full-time day job

Texas Health School runs its vocational nursing program from a single Houston campus, and it is built for students who need to keep working while they train. Day classes finish in 48 weeks and the evening track stretches to 74 weeks, both covering roughly 1,440 hours. The school is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education, the program is approved by the Texas Board of Nursing, and recent NCLEX-PN pass rates are reported above 90%. Cost here sits at the top of the group: the average net price after aid is about $32,550, and that figure covers the institution as a whole, not just nursing students.

  • Vocational Nursing Program, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Texas Health School
    Military benefits
    • About 1,440 total training hours, including 480 clinical hours
    • Day classes finish in 48 weeks; evening track runs 74 weeks
    • TEAS entrance exam required
    • NCLEX-PN pass rate reported at 93.15% in 2025
    • Approved by the Texas Board of Nursing
    • School accredited by the Council on Occupational Education
    • Federal Pell Grants, Direct Loans, and veterans benefits accepted
    Visit Website
CO

College of the Mainland

Texas City, TX · ~$1,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution
Best for: Cost-first commuters driving to Texas City

College of the Mainland sits in Texas City, a straight shot down the highway from Pasadena, and it is the strongest affordability play on this list. The 12-month vocational nursing certificate admits one cohort a year in the spring, requires the HESI A2, and reports a 95% licensure pass rate. Average net price after grant aid runs about $1,300 institution-wide, the lowest figure among these schools, though it covers all programs rather than nursing alone. Class sizes are intentionally small and instruction is entirely in person.

  • Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    College of the Mainland
    • 12-month certificate with a spring start
    • HESI A2 entrance exam with a 75% minimum score
    • One start date per year; deadline is the first Friday in October
    • Licensure pass rate reported at 95%
    • Small class sizes with in-person instruction
    • Prerequisite courses required before entry
    • Approved by the Texas Board of Nursing
    • Financial aid and scholarships available
    Visit Website
GA

Galveston College

Galveston, TX · ~$8,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Galveston College offers a 46-credit vocational nursing certificate that finishes in about one calendar year, with a single summer start and a cohort capped near 20 students. Admission requires a 2.7 GPA and passing HESI A2 scores, and the program lists roughly $8,865 in total tuition. Clinical rotations cover maternal-neonatal, pediatric, and mental health nursing. It is a small, faculty-heavy option that suits students who want close supervision and do not mind the drive from Pasadena.

  • Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Galveston College
    • 46-credit certificate completed in about one calendar year
    • Summer start with a single cohort per year
    • Enrollment capped at about 20 vocational nursing students
    • 2.7 GPA minimum plus passing HESI A2 scores
    • Program tuition listed at $8,865 total
    • CPR certification and Hepatitis B vaccination required at entry
    • Approved by the Texas Board of Nursing
    Visit Website
AL

Alvin Community College

Alvin, TX · ~$9,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Alvin Community College has been teaching vocational nursing for more than 40 years and keeps costs predictable: about $7,100 in total program tuition, with books and supplies folded into the price. The 44-credit certificate runs one year with a summer start, and the HESI exam is required, with preparation workshops available on campus. Clinical placements happen at affiliated hospitals and long-term care facilities across the south Houston area. The program is approved by the Texas Board of Nursing and leans on small classes and hands-on training.

  • Licensed Vocational Nursing (LVN) Certificate — On-Campus
    Alvin Community College
    • 44-credit certificate completed in one year
    • Summer start with one cohort per year
    • Program tuition listed at $7,100, with books and supplies included
    • HESI exam preparation workshops offered
    • More than 40 years of nursing education
    • Clinical placements at area hospitals and long-term care facilities
    • Program cites a $54,840 mean annual LVN wage for the Houston metro
    Visit Website
GA

Galen Health Institutes-Houston

Houston, TX · $30,000/yr

Galen Health Institutes runs a 12-month vocational nursing program at its Houston campus with four start dates a year and no prerequisite coursework, which makes it the most accessible entry point for career changers. Classes meet on campus with simulation labs, and NCLEX-PN preparation and career services are included in the program. The cost is private-sector: average net price after aid is about $30,222 and median graduate debt runs near $24,166, both reported for the institution rather than the nursing program. Graduates can bridge into an ADN or BSN later.

  • Practical Nursing (PN), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Galen Health Institutes-Houston
    • 12-month full-time program with four start dates per year
    • No prerequisite courses required for entry
    • On-campus classes with simulated learning environments
    • TEAS entrance assessment and proof of high school graduation required
    • NCLEX-PN preparation and career services included
    • Bridge options to ADN or BSN after licensure
    • Financial aid available through FAFSA; free application
    Visit Website
LO

Lone Star College System

The Woodlands, TX · $3,000 – $9,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Lone Star College teaches its one-year Vocational Nursing Certificate Level II at three campuses north of Houston: Kingwood, Tomball, and the Tomball Health Sciences Building. The certificate is approved by the Texas Board of Nursing and prepares students for Texas licensure and the NCLEX-PN. A printable program plan lays out the full sequence, which helps students juggling prerequisites with a work schedule. Institution-wide, the average net price after aid is roughly $11,252 and median graduate debt runs near $8,600; those numbers cover the whole college, not nursing alone.

  • Vocational Nursing Certificate Level II — On-Campus
    Lone Star College System
    • One-year certificate leading to Texas LVN licensure
    • Offered at LSC-Kingwood, LSC-Tomball, and Tomball Health Sciences
    • Approved by the Texas Board of Nursing
    • Printable program plan maps the full course sequence
    • Prepares graduates for the NCLEX-PN exam
    Visit Website
HO

Houston Community College

Houston, TX · $5,000 – $10,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Houston Community College delivers its licensed vocational nursing certificate as a C2 credential across three full-time semesters at the Coleman Campus, with 48 credits and a program-reported 98% licensure pass rate. Admission is selective and built around the HESI-A2 and prerequisite coursework, so early preparation matters. Skills labs, simulation, and supervised clinical rotations in small groups carry most of the hands-on training, and students care for patients under RN supervision. Institution-wide, the average net price after aid is about $5,737 and median graduate debt runs near $13,921.

  • Licensed Vocational Nursing, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Houston Community College
    • 48-credit C2 certificate across three full-time semesters
    • Classes meet in person at the Coleman Campus
    • HESI-A2 entrance exam required
    • Selective admission with a 2.0 GPA minimum
    • Skills labs, simulation, and supervised clinical rotations
    • Program capacity of 75 to 150 students
    • Program-reported licensure pass rate of 98%
    Visit Website
TH

The College of Health Care Professions-Southwest Houston

Houston, TX · $25,000 – $30,000/yr

The College of Health Care Professions offers its vocational nursing certificate as three 16-week semesters, or 48 weeks in total, with 55 credits split across lecture, lab, and 672 clinical hours. A senior capstone and a dedicated NCLEX-PN preparation course close out the program. Admission is competitive and requires the TEAS, and financial aid and scholarships are available. The institution reports an average net price after aid near $28,471 and median graduate debt around $9,500, both across all programs.

  • Vocational Nursing Certificate — On-Campus
    The College of Health Care Professions-Southwest Houston
    • Three 16-week semesters, 48 weeks total
    • 55 credits and 1,422 clock hours, including 672 clinical hours
    • TEAS entrance exam required
    • Senior capstone plus NCLEX-PN preparation course
    • Competitive admissions with financial aid and scholarships available
    Visit Website
CO

College of Health Care Professions

Houston, TX · $30,000/yr (net price)

This is a separate CHCP campus with its own admissions, offering a vocational nursing certificate that runs 48 weeks and can be completed in as little as 11 months. The school is institutionally accredited by ABHES, and graduates have an LVN-to-RN bridge available if they want to keep going. Hands-on clinical rotations take place at hospitals and long-term care facilities. Average net price after aid is about $29,837 institution-wide, and the college has been training healthcare workers for more than 36 years.

  • Vocational Nursing Certificate Program — On-Campus
    College of Health Care Professions
    • 48-week program that can be finished in as little as 11 months
    • TEAS entrance exam required
    • Institutionally accredited by ABHES
    • Hands-on clinical rotations at hospitals and long-term care facilities
    • LVN-to-RN bridge program available
    • More than 36 years of healthcare training
    Visit Website

Recent Articles

See all articles

In this article

Follow us